Ratings based on 521 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MD

Virginia beach getaway

Posted Sep 10, 2014
My husband. Son and I took a three day getaway to Virginia Beach but weren't sure where to stay. So as always I went to the reviews on expedia. I found the Hampton Inn it had good reviews and a great price, so I booked it. The check in process was very quick even though we for there 30 mins before check in. The room was very clean and the view was exactly what I wanted. We had the complementary breakfast and were pleasantly surprised. The food was fresh and there was a good variety. Those were the pros but there were cons: the internet-wifi was free but only for one day and it was terrible! We kept getting kick off so we just used our data. This was bad but the reason I have the hotel 4 stars and not 5 was the elevator maintainance that was going on during our stay. I know that things like this must be done but I question the time. It is after the season but why not wait until closer to the end of the month when there weren't so many guests. Also the time of day they had one of the two elevators down both days that we were there during breakfast and check out time. I would definitely recommend this hotel and stay here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Coastal Carolina

Beautiful view, room could have been better

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: View, breakfast.
Cons: Take a little better care of the rooms.
We have stayed at many hotels at the oceanfront in Virginia Beach. For the price, I felt this one should be better. I reserved 2 rooms, but when I arrived I found, although I had booked the rooms together and they do have adjoining rooms, that our rooms were not together at all (although they were on the same floor, they were about 5 rooms apart). The remote for the TV did not work. The coffee maker was missing the part that holds the "filter," which made it impossible to make any coffee in the room without it. The view, as always, was amazing. And the breakfast was free and actually quite good. Overall, I felt there are better values available on the beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Family get away!

Posted Sep 5, 2014
We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. We got there before 4 o'clock and they had our room ready. Our room was clean and had what we ask for! Staff are very helpful. They had breakfast every morning with many options. For sure we'll be back to this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maine

Labor Day Weekend - Race weekend

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: Location
Location: Pleanty of restaurants. Right on the beach and boardwalk.
Great hotel right on the beach. Stayed with 2 girlfriends for the 1/2 marathon and it was a super convienient location. Continental breakfast was great. Room was clean and comforatable. No complaints at all.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Suitland, MD

Nice hotel, nice view

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Continental breakfast was good, long wait for elevator! I would stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Whitney Point, NY

Kid's Beach Vacation

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: Elevator location (too far from parking), outdoor pool needed
Location: The beach of course! Many restaurants and shops, carousel and kids rides very close and you don't have to use your car at all.
This was our last chance for a getaway before school starts. We chose the Hampton Inn because we can always count on the best value for our family budget. Also, the "free" breakfast is the best we have ever encountered in any hotel we've stayed at. We had a great beachfront room, fantastic view of the ocean, and the location was in the middle of many boardwalk activities, restaurants, shops, etc. The staff was very courteous and answered all our questions...even the stupid ones. I will not hesitate to stay or recommend the Hampton Inn in all our future visits to Virginia Beach.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Very good location & Good breakfast.

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Staff were quite friendly and accommodating. Felt quite safe in the neighborhood while taking long walks on and off the beach. Jets were flying over almost every 15-20 minutes but you get used to it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Roanoke, VA

Nice hotel on south end of boardwalk.

Posted Aug 21, 2014
Cons: 10 floors of hotel rooms and only two elevators. We used the stairs often due to the wait.
Everything was as expected or better. Hotel is in a nice area and was clean and well maintained. Convenient parking.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Munich, Germany

Nice Hotel right at the oceanfront

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: Very friendly staff, nice room, excellent beds, full-size breakfast included, nice atmosphere.
Cons: Just continue offering excellent quality and service at a reasonable price.
Location: Right behind the hotel are a number of restaurants and shops for swimming gear, toys and other needs.
We, a family of 4 were looking for a place to just relax and enjoy some sunny days on the beach. The Hampton Inn was a perfect choice for exactly that.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from montreal

ocean front hotel

Posted Aug 13, 2014
very nice hotel, clean and confortable. All the rooms are ocean front with balcone. Free breakfast. the price is a little high