Ratings based on 107 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom md

You get what you pay for

Posted Jan 18, 2015
Check in staff member was great, room had chairs that were falling apart. Continental breakfast was stale bread(white or wheat), raisin bran,cinnamon bun and orange, apple juice or coffe.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Daniellefrom Chesapeake

Never going again

Posted Dec 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
I will never stay in this hotel again. The person at the front desk had a bad attitude. A Housekeeper knocked on my door at 9am asking if I was ready to leave but checkout was not until 11am.I feel that the pictures are false advertisements because the rooms look nothing like the picture online. Its in a nice neighborhood but the service and room appearance was not nice.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by xuanfrom richmond ,va

hotel room

Posted Nov 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
needs update
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
The room and location were fine - nothing special, nothing terrible. The wi-fi wasn't working when we arrived and after several visits to the front desk, one of the staff agreed to restart the router (this finally fixed the problem). The "breakfast" was simple - cereal, oatmeal, and frozen waffles - and they ran out of coffee creamer (as in they didn't have any left in the entire hotel and then didn't replace it for the next day). There wasn't much to do in the area but it was fairly convenient to get to Norfolk, VA and Virginia Beach without paying too much for a hotel room in the city.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Aug 20, 2014
Pros: Slightly updated, HD channels, the price, continental breakfast, room was clean and quite
Cons: Bathrooms need some fixing, no fee for DVD player and a better checkout system.
Location: A nice Sonic across the street but not much else in the area. Beach was about 45 minutes away.
Three of us stayed at the hotel for one night but the hotel was just as expected. The hotel looked like it had made a few improvements not too long ago to include wall mounted flat screen TV’s. The staff was nice and greeted us with a smile when we entered. After that we didn’t see them again. Room was clean when we got there and there was a frig and microwave in the room that I did not see listed on their room description. Would have been nice to know so I could have brought better food items. Beds were comfy enough and the room had basic cable and some HD channels. Bathroom could have used a few more tweaks as some things were falling apart. On the room description it said our room had a DVD player in it but it did not. We found out you have to pay an additional $10 a night to get it which the site did not say. We brought DVD's we could not watch. The free breakfast was nice for a Super 8; a couple choices of cereal, waffles, cinnamon rolls, juice and some canned fruit items. We did not like the checkout process. They just had a sign that said to drop your key card in the window. Would have preferred a person actually checking me out so I know that they didn't misplace anything and try and charge me for not checking out in time. All in all it was what I expected and did not feel disappointed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Milliefrom Chesapeake

Wasn't bad experience.

Posted Aug 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
Clean room, didn't smell funny, comfy bed. Was expecting worse from reviews. Booked because couldn't find anything else. Decent price. Overall satisfied with no complaints.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Chesapeake Va

Room had awful smell.

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Room smelled awful and bathtub unclean. Smell in bedspread and my cloths in morning. Suggest deodorizing room and carpet and.update furniture.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Bend, Oregon

Clean Room. Cozy Bed. Friendly Staff.

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: Room and linens were very clean. Bed was very comfortable. Staff was friendly and accommodating.
Location: Easy access to the highway and a short drive from downtown Portsmouth and Norfolk. Chiropractor next door. Grocery stores and restaurants nearby.
This was not my first rodeo. Nor was it my first Super 8. I have stayed at more motels than the average bear. I can tell you from experience that this motel is above average for it's star rating and price. I am very particular about cleanliness. If I see one unfamiliar hair in the bathroom it will ruin my stay. The bathroom in my room at the Super 8 Chesapeake was very clean. Even the bathtub was clean enough to use without feeling gross. Often a smoking room smells like...well...smoke. My smoking room at the Super 8 Chesapeake did not have any foul odors of stale smoke. It could have easily been mistaken for a non-smoking room. The linens on the bed were very soft and clean. The bed was very comfortable. Staff was friendly, courteous, and professional. They accepted a FedEx delivery on my behalf and did not charge a fee to do so. Parking lot had ample lighting and I felt very comfortable leaving my new car in the lot overnight.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 1, 2014 on Hotels.com