Ratings based on 354 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San diego

Great business hotel

Posted May 17, 2015
I arrived late. Valet was quick and friendly. Front desk was professional and helpful. Everything was top-notch!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Lexington, KY

Great view

Posted Mar 8, 2015
Cons: Improve the soundproofing between rooms with adjoining suite doors.
Hotel had old mahogany charm in the lobby but with thoroughly clean and modern rooms....not sure how old it is but seemed quite new. We had a corner room looking at the river and dry-dock shipyards, and the naval museum the other way. Very nice hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Valentines

Posted Feb 17, 2015 on Hotels.com
Ice machine didnt work on our floor n a set of elevators stopped working..but overall good
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 25, 2015 by Jeff, Hotel Management
On behalf of Hotel management and staff, please accept my apology for the missed opportunities during your stay with us. We have shared your feedback with our team to make sure the elevators and ice machine issues were an isolated incident.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chesterfield, VA

Great hotel; well kept.

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Pros: It's clean and staff are friendly. Shula's is on premises!
Location: Location not bad but not much to do close by.
Overall was a great place to stay. Good experience. Comfortable and rates were good.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Stay

Posted Jan 26, 2015
Pros: Easy convenient location and it has an indoor pool for those gloomy winter days when we need some entertainment for small ones!
We had a great stay. Toilet was running and I had to call to get someone to come fix it. I took my little girl to the pool and when we returned it was fixed. I booked the room and when we arrived I asked if there was a room available on a higher floor overlooking the waster and the receptionist was great and moved us to a great room on the 22 floor. My little one loved it!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 26, 2015 by Jeff, Hotel Management
Thank you for your comments. We are pleased to know that you and your family enjoyed your high floor room. We do apologize about the toilet issue, but are glad to hear that we were able to fix it for you. Thank you for your stay with us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Kieranfrom Maryland

The Best!!

Posted Jan 23, 2015 on Hotels.com
The stay was wonderful!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Daisyfrom Hartford, CT.

basketball trip

Posted Jan 23, 2015 on Hotels.com
Came to see son in Norfolk. Son is a student at NSU plays basketball!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel but Small Costs Add Up

Posted Jan 12, 2015
Pros: The hotel staff were very friendly, and it was within walking distance of restaurants and a mall.
Cons: Wish the pricing was presented upfront - parking was very costly.
Location: The naval base has ships to see, there is a mall within walking distance, and the beach is close.
I attended a friend's wedding reception here and the hotel was beautiful. My only complaint would be the extra charges for things like internet, parking, and breakfast. I'm not familiar with what is common in Norfolk, but I wasn't thrilled with being nickeled and dimed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Kevin

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 11, 2015 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Charlottesville, VA

Posted Jan 5, 2015
The Waterside is a huge convention hotel; but we were there very off season, with possibly 2 dozen rooms occupied. It felt comfortable and we were very impressed with the friendliness of the staff. Location is great!