Ratings based on 701 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Houston

Within walking distance to convention center

Posted Mar 30, 2015
Pros: Proximity to the convention center. The staff were very nice. Room service breakfast was delicious and delivered on time.
Cons: Overall cleanliness. Updated rooms, with safes and mini fridges. Better management of the restaurant/bar to improve service and quality of food.
Location: The beach and main tourist attractions were a short 5 minute drive. With several good restaurants nearby.
We were in town for a three day National wrestling tournament at the convention center. This hotel is within walking distance, which made it very convenient. We had two rooms. The lobby was under construction and it was difficult to find the entrance in the dark. The rooms were not very clean, there were food crumbs in both. The bathrooms were also dirty with stains on the floors, cabinets, and walls by the light switch. It looked like they were wiped down with a dirty cloth. The rooms lacked a safe and a mini fridge (essential for teenaged boys who haven't eaten in weeks in order to make weight, and finally can!). The king sized bed was very soft, but only on one side. The other room had full sized beds, which are really too small for two people to sleep on. We ordered room service the first day for breakfast, which was very good. The second day we ate the breakfast buffet, in the restaurant, which was terrible. The bar was under staffed all three nights, with one bartender and one waitress. But the waitress was wonderful!
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Washington, DC

Not a guest centered hotel

Posted Mar 19, 2015
Pros: 5 mins from the beach
Cons: I know hotels must make renovations but they could at least keep guests informed and keep the inconvenience to a minimum.
Location: There's horseback riding on the beach, which is nice. Great restaurants and friendly people.
On our first night, our bathroom cleaning was leaking water from room above. They closed the pool over the weekend for construction, during in my opinion, peak guest times. The hotel staff also failed to alert us to construction that woke us up at 10 am. At the very least, they could have moved our room location to avoid the noise.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Super comfy bec

Posted Mar 18, 2015
Quick stay but very quiet and comfortable. Restaurant is incredibly slow!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom delaware

Nice hotel, great location..

Posted Mar 17, 2015
Staff was wonderful and the hotel was clean. Due to a cheerleading competition the hotel was completely booked! My only complaint was our tv only got three channels. Because it was late when we returned to the hotel we did not complain.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 16, 2015
Checkin was smooth and quick. Room was clean. However the bathrooms was small but served its purpose. The on site restaurant left much to be desired though it was convenient. Location perfect for events at the convention center.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to Conv. Center, but rooms were in bad shape

Posted Mar 12, 2015
Pros: Close to convention Center
Cons: Housekeeeping!!!
Location: It was walking distance to the main road in Virginia Beach, we walked to Abby Road for dinner one night, Aquarium and Adventure Park were a taxi away.
Issues with the room: Cobwebs hanging from ceiling-never cleaned the entire time we were there either; Window was so cloudy that you could not see out it; bathroom shower leaked all over the floor, had to call maintenance to fix it; room was NEVER vacuumed in the 5 days we were there; Mold in the shower grout (which I finally WIPED out with a washcloth, no scrubbing or chemicals required... the last day we were there ... just to see if it could be cleaned); coffee pot in room was left with rusty water in it from who knows when and the thing was so dirty with old coffee, that I asked for a new one. The hotel did give us a refrig and microwave when I complained about room condition, and they did get me a new coffee pot (after 4 reminders), which was nice for tea in the afternoon or evening. Hotel is under rennovations downstairs, but didn't think that meant housekeeping didn't have to clean the rooms upstairs (it was the worst hotel for cleanliness I have ever been in).
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 16, 2015
Internet connection didn't work at first but the staff got right on it and connected it. Not a lot of counter space in bathroom. Electrical outlet between beds worked on and off. Would not be my first choice of a hotel if I go back.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom washington, DC

Poor Signage & Hotel Entrance

Posted Jan 22, 2015
The hotel lobby/entrance is under construction. We spent 15 minutes searching for the entrance. Poorly labeled entrance and awkward floor plan make difficult entry for guests. Once inside our stay was pleasant. No other issues, nice hotel, pleasant service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Welcoming and helpful

Posted Jan 20, 2015
everyone was helpful and kind. My dog and I had a very nice stay!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pet Fee

Posted Jan 19, 2015
When I put in my criteria on Expedia I checked "Pet" prior to booking the room at this hotel. when I check into the hotel I had to pay a $ 25 Pet Fee to stay the night I paid the fee Why did Expedia not have/know their would be an additional charge ? I expect to be credited from Expedia and expect a response.