Ratings based on 88 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Do not stay here

Posted Jul 14, 2015
Pros: The staff were friendly
My 4 year old grandson and I arrive around 9:30 pm. The elevator is broken and the room available is on the 3rd floor. Walking down the hall to the room, the smell of marijuana is drifting thru the hallway. The carpets are worn and the toilet has yellow stains all over it. In the morning, we go down stairs at 8:00 am and there was no coffee or continental breakfast as promised. I've stayed in numerous hotels around the Norfolk, Portsmouth and VA Beach areas since I visit my Grandson every month. This was by far the worst experience I've had.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portsmouth, VA

Comfortable

Posted Jun 29, 2015
We lost power at home during a storm. We needed to find a place with AC fast! Your Extended Stay staff made us feel very welcome.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 13, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a response regarding your stay with us. We are glad that we were able to establish a home away from home environment for you and your family. I'm so happy we were able to accommodate your needs. Once more, thank you for posting your review. We look forward to having you visit with us again in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New River Valley VA

Nice hotel, not in best location

Posted Jun 16, 2015
Pros: Front desk staff was friendly and courteous.
The hotel was easy to find and the exterior appeared to be well maintained. Adult friends and family checked in late, after 10 pm on a Friday night for a two-night stay. We had to be buzzed in by the front desk staff and told it was for guest protection. The first night, my guests report that their rooms were clean, comfortable and not too noisy. On the second night, they reported hearing gun shots. Apparently there is an apartment complex behind the hotel and on the same side as my guests stayed. There was some criminal or domestic activity going on that night. Nothing the hotel could have done but I will definitely be more selective about room assignments in the future.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. I sincerely apologize that your experience was not a comfortable one. Please know that it is our number one priority to maintain a safe environment for our guests and I will be taking steps to ensure that each guest has a comfortable stay. Still, I'm glad that the room met your expectations and our staff was friendly and courteous. I am grateful for the feedback you provided so we are able to continually improve our hotel. Thank you for choosing Extended Stay Hotels. We hope we have the opportunity to see you again in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Extended stay

Posted Jun 16, 2015
Hotel was reasonably priced but very outdated. Their free wi-fi/high speed internet was so slow as to be useless. You have to pay extra for faster speeds. They only do house cleaning weekly but that was indicated on Expedia when reseversations were made . You can get house cleaning more frequently at extra cost. Overall this facility was exceptable and I would stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
I want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. Please accept our apologies that our amenities were not what you were expecting. In response to your feedback, we will work to make sure we are clearly communicating our amenities to guests during check-in. Still, I am glad to read that you had a positive stay overall and would come back and stay with us again. Once more, thank you for posting your review. We look forward to having you visit with us again in the future.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

One night stay

Posted Jan 24, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel shower In our room was barely warm. Otherwise, the room was clean and comfortable, had a flat screen tv, and was priced economically in a nice section of town. Front desk staff was very friendly and informative; grab and go breakfast was good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 4, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. I would like to apologize to you about the shower and its temperature. I checked the temperature personally, along with our maintenance staff, and it was indeed not hot enough to suit your needs, or any other guests needs. I thank you so much for bringing this to our attention so that we can correct the problem and prevent these issues from reoccurring. On the other hand, I'm delighted that everything else about your stay was comfortable, clean, and priced to fit your needs, along with our grab-and-go breakfast. I hope that the shower incident will not deter you from staying with us in the future. Again, thank you for your response, it will be used as a learning tool for continuous improvement.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

.

Posted Oct 25, 2014 on Hotels
It wasn't so bad, furniture needs a update,
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 3, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for the feedback about your stay at our hotel. We strive to provide guests with all the comforts of home, so I am disappointed to hear that you found our furniture to be outdated. In response to your feedback, I am working with my maintenance staff to improve the condition of the furniture in the rooms. The staff and I appreciate your comments, as it will only help us to improve. I do hope that you will return to our hotel, or any other Extended Stay Americalocation in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by katey

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 1, 2014 on Hotels
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Radical Racing from NC

Avoid

Posted Aug 25, 2014 on Hotels
Old dirty hotel. Needs upgrading in a bad way. They do not service the rooms. Staff was poor at best. Do not waist your money.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from chesapeake, va

Old hotel that needs some serious upgrades

Posted Aug 11, 2014
For $110.00 a night I did expect more than we got. We had a room with two double beds & kitchenette. No pots, pans, utensils, plates, etc in the kitchen. The mattress squeaked at your every move. The blankets on the bed had lots of hairs matted into them. Just disgusting! Breakfast?? Hahaha! It was a joke. Individually wrapped muffins & coffee served in this very tiny lobby. Ugh!!! And this place was nearly 45 minutes away from any beaches or sightseeing places.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 21, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for providing us with details about your stay. We strive to provide guests with all the comforts of home, so we are disappointed to hear that you were not informed of our customizable kitchen packs and that our grab-and-go breakfast did not meet your expectations. We store our kitchenware in a sterile environment to ensure our guests are receiving clean items. We apologize that our front desk staff did not inform you of this policy during check-in or offer to deliver the items to your room. We will work with our front desk staff to make sure your experience is not repeated. In regards to our grab-and-go breakfast, we offer items as a quick option for our guests that do not have time to cook in their fully equipped kitchens. We are sorry that this did not leave you satisfied. Thanks to your feedback, we can continue to work on providing an exceptional stay for all of our guests. We would love to have another chance to provide you with a better experience at our hotel the next time you're in town.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Dan from Pennsylvania

disgusting bedding

Posted Aug 11, 2014 on Hotels
This was a last minute hotel stay on our way to our final destination. I had stayed at a different extended stay hotel before and had a good experience. This hotel is rundown by the looks of the carpeting and interior walls. When we got into our room we peeled back the comforter to find the blanket underneath had stains all over it. How disgusting! There is no doubt the maid who made the bed saw it and decided they didn't care enough to put a clean blanket on the bed. Had we looked for other hotel horrors I'm sure we would have found them here. Do not stay here if you have a better choice. Straight up nasty.