Ratings based on 600 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Philadelphia

Traveling on business .....

Posted Mar 28, 2015
Location: The beautiful beach is right outside of the door and the Virginia Aquarium is just a mile or so away.
Easy to find hotel (not familiar with the area), quick and pleasant check in.....room was quite nice and the view was great.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location....Ok Hotel.

Posted Feb 26, 2015
Pros: Location, kitchen amenities, ocean view from balcony and room.
Cons: not much without rebuilding/remodeling.
Pros: First hotel as the beach starts...great view of the surfing. Very close to the beach children's park. (you can see it from balcony) Cooking amenities that are usually only in higher priced hotel suites (stove, utensils, small fridge, microwave, dishes). Some other little things that impressed included trash cans that were actually bigger than the usual hotel breadbox size, and a great setup at the end of the room with the balcony....the room actually wraps around part of the balcony so you can get the same view from the edge of the balcony outside or inside your room. Huge window on the beach side, that is basically the entire width of the room. Cons: Outdoor hallways to get into room (more on why that is a "con" later.) Very thin walls, you can hear the TV in the next room as good as your own. Not great for a early sleeper. Maintenance staff with their carts very loud outside as well starting at 9am. Still knocked on my door at 9:30, even with a "Do Not Disturb" sign out. Not great for a late sleeper. Bathroom shares side wall with the outside hallway...very cold in winter, takes a long time for tub porcelain to warm up because of this. Wifi not very fast. Entrance to bathroom in weird spot about 2 feet from one of the beds in a double room...so be sure your light sleeper is not in that bed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 3, 2015
Pros: the heart shape hot tub
Cons: most hotels offer continental breakfast....since they do not offer this, maybe they should include a breakfast gift card to a local restaurant....
Location: highly recommend the Black Angus for dinner and Mary's for breakfast
had to book my room for new years eve in June....now I know why:-)
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Anthonyfrom Virginia Beach, VA

Nice Find

Posted Dec 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
This is a dated facility but ideally located for us 0- at the South end of Virginia beach (oceanfront). We had a noise issue which was not resolved. Otherwise, we like the facility and plan to return frequently.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Carolfrom Lanexa, VA

Comfort with a great view.

Posted Dec 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
This is obviously an older beach hotel which has been well maintained. Personally, I get tired of monotony of the chain hotels offer. This was a LARGE, clean room. Beds were comfortable. Great shower (even though the warm water seemed to have to come from middle earth -- not uncommon in many hotels). There was a nice kitchen area that was perfect for me. And don't forget the oceanfront VIEW. Magnificent. Great balcony, too. I truly enjoyed my stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Close to the beach, lovely uninterrupted views

Posted Dec 2, 2014
A wonder flying visit, views were to die for. Close to places of interest
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Can't recommend it!!

Posted Dec 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
I wasn't happy with my stay at all. My curtain wouldn't close so I had to call the desk. They did respond quickly, however. The bathroom was tiny, water was lukewarm at best. The pillows were like thin hospital pillows. The locks on the doors need work. The traffic around the hotel was terrible. I would not stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Md

Offseason escape to the beach.

Posted Nov 24, 2014
Love this place. Good prices, large rooms, dated amenities, but matches price well. Location is fantastic. Older property, but actively and well maintained. Bathrooms are very small, so not an accessible room, but for the younger and middle aged, just fine. Suite with kitchenette, Very happy with.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great oceanfront location

Posted Nov 11, 2014
The room was clean and spacious. Nice balcony. Wish the hotel provided beach chairs.