Ratings based on 339 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay

Posted Oct 19, 2014
We have stayed at this hotel on numerous occasions and have the quality of the room and the service to be excellent each time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 21, 2014 by Rob, Hotel Management
Thank you so very much for your review and your continued loyalty to the Hampton Inn North! I am ecstatic your rooms and service have been consistent with each stay. We are honored to have guests such as you! We look forward to your next stay, in the meantime have a most wonderful day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Haymarket, VA

Nice hotel, but the beds aren't comfortable

Posted Oct 17, 2014
Pros: View, location, friendly staff and breakfast buffet. Didn't go in the pool or gym but they looked nice.
Cons: Get new beds!
Location: Great location. The boardwalk is what sets this beach location apart from all other beaches on the east coast. By far mine and my families favorite
This hotel is at a great location on the oceanfront right next to the Neptune statue. The hotel itself was nice and the staff was very helpful. The breakfast buffet was really quite good as compared to what is offered by other hotels. The gal working in the buffet area was very nice and went out of her way to say good morning. She hummed and sang and made the sun shine while it was raining out. Most disappointing part of our visit were the beds. It wasn't just me, my husband and daughter agreed. The pillows were just as bad. I think it is time for new beds, they just aren't supportive. Overall for the price we paid for non-peak day for a premium view oceanfront room it met our needs..
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 21, 2014 by Rob, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review and for your stay with us! I hope you overall enjoyed your stay with us. Our Hampton beds sometimes don't agree with everyone they meet. My apologies for this inconvenience you encountered! I hope we can accommodate you in the future. Have a wonderful day
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ok stay

Posted Oct 16, 2014
Pros: Oceanfront at the north end of the boardwalk.
Nice ocean front hotel. Most of the staff were very friendly especially the lady at breakfast. We did have one problem. Our room wasn't cleaned. The housekeeper actually handed me towels in the hall along with trash bags and told me to just sit the trash in the hall and put in the new bags. She didn't make the beds or anything. After notifying the front desk our room was eventually cleaned. Other than that we had a nice stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 20, 2014 by Rob, Hotel Management
Thank you for the review and your recent stay, however I want apologize for housekeeping's inability to properly maintain your room. Thank you for bringing it to the front desk's attention so we could remedy the problem. I have brought it to the General Manager's attention so we can ensure this doesn't reoccur. Thank you again for your review and your stay. We hope to see you again. Have a great day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great View!

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Pros: Location, clean and great staff
Cons: Beds needed a little more padding or a foam mattress
Location: Right on the beach, close to additional parking if needed, shops close by,
The staff were extremely helpful and pleasant. Our room was clean and obviously well kept. Since all of the rooms face the ocean, we had a wonderful view of the beach. Temperature in the room was easy to maintain. There was not a lot of noise coming from other rooms as is often the case when staying at a motel. Since the motel is on the boardwalk it was easy to access the shopping on Atlantic Ave.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 30, 2014 by Rob, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review and your recent choice to stay with us! I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and all aspects of the room from the temperature to the cleanliness. We look forward to your return! Have a great day,
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from VA

Very expansive for a 3 star hotel

Posted Aug 22, 2014
Hotel lobby was small. No outdoor pool. Dirty glass doors and balconies!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Exceptional Experience

Posted Aug 20, 2014
Pros: The oceanview and the location.
Cons: We got new washclothes and towels, but the old were left on the floor and beds not made. We stayed 2 nites.
Location: Close to the Neptune entertainment pavillion, catch 31 restaurant and stores. Big Mama's Italian Kitchen, nightly side walk performances and shuttle
I was a little leary of what I saw online and what I would find, but I was pleasantly surprised. The room and bathroom were as pictured on their web site. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The pool was small, but still nice. I really enjoyed the oceanview, which included being able to see the nightly fireworks and any broadwalk activity. In a very nice location on the north side.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new jersey

perfect

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: easy access to beach
nice staff, continental breakfast was delicious, indoor pool open 24hrs, great view to beach and easy access to beach , clean room
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Great Beach Visit

Posted Jul 25, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff, location, beach view. Free breakfast, free wifi and free parking.
Cons: The air conditioner was a bit difficult to regulate, but did cool the room.
We spent a couple of days at Virginia Beach and stayed at the Hampton Inn North. The location was great... close to a number of restaurants and activities. The staff could not have been nicer. Everyone was pleasant, spoke to us when we walked by and asked how they could assist us. The only negative was the air conditioner in the room. It was loud and a bit difficult to regulate, but it did keep the room cool.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 15, 2014 by Rob, Hotel Management
We appreciate your feedback and compliments about our friendlystaff ! I'm sorry for any inconvenience with the air conditioner, and have passed this on to our maintenance team for action.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto Canada

HOTEL IS ON THE BEACH.

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Pros: Location and friendly staff. Was a bit worried about the mattress and sheets, but my expectation was met!
Cons: Tub and toilet should be cleaned on a daily basis. From my experience the tub was cleaned everyday. Toilet was properly cleaned on the last day.
Location: Location is central, short distance to food, attractions, and shopping.
Overall experience was great! Staff was very friendly and superb attitude, especially @ breakfast sorry I did not ask the lady for her name she was so jolly, and helpful:
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from southwest VA

Reliable hotel on the oceanfront

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: Location, cleanliness, good staff.
Cons: Whenever they renovate, they need to add some one bedroom suites. This place is a bit tight for famiiies.
Location: For families I would recommend the aquarium. Bring your bikes - nice boardwalk right off the beach & next to the hotel.
We have stayed at both of Hampton's VA Beach oceanfront hotels. Both are reliable in terms of cleanliness, fairly comfortable beds, helpful staff, and a decent breakfast buffet. The north hotel offers a refrigerator and microwave, south had no frig which is an inconvenience at the beach. There was a time when the north end was more quiet than the south end but those differences are growing smaller. South puts you closer to the various musicians, magicians, and whatever performing on the street corners in the evening but also closer to the really seedy bars. South has a tap room restaurant with lots of different beer. North does not have that but a hotel two doors up does. I suppose my preference is the north end Hampton. I have stayed at several of the other hotels on the oceanfront and my experience varied from trip to trip. The Hamptons offer a familiar reliability, nothing fancy, not terribly large rooms, but everything works.