Ratings based on 327 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Annapolis, MD

Hotel in Downtown area

Posted Dec 5, 2014
Pros: Good location to the seminar that I needed to attend. There were reasonable attempts at preserving the historical preservation of the building.
Cons: Amenities, room carpeting, etc...
Location: It was in downtown Norfolk and this made it close to many museums and other attractions.
Wi-fi access was very poor. Room was pretty standard with old television and needing updates. Could have used new carpeting and the room's coffeemaker (and coffee that came out of it) was bad.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 30, 2014
Location was good, but condition of hotel is not. Broken doors, noisy, just not a comfortable place.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

In process of updating

Posted Sep 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
Old hotel in process of updating. Great location in downtown. Bed is comfortable, however room is a bit dingy. Curtains do not adequately cover windows. Staff needs to be more attentive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Lynchburg, VA

Great hotel.

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Pros: We loved that the hotel was the oldest in downtown Norfolk and a Virginia governor's home.
Cons: Loves it as is.
Location: We loved the area, lots of fun shops and loads of great restaurant. Beautiful downtown area.
We loved the hotel and its history. We're going back in Dec. and plan to stay there again. One of the desk clerks could have been more helpful but overall it was a great experience.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom w

Close to mall and entertainment.

Posted Sep 5, 2014
Small quaint and old hotel. Not to my liking as could use some updates. Definitely a 2.5-3.0 rating.amenities were not plentiful.parking conditions were TERRIBLE.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: Front desk kpeole very attentive and nice.
Cons: Updates on Air and carpet and shower curtains,and pillows.(Flat)
Carpet dirty and worn,TV was too small,could not watch from the bed Shower curtain molded and comforters soiled.Room was hot and air could not be adjusted. It was a Holiday weekend and everything was booked everywhere or we would have left.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Shabby

Posted Aug 25, 2014
I had to change rooms twice before getting a livable room. Even so, it was shabby.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Nice but simple

Posted Aug 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
Staff was very nice, but facility is very basic. Coffee was not offered because someone left with key to coffee area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Cherryfrom Marlboro MA

historic hotel in just the right spot

Posted Aug 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
The Tazewell is an old hotel with some of issues common to its type, not quite enough electrical outlets, a balky elevator, and no restaurant, but the rooms are extremely comfortable with cloud-like beds and pillows, a well-thought out sink and make-up area outside the bathroom, and a powerful shower. I would not recommend it for people with mobility problems: there is no unloading zone, no true handicap access, and lots of steps. Parking is in an adjacent garage to which the desk clerk has to provide access (more steps). The parking charge is not insignificant. The staff was very friendly, although they did not provide help getting luggage to the room on check-in. The best part though is that the Tazewell is within a stroll of excellent restaurants (don't miss the Big Easy for dinner or the Granby Bistro for breakfast), Nauticus, the Japanese Gardens, the MacArthur mall, and the Moses Myers house. The neighbor is lively but not noisy or crowded.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Probably high-end hotel 50 years ago

Posted Aug 19, 2014
The staff were pleasant, but the carpet was filthy and there was no hot water, and the tv only got ten channels. There was no fridge, and the towels were old and thin. I'm never going back.