Ratings based on 606 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 30, 2014
Cons: The walls are very thin. I could hear ALL bathroom related sounds. TMI about my hotel neighbors.
Decent hotel, nice breakfast, very thin walls, the front reception/plant area could use updating
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 9, 2014 by LeAnn Glover, Hotel Management
Thank you for recently staying at the Surfside Oceanfront Inn & Suites recently! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. We are currently going through a small remodel of some areas in the building, including the lobby. We have recently taken out our pond in the lobby and temporarily replaced the area with some plants/dirt. Come back and see us next year, come check out our new renovations to the building!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Virginia Beach, VA

Great price and great stay

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff and hot breakfast.
Cons: Maid service. Had "Do not disturb sign on door in morning, they did not return when I removed it.
Location: THis resort is on the Atlantic Ocean. It is winter time which is the reason for great rates, but many places around the hotel were closed.
Staff very warm and friendly. Excellent hot breakfast every morning.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Oceanfront

Posted Nov 13, 2014
Very good! Won't be disappointed - everything went accordingly - from ocean front to staff to facility is right on -
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by lucillefrom Woodstock, Virginia

Great Time, Too Short Vacation at VA Beach

Posted Oct 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
Our breakfast hostess, Tina, such a sweet friendly girl, great attitude. Employees like that are worth their weight in gold. The cleaning staff rated: Superb! I was disappointed that the fitness room was closed. The balcony was very small; however, I noticed most of the balconies throughout all the hotels/motels/condos were very small. The beach area very clean, do wish your gift shop was opened if nothing more a few hours during the day would of been nice. I know you are under renovation; your lobby appearance was in need of a redo. I had a great time at VA Beach; I'm looking forward to return back one day. You do have the cream of the crop of kitchen, maid, etc. service staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 17, 2015 by LeAnn Glover, Hotel Management
Thank you for recently staying with us at the Surfside Oceanfront Inn & Suites! We appreciate all your positive feedback about the hotel and hotel staff! You are correct, we are under remodel this fall/winter. The lobby, the fitness center & common areas will be redone. We have moved the fitness room up near the pool area & the lobby will be redone as well. Come back and see what we've done, we look forward to seeing you next year!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Richmond, VA

Nice hotel with ocean front view

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Pros: Ocean front Great location Friendly staff Great breakfast
Cons: Bathroom could have been more spacious..
Location: Beach front, great for biking, walking, restaurant convenience.
Pleasantly surprised how much we enjoyed our 3 day stay. Great value for the money. Would stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 17, 2014 by LeAnn Glover, Hotel Management
Thank you for recently staying with us at the Surfside Oceanfront Inn & Suites! We look forward to seeing you next year!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very clean and pleasant hotel

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Pros: Mentioned above
Cons: Up to date ac/heating units for each room. New paint never hurts. Larger parking spaces. That's about it, everything else was great and welcoming
Location: Pretty good location, near the pier right on the boardwalk with all ocean front rooms.
This is the first time we stayed at this hotel. It was very clean and the staff was very friendly and accommodating. Breakfast was on par with others in town, just go to the second room in the lobby because that's where the real breakfast foods are instead of bread and bagels. Parking lot was a little tiny but they have 4 floors to park on. Everything in the room seemed up to date regarding the fridge, tv, accessories. Located within a few blocks from the pier so it was in a good location. A little smaller hotel room though. Hotel runs central air so it was pretty cold at first being they had not turned on the heat as of yet and it was not in our control. There was a knob we could adjust but only to low and high for whatever air they are running at the time. However, within 2 minutes of calling the staff brouget us a blanket and space heater which ran great and created a comfortable room temperature. We did not experience any issue listed among the previous complaints and we would certainly stay here again in the future.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 17, 2014 by LeAnn Glover, Hotel Management
Thank you for recently staying with us at the Surfside Oceanfront Inn & Suites! We are happy to hear you enjoyed the hotel and hotel staff. Yes, our HVAC Units are controlled by one main unit so unfortunately we can only be in one mode, heat or AC for the whole building. We are redoing our HVAC Units this winter during our remodel so each individual room will be able to have heat or AC of their choice. Come check us out after our remodel!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Ruthfrom Virginia

Great value!

Posted Oct 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
We very much enjoyed our stay. The hotel is centrally located so we were able to walk to many great restaurants. The free hot breakfast was wonderful! Only disappointment was that there was no hot tub. And an outdoor pool would have been nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 17, 2015 by LeAnn Glover, Hotel Management
Thank you for a great review about our property! The hot breakfast is a great addition to the hotel and we are happy to hear our guests enjoy it! Unfortunately we do not have a hot tub or an outdoor pool but we do have the sundeck with chairs in the pool area. We also do offer Jacuzzi Suites here at the hotel. Hope to see you next year!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Richmond, Va

Great stay

Posted Oct 12, 2014
Was a beautiful stay, right on the beach. Perfect area. Very friendly staff and a great breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 17, 2014 by LeAnn Glover, Hotel Management
Thank you for the great review about the Surfside Oceanfront Inn & Suites! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay! See you next year!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by francine

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Edwardfrom Richmond, VA

Great Place to Stay.

Posted Oct 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
We thoroughly enjoyed the stay. The hotel staff couldn't have been nicer and more willing to give excellent customer service. Our room was clean and quiet and the view of the ocean was terrific. Loved the location because we were just a short walk away from the Sand Sculptures (Neptune Festival)and right off the boardwalk. We had front row seats for the fireworks because of the location near the pier. The complimentary breakfast was very nice with a good choice of food. The hotel may not be brand new and shows a little wear, but they are doing a great job with upgrades and service.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 17, 2015 by LeAnn Glover, Hotel Management
Thank you for a glowing review for the Surfside Oceanfront Inn & Suites! We are happy to hear our staff made your stay excellent! The new hot breakfast is a great addition and we will have it next year as well! We are undergoing a small renovation of the hotel this winter so come back and check us out next year!