Ratings based on 31 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cambridgeshire

Hotel close to the Beach

Posted Jun 22, 2015
Pros: The Hotel was very comfortable and clean.
Cons: I think the quality of food could be improved although the portions were generous.
Location: The road to the beach could have a footpath. Beach is sandy and have Lifeguards.
The Hotel Restaurant is closed due to refurbishment. The room we occupied was newly decorated comfortable and clean. The Bathroom was also newly refurbed with good shower and facilities. When we had Dinner in the evening, I ordered ciabbatta bread (off) Main Course, Duck, (also off ) So I had the rack of ribs covered in what I would desribe as a Ketchup based sauce. (off putting). However, everything had plentiful portions. The Breakfast was good and well cooked. The staff were kind and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Worth the drive !

Posted Oct 27, 2014
Fabulous hotel Charming staff Excellent food , especially off- menu Penang chicken by Thai chef. Terriffic local beer . Will definitely return !
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Martyn from London

Great value and bags of character

Posted Oct 17, 2014 on Hotels
Booked very late for The Royal and was really pleasantly surprised. It's not a chain, so a little quirky, but lots of character and homely. Room was very big and comfy and tastefully decorated. Breakfast was ample, cooked and cereals/yoghurts e.t.c..although would have preferred proper coffee rather than sachets but that was a small detail. The bar area is lively and acts as the local pub.....decent beer and pleasant ambiance. Some major redcorations goin on inside the hotel's upper floors but was no inconvenience at all. All in all a great and value for money base to explore the delightful north Norfolk coast
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by rogebh from Derby

Good value hotel

Posted Sep 16, 2014 on Hotels
Good value hotel we had a nice modern room at the end of a corridor which was fairly quiet. Breakfast is self service buffet style and fair choice of evening meal, both ok. 3 stars is about right but worth the money. Hotel seems to accept dogs. Some renovations going on in the upper floors.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Sammy from Channel Islands

Great location

Posted Aug 31, 2014 on Hotels
Hotel needs refurbishing but breakfast was good and the location was ideal for the Golf course.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 11, 2014 on Hotels
I would say that they are in the middle of refurbishing. The areas that had been refurbed were of a very high quality, but the parts that weren't were poor.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Very friendly staff

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Pros: Clean and comfortable bed
Cons: Breakfast, eggs cooked to order would be better
Hotel going through a refurb but our room was very comfortable and very clean. Good choice of meals in restaurant' served quickly, hot and tasty
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kent, UK

Disappointing

Posted Aug 8, 2014
Pros: The food and the staff.
Cons: The facilities in the so called "upgraded" rooms, and getting the rooms serviced on time.
Location: Lovely village location with crazy golf, lots of other places to eat and a variety of shops.
The staff were lovely, as was the food. However we felt the standard of the rooms let the hotel down. The rooms were large, airy and very clean but not to the "executive" standard that we booked. A little more luxury was expected. The net curtains in our room were torn and one of the windows wouldn't stay open properly.There wasn't even a hook in the bathroom to hang a bath robe from, and the layout was badly planned. We appreciate that the hotel is undergoing refurbishment but our stay was disappointing. We came back at 2pm on our second day and neither of our two rooms had been serviced. We felt that this was unacceptable. In fact when the friends we were staying there with went to find a cleaner, they found her asleep on the landing by the cleaners cupboard!!!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Ginny from Australia

All you could ask for in a hotel

Posted Jun 26, 2014 on Hotels
This was just about the perfect hotel. Easy access with great parking, lovely little town with lots to see and great walks. My room was stylish, comfortable and clean. Food was WONDERFUL! Traditional English bar to relax in, friendly people. Only marked down on condition of hotel as it is currently having renovations so it can only get better in the future. I would go back in a flash!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Be nice when it's finished

Posted Jun 4, 2014 on Hotels
Welcome was a bit lukewarm, no local knowledge profered. Stated I struggle with stairs, so the very last room up 3 flights spoiled the stay a bit. Room was lovely, nice decore, good bed & TV and very clean. Lovely breakfast, nice cafe area & lovely old pub. Locals made us welcome & great atmosphere. Seafront is 3 minutes away. Lots of ongoing refurb work, broken glass & tatty front car park entrance need attention. Will be lovely when finished.