Ratings based on 846 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.7 out of 5
66% of guests recommend
2.8 Room cleanliness
2.8 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Decent hotel on the beach

Posted Jul 28, 2014
The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The room was clean but not enough towels and wash cloths in the bathroom.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from phila pa

Room faced beach on upperr floor

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Staff very pleasnt and helpful First time ever went to sleep watching the ocean waves!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from smith

It was horrible. Literally everything was bad.

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Horrible, would never recommend to anyone. It's a horrible hotel as we'll as the middle eastern manager is rude.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from VA

Nice view to the beach & very close to the beach

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Holes on the wall/ cracks on ceiling/ paint dropped over the A/C unit/ balcony was dirty-cracks on the edge of the wall/ bathroom shower head was moldy/ old toilet seat-got stained on it/ behind the toilet bowl was cracked on the wall/ the spout was Not seal-left a big gap between it/ the counter top was saggy on both end/ fan was noisy & very loud music from the restaurant w/in the hotel until 11:45PM. Not recommended this Grand Ocean Hotel to anyone.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from m

Awful

Posted Jul 12, 2014
When we arrived we were told we had to park a block away. Then when we got to our hotel room it was not clean old beer caps on the carpet. We talked to the housekeeping & the guy said they never clean the pool. It was disgusting. Every team the restaurant washing the floors down and it run right into the pool.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

Dont stay here!!

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Update the hotel and landscaping= very old and shabby looking
Location: Right on the boardwalk- you can walk to all restaurants and activities
Pros: Location!! On the boardwalk, close to everything, one of the few hotels with beach front pool. Cons: Very shabby and out-dated. Charged an early check-in fee at 1:30 pm (I've NEVER been charged by any other hotel!). Off-site parking a block away, valet was never on duty when I asked. Hotel has 110 rooms- only 10 chairs at the pools- get there early or bring your own chair. Housekeeping adequate at best, but the staff looks like collage students- wore cut-off shorts, flip-flops, t-shirts and back packs which I found very odd and unprofessional. Declined 1st room as it was very musty smelling and very very shabby- upgraded to a "suite" on the 8th floor which was in better condition. LaToya at the front desk was lovely and tried her best for me but she clearly only had so much to work with. Hampton Inn next door also had a pool and appeared very well kept and clean- I'll stay there next time. NEVER will I stay at this hotel again!!! So disappointed!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Awesome stay!

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Pros: The location was excellent. Oceanfront view was amazing. Staff was very pleasant and helpful. The room was clean and very comfortable.
Cons: Would like the pool to be open till 11. Housekeeping if they could possibly come earlier. They came around 3 we were trying to rest a little.
Location: The location was perfect on the board walk and ocean front. Great places to eat and stores were close by. We were close to sightseeing boat cruises.
I was worried about staying after I read some of the reviews. I was very pleased with the staff. Very friendly and very helpful. The room was very clean and roomy. The beds were very comfort. The location was excellent. The view was amazing. The parking was across the street but the parking lot was clean and very accessible. The club below us had a band but we were on the 8th floor didn't hear it unless we were on the balcony. Very pleased.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Great ocean view

Posted Jul 10, 2014
Pros: Location and price
Cons: The water pressure in the shower. The patio door and hotel room door locks. Patio did not lock at all and the room door lock seemed a little wobbly
Location: Great restaurant called Fishbones. Great food and staff.
This made our second stay at the hotel. It is right by the boardwalk, and has a great view of the ocean. It is not a 4 star hotel but it is quite comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newport News

Rachel at desk is a keeper...she leaves, we won't

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Pros: Georgious view of ocean...Calypso nice addition
Cons: Nothing, but fiiled small cooler with ice, and got home with ya'lls ice bucket. Will return bucket next time at beach....sorry!
Location: All good
Again, Rachel ad front desk a keeper..she leaves we won't come back. Everything all good, just wish had in room coffee pot.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful view

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Rooms weren't the cleanest ever, however the location is great!