Ratings based on 373 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom alexandria, VA

Location and staff good but....

Posted Dec 13, 2014
Room furniture especially bed and couch badly need updating. Beds are way too soft and couch has lost all its stiffness. You just sink in and have back aches as a result.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Norfolk,VA

Relaxing

Posted Dec 1, 2014
Pros: great price and location.
Cons: Pool was closed and they offered use of Ramada's pool which was 11 blocks away.
Very nice and clean. Size of suite was great with 4' x 5" jetted tub.. Front desk and maintenance staff were great. Very Prompt and courteous.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location and clean room

Posted Nov 17, 2014
We normally stay in va beach for our vacations..my husband's family lives in va beach so we like to combine our vacation time with family..however this trip was a bereavement trip. We were pleased with the room as usual..the only complaint that i have is the beds were not very comfortable..other than that everything else was fine..had a tv in the living room and also one in the bedroom..jetted tub was also nice and i loved the shower
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom bethlehem pa

Great suite oceanfront room

Posted Nov 6, 2014
It was nice even though the rooftop indoor pool was under construction. We should have been informed by booking company prior. Manager did give a small refund because of it
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Richmond, VA

My 'Go To' Place at Va Beach

Posted Sep 26, 2014
Location: Dough Boy Pizza on the corner across the street makes an excellent vegan Mediterranean pizza, just tell them to hold the cheese.
This is my 5th year returning to Dolphin Inn and I will be back again next year. Apparently, a big recent storm demolished the atrium surrounding the rooftop swimming pool so the entire pool area was off limits while being repaired. I was given passes to use a nearby hotel's pool, but chose not to. It was no one's fault, but not having the pool available down the hall from my room was disappointing, but that's definitely a 'first world' problem so I didn't lose any sleep over it. I am always comfortable with my suite at Dolphin Inn, plenty of sleeping comfort, a useful & functional kitchen area, a relaxing jacuzzi in the room, always a spectacular ocean front balcony view, secure parking, instant beach access, close to everything. I dig it and I'll be back next year!
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom virginia

Needs updated furniture

Posted Sep 24, 2014
Pros: The view and the staff
Cons: new furniture without horrible stains all over it
Awesome view of the beach, great location, very friendly staff, but the carpets around the hotel premises were not clean and the couch in our room had various stains on it. It would have been nice to sit on it to watch outside or watch tv but wasn't very pleasant. Bedrooms were okay. Probably wont stay here again unless they advertise new furniture.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Cleveland, OH

True Disappointment !!!!!!!!!

Posted Sep 4, 2014
Pros: It was on the beach
Cons: Everything
The only thing this hotel has going for it is it is on the beach. The indoor pool was down when we arrived for Labor Day from a tornado in July. The stairways smell like urine. The rooms were dingy, outdated and not maintained. The bathroom had mold on the ceiling, dirty grout and the tiles around the tub were black in the crevices. The walls throughout the suite were dirty and were in major need of cleaning and had cracks that needed repair. The wallpaper was peeling off the walls. The sofa bed was so thin we had to put the cushions from the couch on top of the mattress just to make it bearable! It was supplied with dishes and silverware that I wouldn't touch with a 10 foot pole. There was no way to know if they were cleaned after the last guests. Other hotels that supply dishes have plastic wrap around them after they have been sanitized. The curtains smelled like they hadn't been washed in 5 years. The vending machines didn't work and there is no café in the hotel. We ended up leaving early because the conditions were that of a run down motel! And certainly after a 10 hour drive nothing we felt comfortable staying in.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Robert Bruntfrom Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

Awesome Stay at the Dolphin Inn

Posted Aug 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
After reading the reviews I was not surge about this Inn… But to my surprise it was nothing like the bad reviews, People and staff were awesome, the room was clean, the view was spectacular. Anything we asked of the staff, we received with a great big smile and have a great day! we stayed 1 week this year, but next year we are staying two weeks at The Dolphin Inn in Virginia Beach VA….
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Reneefrom Virginia

Posted Aug 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
I was not informed until after my check in that their indoor pool is under construction. I made my reservations online and was not aware of this. Also I had to ask several times for a crib for my child. The room was clean and tidy. It is noisy at night due to the concert right next to the hotel.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by New Jersey beach goerfrom Nj

Mediocre efficiency establishment

Posted Jul 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
First let me say the front desk and maid service people were nice and helpful. However inside the unit was quite disappointing ! The sofa was so dirty and disgusting, it literally had stains on it. I covered the sofa with a sheet. They need to update the televisions with flat screens. They worked poorly. The location was great right in the boardwalk next to the park. If you are just looking for someplace mediocre to lay your head this place is fine.