Ratings based on 220 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
65% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by c morr from Gaithersburg, MD

Great Functional Space

Posted Dec 7, 2013
Pros: The friendly, professional, and knowledgeable employees. These included the front desk associates, the activities associates, and housekeeping staff.
Cons: As mentioned the detailed cleaning of the flooring would have made a good stay a remarkable stay.
Location: We did not venture much around the resort, but you are "downtown" - very close to restaurants, shopping, the boardwalk and the beach is one block over
I booked a Luxury Suite at this resort during the Thanksgiving holidays, as a stay with family members. the resort is at the southern end of the downtown / beach area. Having a kitchenette, sitting area, and separate room was a nice functional layout. This facility is older, so those expecting "cutting edge" furnishings and layouts may be disappointed. Although the bedroom was very comfortably appointed and the kitchen boasted a combo convection oven / microwave. Rooms were away from entry doors which accorded a physical noise barrier...although one was not needed. During our quick jaunt we participated in a hosted wine and cheese event where both hotel guests and employees were very friendly and helpful. I think our minuses to consider would be the dingy hallways and some cleanliness issues. Mind you -- our rooms were very clean...but the tile flooring in the bathrooms and kitchenette appeared to have been hand mopped and were not very clean around the edges and in corners...unfortunately it made an impression and we kept commenting on the sticky dirty flooring in the primary areas you'd like to be immaculate. Otherwise the hotel was very good for a beach hangout as a hotel stay. I am not sure I would consider it a resort, but it does have nice - but small amenities (gym / activity center and indoor pool). Overall we were pleased and this met our needs.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 3, 2013
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Richmond VA

Posted Oct 26, 2013 on Hotels.com
The rooms were very dirty. The pull out sofa matress was stained and full of crumbs. The extra sheets were stained and smelled. When we asked for new sheets we were given an extra set but told by staff that they were unsure if they were clean either. There were dirty dishes in the dish washer. Staff was rude and scantily dressed. We will not be returning to this hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tabi from Virginia

Girls Trip to the beach!

Posted Oct 17, 2013
Pros: Room, Bed, Pillows, and Pool
Cons: cleaning, more explanation of hotel workings, not being so pushy at checkout
I took my 2 year old to the beach for a short trip.Overall I was happy with the hotel.There are some small signs of wear and non-detailed cleaning here and there.We stayed in the King Luxury Suite.There is a living room when you walk in, a kitchenette attaches the living room, bedroom, and bathroom together.The bedroom was nice.The bed was super nice.Lots of smaller pillows.The bed was soft and cushy so beware if you life more firm beds.It didn't sink in but was soft.The hotel staff was nice overall.We didn't have a cable hooked up to our dvd player and I called around 8pm to let them know and they sent someone quickly.There is no room keeping.This means trash too!One thing I wish they would have done was made that more obvious, because I had to wait until the next evening when the trash never disappeared to figure that out. You have to exchange your own linens, but that's not a big deal to me since I read reviews telling me that before I went. Make sure to know that they charge your card 100.00 security fee when you check in.Which was Friday for me and it is now the following Thursday and hasn't came off yet, but is still in pending.The only complaint I had was that the day of check out (10:00am) at 9:18 the house maid came to my door to see if I was out, at 9:30 I got a phone call reminder from front desk that check out was 10,(remember I have a toddler) and at 9:37 as I am rushing with my toddler arms full the house keeper asked again if we were done.Just a little much!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by James W from Chesterfield, VA

Posted Aug 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very nice stay. Excellent for 2 people but kind of small for more than that. I thought that is was waterfront but I was mistaken, it's across the street.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 19, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Babygirl40 from Charlotte, NC

Nice Hotel

Posted Aug 12, 2013
Very nice hotel but the staff can be a lot nicer-the linen exchange was not good at all-went to exchange the linen and there was an argument with the staff-the linen exchange is from 9-4 and we checked in after 4 and asked for additional towels and the response was very nasty-I booked 4 rooms in this hotel through my timeshare and they could have been a lot nicer but overall a good hotel-just a walk across the street to the beach
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Tight quarters

Posted Jul 1, 2013
Pros: Worst resort I've stayed in. This was more like econolodge.
Location: Like staying in Southern side of Virginia Beach. Quiet and peaceful compared to Northern section.
Very small for family of 4. Sink/ vanity area made for the chronic underweight population. No vanity counter space for ladies. My husband is 5ft 9 and 185 lb. I'm 5ft 5 and 125lb. We could barely pass through kitchen space together. The carpet was gross!! Must be the original. If you walked over it with damp feet it was sticky and left a black film. We have 2 teenage daughters with long hair. The hotel would only provide 4 bath towels and 2 hand towels for the 4 of us daily. We had to exchange our linen and towels to the exact amount. It was a joke. Photos very decieving. No outdoor pool on site. About 15 blooks away.
3 out of 5
by Dana

Not impressed!

Posted Jun 24, 2013
Pros: Staff was very polite!
The room was very small. The pictures that were posted made the rooms look a lot more spacious than what they actually were. Wasn't happy that they didn't clean the room daily. If we needed clean linens, we had to exchange them ourselves. Overall it's not what we expected at all!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Mostly Very Good

Posted Jun 23, 2013 on Hotels.com
Overall our stay was very nice. The room was a little on the small side but we were still comfortable with three adults and two small children. Also, the staff was very friendly and helpful. I really only have two complaints. The first is that the sofa bed was very uncomfortable. It would probably be fine for children but I could only take it do for one night and then just slept on the couch. However, my mom said the bed in the bedroom was actually quite comfortable. The other problem was the pool. I know this may seem silly but I felt four hours of adult only swim time was a little excessive. It was kinda of annoying having to wait until ten to take the kids swimming. By that point, you feel like going swimming was taking a big chunk of time that you could have been doing other things. Of course that is just my preference and I know for some that would be no big deal. Otherwise, we had a great time.