Ratings based on 75 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from S., New England

Sketchy in Olde Town

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Arrived to a "nonsmoking" room reeking of smoke. Was supposed to have a pullout couch/roll away. Lock on door was broken as was the air conditioning. The carpet was sticky. The bed linens were clean at least. Staff were scarce and not very helpful. The one apparent employee besides the front desk person was smoking a cigarette and studying my daughters and I as we unloaded our bags. When I asked for a solution to the room situation I was told that they were full but they could spray deodorizer for us. The room then smelled of orange oxy clean and cigarette smoke. That room had not been nonsmoking in some time. Had it not been so late I would have found another place. Now, my kids have "sketchy town, USA" as part of their vacation experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice stay

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: Clean and spacious room. Very nice staff. Good location. Good price.
Clean and spacious room. Very nice staff. Good location. Good price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Betty from Oxford,NC

Family Weekend Getaway

Posted Apr 1, 2014
Pros: Friendly,helpful staff, quiet and clean.
Cons: Maybe breakfast could last a little longer.
Location: We visited the Spirit of Norfolk, then took a short ride to Virginia Beach.
We came into town to celebrate my moms 60th birthday. The hotel was in a nice quiet Historical District, not too far from our destination or other attractions and only q short distance from Virginia Beach!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Sandra from Forest Va.

Posted Mar 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
Was very disappointed in breakfast. No cartons of milk. Bagels were hard and tasted old. Cream cheese hard. No yogurt. Eggs were powered or appeared to be. We go to that area at least twice a year and will be looking at staying somewhere else.....
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Sue from Delphos OH

best place in portsmouth

Posted Mar 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
Visiting our grandson and we love this hotel. We had an emergency and the mgr let us checkm out late w/o a fee. I will stay here any time. there is a nice restaurant in the flower shop behind the hotel. Visitthem! One tiny quibble -towels could be better. Good breakfast and nice staff.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Ronnie from Hotel Location Portsmmouth, VA

Not worth the money $80

Posted Feb 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
I was so dissatisfied that I left as soon as I could (after one night) and asked for a refund on the other two nights I had planned to stay based on the 4.0 rating I read that the hotel had. I got a nearby hotel for nine dollars more with two meals. This Comfort Inn Old Town Portsmouth, VA is probably rated 4.0 because of its location to the hospital which most people who stay there find convenient and perhaps rate it high for that reason. Or perhaps, when you book through a third party (which I did) they give rooms that are not of good quality because people get a discount and do not come directly to the hotel to book.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by S. Hall from Lafayette, IN

Clean and comfortable.

Posted Jan 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
Easy access to N.M.C. Clean comfortable room. Comfy bed, good breakfast, enjoyable stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by S. Hall from Lafayette, IN

Short stay. Nice.

Posted Jan 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
Visit for son's surgery at Naval Med Hosp. Nice room. Comfy beds. Resturants nearby. Easy access to hosp., gas, and roads in and out. Well pleased.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 28, 2013 on Hotels.com