Ratings based on 98 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Aug 20, 2014
Pros: Slightly updated, HD channels, the price, continental breakfast, room was clean and quite
Cons: Bathrooms need some fixing, no fee for DVD player and a better checkout system.
Location: A nice Sonic across the street but not much else in the area. Beach was about 45 minutes away.
Three of us stayed at the hotel for one night but the hotel was just as expected. The hotel looked like it had made a few improvements not too long ago to include wall mounted flat screen TV’s. The staff was nice and greeted us with a smile when we entered. After that we didn’t see them again. Room was clean when we got there and there was a frig and microwave in the room that I did not see listed on their room description. Would have been nice to know so I could have brought better food items. Beds were comfy enough and the room had basic cable and some HD channels. Bathroom could have used a few more tweaks as some things were falling apart. On the room description it said our room had a DVD player in it but it did not. We found out you have to pay an additional $10 a night to get it which the site did not say. We brought DVD's we could not watch. The free breakfast was nice for a Super 8; a couple choices of cereal, waffles, cinnamon rolls, juice and some canned fruit items. We did not like the checkout process. They just had a sign that said to drop your key card in the window. Would have preferred a person actually checking me out so I know that they didn't misplace anything and try and charge me for not checking out in time. All in all it was what I expected and did not feel disappointed.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chesapeake Va

Room had awful smell.

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Room smelled awful and bathtub unclean. Smell in bedspread and my cloths in morning. Suggest deodorizing room and carpet and.update furniture.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bend, Oregon

Clean Room. Cozy Bed. Friendly Staff.

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: Room and linens were very clean. Bed was very comfortable. Staff was friendly and accommodating.
Location: Easy access to the highway and a short drive from downtown Portsmouth and Norfolk. Chiropractor next door. Grocery stores and restaurants nearby.
This was not my first rodeo. Nor was it my first Super 8. I have stayed at more motels than the average bear. I can tell you from experience that this motel is above average for it's star rating and price. I am very particular about cleanliness. If I see one unfamiliar hair in the bathroom it will ruin my stay. The bathroom in my room at the Super 8 Chesapeake was very clean. Even the bathtub was clean enough to use without feeling gross. Often a smoking room smells like...well...smoke. My smoking room at the Super 8 Chesapeake did not have any foul odors of stale smoke. It could have easily been mistaken for a non-smoking room. The linens on the bed were very soft and clean. The bed was very comfortable. Staff was friendly, courteous, and professional. They accepted a FedEx delivery on my behalf and did not charge a fee to do so. Parking lot had ample lighting and I felt very comfortable leaving my new car in the lot overnight.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from tennessee

Nice hotel

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Plan on eating breakfast elsewhere. Breakfast left a lot to be desired. Clean and quiet.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Awful!!!!

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Pros: NOTHING
Cons: EVERYTHING
The pictures online makes this place look a lot nicer then what it is. The only thing that was portrayed right was the lobby, which was hot and stuffy. It also smelled. The room was understandable since we had asked for a smoking room, but it was all through the rest of the facility. The room itself was disgusting. The chair in the room was broken and almost fell out of it before I caught my self. The comforter on the beds haven't ever been washed or replaced. It was badly stained and smelled. The sheets weren't clean looking at all either. It was so bad that we were there for only 30 minutes before leaving and getting a better place. Still in process of trying to get a refund because the front desk lady lied and the manager on duty is never available for approval. Stay far far away from this place. The bad thing is that it hasn't been there but a couple years and its already run down. I guess thats what happens when we let foreigners run these places.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

It worked for what I needed

Posted Jun 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
This motel is not one that I would tell friends that they needed to stay at. But in fairness to the motel, it met the needs that I had for the night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Jeff

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean and sufficient

Posted May 26, 2014
Stayed one night over mem day weekend. very clean. Continental breakfast sufficient start to the day. No objections.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from mid Atlantic state

Disappointing for a Super 8

Posted May 9, 2014
Hotel is OK, if u just want a place to sleep. It is quiet. The beds aren't bad. The walls in our bathroom were dirty. The internet they promise does not work, even after signing in. Housekeeping, while I know they were just doing their job, is guaranteed to wake u at 9:00 am, by beating on the door and yelling housekeeping. The TV goes off after an hour of watching. There is a very small window of opportunity to grab a cup of coffee in the morning. The staff also gives the impression that they don't care if you stay there or not.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 27, 2014 on Hotels.com