Ratings based on 61 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.1 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
2.1 Room cleanliness
2.4 Service & staff
2.2 Room comfort
1.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Portsmouth VA

Convenient for Portsmouth Old Town

Posted May 18, 2015
Decaying bedroom furniture. Dirty windows and mirrors. No breakfast provided although advertised. Domestic disturbance in early hours from long term residents. Nice friendly receptionist though but still cannot recommend.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from FL

Unclean Hotel

Posted May 3, 2015
It is fill with rare people, they don't clean the rooms, ever. The pool is out of service, they say to include breakfast and that is not true.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Go somewhere else!

Posted Mar 30, 2015 on Hotels
The area was fine... close to lots of cool stuff. The room was horrible. In my non smoking room the first thing I noticed was the smell of smoke. As I approached the bed I saw 2 large cigarette burns in the comforter. The window AC unit was smashed to bits and filled with trash. Most notably straws from fast food places. The blow dryer was caked in dirt. Not the kind of dirt that you can just wipe off, the kind of dirt that takes months to accumulate and if you tried to wipe it would simply smear at first. The cleaning crew were rudely loud and used profanity much more liberaly than their cleaning supplies. Since I had paid in full before my arrival and do not like confrontation, I bought disenfectant spray for the surfaces I would touch and avoided the room as much as possible. It was a place that was out of the elements, but if you are looking for restful comfort you will be better off paying a bit more for a room where they actually care a bit about what they do. There was no evidence that anyone associated with Rodeway Inn has any pride in their work.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by Alejandro from Dc

Muy malo

Posted Sep 3, 2014 on Hotels
Todo el hotel Esta en un estado lamentable muy sucio mal estado las maquinas no funcionan las habitaciones huelen mal el desayuno pesimo y podria seguir enumerando cosas malas...
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by alicia from 18504

horrible

Posted Sep 2, 2014 on Hotels
This was by far the worst I hotel I have ever stayed at. I went for a memorial service for my aunt who passed. Drove 7hrs and the first room which was 208 was disgusting. Air didnt work n there was no toilet paper whatsoever.the drawers in the dresser were missing and the fridge was off the hinges and not working. I complained and was moved to 207 where it was very dirty. Stains on the walls. The toilet needed to be plunged the water in the shower did not drain. The toiler paper holder was broke. The light in the bathroom was half hanging down. The first night a car alarm was going off in the wee hrs and then cops came and two sat outside the hotel facing opposite directions for hours from like 2am-5am ish. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. The manager Harry was arrogant and did not have good customer service for an unhappy customer! He advised since I booked thru hotels.com I couldnt cancel or get any percentage back for all of my troubles I will never book with hotels.com again for tht reason and recommend no one to stay there..ever
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Can you say ghetto!!

Posted Sep 1, 2014
First, in fairness to the staff, they were helpful and friendly...but the hotel itself was a train wreck! Stains and cigarette burns on the blankets, carpets clearly not vacuumed. The lamp didn't work because the end had been cut off. The phone didn't work because the end was cut off. Nail holes in the remote but it still somehow worked. ???? The desk chair was torn and broken. Shame on me for not reading the reviews first.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by dani from boston

The worst hotel ever

Posted Aug 29, 2014 on Hotels
The service was beyond terrible. The room was not clean by no standards.The location is not convenient for any town attractions.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by Tara from Portsmouth, VA

They don't understand cleaning

Posted Aug 26, 2014 on Hotels
The rooms were not clean. There was dirt and trash behind the nightstand. There was a moldy coffee filter in the coffee pot. Under the beds were disgusting. I didn't even venture into looking at the sheets. Obviously cleaning is not on their list of priorities. I brought it to the attention of the check in clerk and we were given a room that was a little bit better but still could use some work. I had children that were sleeping, it was a shame I had to worry about the cleanliness when the staff should be doing their job.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Robert from MD

Very poor quality and standard CHOICE Hotel

Posted Aug 13, 2014 on Hotels
My family stayed in the hotel for 3 nights due to last minute booking from Hotels.com, booked for a non-smoking room when arrived was given a smoking room. We complained and we were moved to a non smoking room however when we arrived to the room amenities were incomplete. Online it was described that a microwave was in the room but our room has none. We complained again on the first night we arrived, we had not received the microwave until the next morning but the microwave that was placed in our room was very disgusting, left over food splatter in the microwave and smelled like the old food combined with rust inside the microwave and to top it all no crystal plate that rotate in the microwave, complained about it but the hotel did not replace until the next morning.Very poor costumer service, the manager were rude, the place is a run down with cigarette butts everywhere. The room is you get what you paid for. Unpleasant stay and hotel service to be carrying choice hotel name.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 12, 2014 on Hotels