Ratings based on 34 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.1 out of 5
41% of guests recommend
2.0 Room cleanliness
2.6 Service & staff
2.0 Room comfort
1.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 28, 2014
We only stayed for a night, so it was okay. We weren't able to connect to WiFi. Location was excellent.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Find another hotel

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
Location: Not worth it.
I should have listened to the poor reviews not to stay there. The first room we got the balcony door which did not lock so we got another room. Doors locked and bed sheets were clean, but wait. We took the room. When we went to bed I noticed how gross and dirty the bed spread was. The air conditioner was loud. At 11:30 pm housekeeping was pounding at our door and then said they had the wrong room when we opened the door....strange that housekeeping worked so late. The next morning we did not leave our computer pocketbook or medication in the room, we did not trust the hotel staff. That second evening at 11 pm another knock from housekeeping. We didn't open the door. The next morning we reported to the front reception desk and told them. They said they would look at the security camera tapes. We'll after dinner that third not we decided to check out of the hotel because we felt insecure and the bedding was dirty. We recommend to everyone to find another hotel. Staff was not professional. Every time we went to the front desk the staff was apologizing to the guests that they couldn't do anything.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Harrisonburg, Va

No way this a 3 star Hotel, maybe 40 yrs ago

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: THE VIEW
Cons: The Hotel needs and overhaul
Location: Location was very good
I posted on Google that this was a very bad experience . Parking Very Bad had to pay for parking because couldn't check in until 4 and when you check out at 11 you can only leave your car until 12 otherwise you can pay $10 for extra parking at this Hotel. The Hotel had parking if you paid extra ! Bathroom very bad and light fixture out, balcony door didn't lock, elevators smell and very small. Not a good experience for the price of the room !!!!
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from va

Two days stay

Posted Jul 22, 2014
No wifi, stayed two days wifi did not work both days. One of the beds was really ban
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Stafford, VA

Would rather have slept in my car.

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: The young girl at the front desk was friendly and helpful. The location was good.
Cons: The hotel rooms need serious renovation. Invest in some good beds, better bedding, maids that actually clean the rooms, and new paint.
Location: The location is great. It's right next to some really great bars on Atlantic Ave.
We arrived around noon on Saturday. Check in was not until 4:00 but I went in to ask if there was a chance we would be able to check in early. The guy behind the front desk said no, check in was at 4:00. I said okay but is there maybe somewhere we can park our car until we can check in. He said no come back at 4:00 and then we would be given parking. We came back to the hotel at 4:00 to check in. The young girl behind the front desk was pleasant and check in was quick and painless. We were given a parking pass but the lot is down the block from the hotel. The hotel is in a great location and very convenient to everything. We were trying to get to our room but the elevator took forever so eventually we just took the stairs. After walking into our room I was appalled at the condition. The paint is peeling, there is drywall mud on the bathroom tiles, there are cracks and bad patch jobs on the walls, the tv doesn't work right, the lamps do not have shades on them, the beds are awful, our "ocean front" windows were so dirty you could hardly see out of them, there is no safe, the baseboards are dirty and the HVAC vent is rusted. I cannot stress enough that this was the worst hotel I have ever stayed at. We booked this hotel because it was the only one available for the night with an oceanfront room but I can assure you we seriously over paid and had there been something else available we would have left. We contemplated sleeping in our car.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Read the reviews first...

Posted Jul 21, 2014
This hotel was terrible to say the least... We had to switch rooms because of the poor condition and the mattress had a huge crater in the middle. The website states that all rooms have flat screens and coffee makers... Neither is true! In fact, our first room didn't even have a remote and the picture was grainy . The second room was a bit better as far as condition but the air conditioning was all or nothing.. We woke up in middle of night freezing and you could not adjust the temperature. The icing on the cake was when I called the front desk at 0730 to request toilet paper ( because housekeeping didn't leave any extra) she told me that housekeeping didn't come in until 0900 but I could come to front desk and get some. After I explained to her that I just paid over $700 to stay 4 nights she managed to bring me some toilet paper. I wasn't expecting the Tashmaij Hall, but I will defiantly trust the reviews next time. Do not waste your money!!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horrible

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Absolute horrible manager was rude room looked like a jail cell & balcony door wouldn't close
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from VA

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Include a continental breakfast, and coffee in the rooms.
Location: Great location.
All the staff were very helpful and pleasent. The hotel is in serious need of renovations. One of the staff suggested I come back next year and that I would not recognize the place after they renovate.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from VA

Great location, mediocre hotel.

Posted Jul 17, 2014
We decided last minute to do a weekend beach trip so we were very limited on hotel choices. After comparing costs and really wanting an ocean view room, we went with Sun n Sand, even though the reviews were less than impressive. Our personal experience with the hotel staff was fine. They weren't very professional and I noticed them being rude to some of the other guests while checking in, but I can't speak too badly of them considering I had no personal issues with them. Our room was on the second floor, ocean view. The room was pretty clean for the most part. The towels smelled like mildew and the balcony was covered in something brown and sticky- yuck! We just used our own beach towels for showers and didn't spend much time on the balcony. All in all, our experience at the hotel wasn't as bad as some of the other reviews I've read but I would not stay there again nor would I recommend it to anyone else. For almost $300/night I would expect a much better experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Christiansburg, VA

you get what you pay for

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Pros: The AC worked well,the space in the room was nice it was very clean as well.
Cons: Get new tv's or new cable. I'm not sure which one was the problem
Location: It was great being right on the beach, and so close to the shops.
We had a lovley time at this hotel. With only minor complaints. You have to pay if you want to park early wich sucked. The tv didn't work at all. you couldn't make out what you were watching. the shower curtain bairly met the edge of the tub so water would get all over the floor when you showered. also a broom in the room would have been nice. sand was all over the floor and we had no broom to get it up so no matter how many times you wiped your feet off you ended up going to bed with sand on you feet. not a plesant feeling.