Ratings based on 47 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quaint hotel in old school house but hard to find

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: The hosts were very friendly
Cons: Our bathroom was basic
Location: Norwich is a little out of the way but worth spending time in
Our hosts met us with a hot cup of coffee after a long drive from London. The hotel was hard to find and would have far more difficult if our hosts had not emailed the actual address and location. The address Expedia provided was not sufficient to find the hotel. Room was clean but very small. Bigger ones are available at greater cost.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Berkshire

Overnight stay

Posted Jul 10, 2014
Pros: Very comfortable, friendly and excellent value.
Cons: Excellent all round
Location: Only passing through
Easy to find and good parking facilities on site. Very pleasant greeting with tea or coffee provided in guests lounge. Room had all amenities, including ample selection of teas, coffees and biscuits. Wifi and television worked without effort. Bed comfortable with extra bedding if required. Shower and basin ample hot water immediately when required. Breakfast room facilities excellent - great choice of hot food and cereals, fruit etc. and perishables kept in fridge for freshness. Best guest house experience enjoyed - will return when in area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent

Nice country Guesthouse.

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Pros: Peaceful ,pleasant,and confortable .
Cons: Nothing... leave it alone, good value
Location: As Above
I am pleased to say it was a very nice experience, and the host's were very friendly and helpful, they had a good all round knowledge of the area and place's to visit, also you had a good choice of breakfast, a really nice stay,we were left alone to chill out when we came back, would recommend it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Brian & Karole from Kent

Superb breakfast, quiet location and ideal for Nor

Posted Jun 4, 2014
Pros: As above and very warm welcome, nice people, always a smile to start the day.
Cons: For us, if not broken, don't fix.
Location: Quiet, peaceful and pub around the corner if you fancy a drink
A pleasant 5 days and will return when accomodation is required in that area of the U.K.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rob from Leicester

Quiet stay in countryside close to Norwich

Posted May 10, 2014
Pros: Off the beaten track in a quiet village. Green fields and country lanes all around.
Location: Norwich and The Broads close by.
Well appointed room with ensuite - spotlessly clean, serviced daily. Extensive choice of food cooked to order for breakfast. Cereals, toast etc also available. Homely and welcoming. Attentive host, very knowledgeable and helpful about the area - also a good source of information for places to eat in the evenings.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Judith from Crewe, Cheshire

Excellent Guest House

Posted Apr 27, 2014
We spent 4 nights here after Easter in a triple room (with my husband and adult daughter), on a very good deal from Expedia which meant that our 4th night was free. Our room was spacious, comfortable and well equipped. Plenty of choice at breakfast (full English was superb), my daughter had cereal and fresh croissants and my husband's gluten intolerance was catered for with gluten-free sausage and bread for toast. On arrival we were warmly welcomed with pot of tea in the sitting room and our host provided us with lots of information about places to visit. The location is quiet but close to the main road (A140) between Diss and Norwich. Unfortunately the village pub is currently inbetween owners/managers and does not serve food, meaning we had to travel a couple of miles to a nearby village to eat. Nevertheless, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would certainly stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Graham from Cornwall

Fantastic !

Posted Jan 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
We had a lovely stay. Beautiful room. Excellent breakfast. Lovely host. Shame we couldn't stay longer.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Country getaway

Posted Nov 19, 2013
Pros: Great location with very welcoming owners. The breakfast was also substantial and very tasty
Cons: The room we stayed in smelled a little damp - but this was our only criticism.
Location: 25 min drive to the city and a great pub with lovely food across the road.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by KJ Ed from Northamptonshire

Relaxing guest house with fantastic hosts

Posted Nov 5, 2013
My husband and I recently went away for the weekend for a much needed break. we were not to be disappointed by the welcome and fantastic hospitality we received at the South Norfolk Guest House. The room was extremely clean and the space was well used. Our bed was so comfortable we really struggled to get up in the mornings for the delicious breakfasts that were provided. Simon's knowledge of the local area and beyond and was able to suggest good places to visit and even a quicker way home when the time sadly came to leave. Thanks to Simon and his wife for such a fantastic break, we certainly hope to return soon!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Anthony from London

Mini-break overnight

Posted Nov 2, 2013
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Elbow room in rooms could be better but extending woukd destroy character of original (school) house.
Location: Off the beaten track but within striking distance of Norfolk broads, Norwich, coast, Houghton Hall, you name it.
No complaints to speak of. Every need anticipated - i.e. wi-fi connection; toothpicks; you name it. Superb 'full English' breakfast prepared from local produce. Home from home quality experience crowned by magnificent Full English Brteakfast cooked by proprietors and sourced fomr ultra fresh local produce.