Ratings based on 18 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Belfast

Brilliant service lovely hotel

Posted May 1, 2015
Pros: Everything - excellent breakfast to start off the day.
Location: boating, walking
We were staying in Salhouse Lodge whilst sailing on the Broads. The hotel staff could not do enough for us and even collected us and left us back down to Salhouse Broad. The hotel was very welcoming after a long day on the water and the food was first rate. The rooms were smart and very comfortable - everything you might need. I would recommend the beer from the brewery in Salhouse. A great place to stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Middelmatig

Posted Apr 20, 2015 on Hotels
De verwarming (kamer + badkamer)deed het niet in geen van de 3 kamers. Na aandringen werd dit in orde gebracht maar 's morgens was het opnieuw koud ( kamer + badkamer).Het eten 's avonds was niet echt goed. Ontbijt OK De aanwezigheid van een camping bij het hotel is nergens vermeld. Het onthaal was vriendelijk Voor ons was de prijs per kamer en de beoordelingscijfers te hoog.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Leicester

Good location

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Pros: Location, views. Bedroom.
Cons: Updating areas. Breakfast room. Food and check-in.
This place is in a great location and is a great old building, with countryside views, but is let down by no attention to detail, and some scruffy, outdated areas which need attention. Unfortunately the food at dinner was not very good, obviously pre-cooked and microwaved, bland and average. Breakfast food was only OK. Served in a room area off the bar with no windows, as a large expanse of the room (with windows) was curtained off, which made it dark, gloomy and uninviting. There was a small table with fruit juice and a few cereals, there was a menu to choose cooked food. The lady who served us breakfast was lovely, very friendly and helpful. This could be a lovely place. They had obviously recently updated the bedroom, ours was clean, the bedding was good quality, and the bed and pillows comfortable, modern bathroom. They had a problem with our booking, having just shown someone to our room! Luckily I had printed out our reservation, the girl at the bar was very quick and confident to remedy the situation. The entrance was not welcoming and led into the bar without a proper check-in. This place could be so much more, it's a shame.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Paul from Midlands

Good standard, quiet location hotel

Posted Feb 2, 2015 on Hotels
- Friendly, professional welcome and service by the hotel staff. - Nice, comfortable room. Very clean. A bit cold when first entering room, but about 1 minute using the heater sorted that out. - Evening meal menu OK for me. Well cooked and good potion sizes. Breakfast cooked to order and vey filling. - Free wifi that worked. -Comfortable bar, with nice selection of beers.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by David from Portsmouth

nice break

Posted Dec 9, 2014 on Hotels
good food and warm welcome
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great overnight stay

Posted Nov 30, 2014 on Hotels
I received a warm welcome on arrival, everything was well explained, the food and drink were excellent. The room was well appointed and quiet (though I could hear people in the bar downstairs in the morning, so not sure what a full bar would sound like). Breakfast next morning was freshly cooked to order. I would definitely stay again if in the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 27, 2014 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Mid week business stay

Posted Sep 13, 2014 on Hotels
Was a bit of a last resort as few hotels in the area, was also a short notice booking. Single room was basic but had all the usual items incl. tea and coffee, shampoo etc... Reasonably clean and presentable. Breakfast was cooked to order. The bar and restaurant were fairly drab, little atmosphere, dark and dull. Food was poor, Microwaved lasagne, tasteless ... I won't be rushing to book in again any time soon...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by andrewl1960 from Watford

Very comfortable room

Posted Aug 19, 2014 on Hotels
Nice hotel, very friendly helpful staff. Room was clean and spacious, bed was very comfortable. Quiet surroundings but a lot of noise from the bar until about 11.45 on the Saturday night. Food was good but menu a little limited.Would be happy to stay here again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lincolnshire

Lovely hotel in countryside

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Pros: See above
Cons: See above
Came with my sister to do family research at Norfolk Records Office. Salhouse Lodge is set in beautiful surroundings. We particularly appreciated being able to have a full cooked breakfast and delicious meals in the evening. Staff were very friendly and welcoming. Rooms very clean. Criticism: My sister's room's windows could not open properly. One window would not open at all and the other would not stay open unless propped up with something. We would definitely recommend the hotel and, if we are able to come to Norfolk again, will want to stay there.