Ratings based on 332 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by michaelfrom New Mexico

Could be a nice old hotel

Posted Dec 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
The room is "tired" with spotty repairs, carpet patches and a lack of a wall heater. The small electric heater they provided worked sproadically and was not what I expected. Small towels with a dripping faucet.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Ralphfrom Fairfax, VA

Excellent location

Posted Dec 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
Nice stay. Hotel is old and worn, but I expected that. It has character. Great location! I'd stay there again. People were very helpful.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Annapolis, MD

Hotel in Downtown area

Posted Dec 5, 2014
Pros: Good location to the seminar that I needed to attend. There were reasonable attempts at preserving the historical preservation of the building.
Cons: Amenities, room carpeting, etc...
Location: It was in downtown Norfolk and this made it close to many museums and other attractions.
Wi-fi access was very poor. Room was pretty standard with old television and needing updates. Could have used new carpeting and the room's coffeemaker (and coffee that came out of it) was bad.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by margaretfrom Dahlgren

Tazewell Downtown hotel

Posted Nov 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
Was within walking distance of shopping and dining, was told of a driving service called Fred's (FreeRideEveryDay) used the service very prompted and friendly. We were disappointed that the hotel did not offer a breakfast service and the one elevator did not stop on all floors. Was told the maintenance worker did not work weekends. Overall would stay again at this hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by lisafrom nc

slightly below avg general experience

Posted Nov 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
It was a little difficult to spot the hotel because of store front signs.and parking is not available until you check in. Parking in garage next door cost 15 dollars and is really inconvenient. You had to struggle with your luggage out the lot into a dark backstreet to enter the hotel entrance..The hotel lobby was quaint. The elevator was very small and old. When we entered the room, it was very hot and humid and we had to immediately open the windows and adjust thermostat.the carpet was badly stained. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The shower was needing more pressure. There was a distinct smell of gas about the place. I requested some towels and had to go to the front desk to get them since at 0900 am there was no housekeeping avail. We had 3 guests and only had towels for 2. The staff was not rudebut not very helpful when looking for food in neighborhood. The people in the city blocks however were quite helpful. One gent even called a local pizzaria that was closed and asked if he could help us out
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Kerryfrom albuquerque

charmed hotel

Posted Oct 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
Good stay, hotel staff friendly, vlean relatively clean, hotel is just very dated. But it has charm!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 30, 2014
Location was good, but condition of hotel is not. Broken doors, noisy, just not a comfortable place.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

In process of updating

Posted Sep 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
Old hotel in process of updating. Great location in downtown. Bed is comfortable, however room is a bit dingy. Curtains do not adequately cover windows. Staff needs to be more attentive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Lynchburg, VA

Great hotel.

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Pros: We loved that the hotel was the oldest in downtown Norfolk and a Virginia governor's home.
Cons: Loves it as is.
Location: We loved the area, lots of fun shops and loads of great restaurant. Beautiful downtown area.
We loved the hotel and its history. We're going back in Dec. and plan to stay there again. One of the desk clerks could have been more helpful but overall it was a great experience.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom w

Close to mall and entertainment.

Posted Sep 5, 2014
Small quaint and old hotel. Not to my liking as could use some updates. Definitely a 2.5-3.0 rating.amenities were not plentiful.parking conditions were TERRIBLE.