Ratings based on 481 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NY, NY

Posted Dec 14, 2014
Overall good experience. Housekeeping could've did a better job cleaning up. I called concierge for a restaurant reservation and they ever called me back. Indoor pool wasn't clean. Room service cost an arm & a leg yet the food wasn't that great.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Virginia

Not up to standard

Posted Oct 21, 2014
Pros: I liked the indoor/outdoor, rooftop swimming pools...complete with full service bar. The exercise room is above average.
Cons: Staff attentiveness was lacking. They were often standing around in clicks rather than engaging us. We felt like we were intruding.
Location: Everything is close by. Great food, great entertainment. This is beachfront, so we watched the sunrise.
The building was immaculate and the room was quite comfortable. Be careful with reservations here. Ocean view may mean that you will be able to see the ocean, but your balcony faces the street. Not terrible, but it was a surprise. There was an incredibly rowdy party on our floor one night. It was repeatedly quieted down by security, but every half hour or so the crowd would wake up the entire floor again. I called in the morning to discuss the matter, but no one could find records of the event and a message left for management was not returned. Staff was generally aloof. The experience was a stark difference from my stay at the Hilton in Scottsdale, Arizona. I will spend my money elsewhere next time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom DC

great hotel on the ocean

Posted Oct 19, 2014
Pros: Location; decor; sky bar
Cons: N/A
Location: Great location for shopping, relaxing, and dining
The hotel is right on the beach, with cute shops and restaurants nearby. The bar/restaurant was always packed and the Sky Bar was a hit. Great pools on the top floor too. The workout room was clean and functional but providing some exercise mats would be nice;or more strength training equipment. The lobby was very inviting and overall the furnishings in the hotel were very nice. Parking was very reasonable. Overall, a great visit and I will stay there the next time I'm in VA beach.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Nice beach view

Posted Oct 15, 2014
We enjoyed seafood and steak at a cool restaurant in the hotel. Kid swam in the pool at the top, a little bit small though.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Alexandria, VA

Nice hotel; horrible location!

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Pros: Very pretty; upscale. Beds were comfortable and it was clean - very important!
Cons: Had to ask for more towels. No exhaust fan in the bathroom & no bath mat for outside shower. Needed a few more glasses/plastic cups for bathroom.
Location: Good location; near restaurants and shops. Easy access to major roads.
Located next to pavillion for entertainment. If you are there during the Neptune Festival which I was (could be that way during summer season too); the bands start at 10 a.m. and don't stop till 11 p.m. You can't sit on your balcony and enjoy the ocean view because its WAY TOO NOISY. You can't make a phone call "inside" your room because the music is too loud. Now the upside - if you enjoy constant loud music - this the place for you! The parking was somewhat difficult although doable. Had breakfast in Catch31. Service was good but the kitchen had some problems. The food was "ok" when you finally got it. If you didn't order from the buffet, it took 45 minutes to get your meal. Several tables around me complained; 1 left without eating and another got their meal for free! Guess I should have complained to the manager as well! Would consider staying there during the off season but never again during season or special events. Actually checked out early - didn't stay both nights. They tried to find us a room on the other side of the hotel but nothing was available; not sure it would have been much quieter anyway. If you ever stay there be sure to ask which side you are staying on!
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Crown Point, IN

We refused to stay here!!!!!!!!!

Posted Sep 26, 2014
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: Stop advertising rooms they don't offer.
This hotel was not anything like you advertised on your website. NOT a suite, no living room, double beds instead of two queen size, tiny bathroom and very small balcony. We absolutely would never stay in such tiny room(think Motel 6). They charges for this room were excessive and parking was extra, wi-fi was extra, $50.00 for hotel surcharge with no explanation. We are requesting our money be returned to the card you have on file for us. We have never had such a horrible experience with any hotel before. We drove from Crown Point, IN to Virginia Beach, VA and then had to find another hotel with the accomodations that we were led to believe as stated on your website. We were told by management that they could not refund our money because we used your site to book the stay. We have three adults and room was not as adverised. We tried to get them to upgrade to a suite and were told they only had the presidential suite and could not use that room for anyone else.We did not even spend five minutes in room due to the Absolutely Inferior Quality of the room. Your prompt attention to this matter will be greatly appreciated.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Melissafrom DC

Amazing views!

Posted Sep 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
We really enjoyed our recent stay at the Hilton. Our oceanfront room had a perfect view and a nice little balcony to sit and soak it all in. The rooftop pool and sky bar, although small in size and slightly overpriced, was by far my favorite spot to hangout. It was also great to have Catch 31 downstairs for a lively, social atmosphere with a great menu. Parking was super convenient, which is a rarity in VA Beach. My minor complaints were the faulty coffee maker in the room, and that our room wasn't ready until 5pm. Also, it was a major bummer that the pool closed at 8pm for a Daisy Duke Party which was awful. An evening swim and a mellow bar scene would have been perfect.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not exactly Hilton's jewel in the crown

Posted Sep 9, 2014
Pros: The staff was friendly - the beach concierge was especially nice, making it easy to obtain beach chairs and towels.
Cons: The rooms need to be updated - starting with the mattresses.
Location: The hotel is directly on the beach, and there are walkable restaurants.
The room was really disappointing. Not what you would expect from a Hilton. Shabby furnishings, old mattress, dripping fixtures in the bath. We would have done just as well to pay half as much for a no-name hotel where you would expect outdated rooms.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by TravelDivafrom Charlotte

Good Times

Posted Sep 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
The Hilton is located oceanfront, in the center of everything. The outdoor entertainment was wonderful. The room was clean and well maintained. My only complaint is on one day of our stay housekeeping didn't clean the room until late in the afternoon. The check in / check out process was quick and the staff friendly.