Ratings based on 225 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from VA

Maybe it will get better

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: It was on the beach
Cons: Please tear it down and re-build it.
I booked a 2 night stay at this hotel over Labor Day weekend. It was the only hotel not completely booked. The (female) manager and the staff were not friendly on the phone or when we arrived. The hotel was just old...very, very old! I've stayed in older hotels but they had been remodeled or taken care of. Cavalier had not been taken care of, the rooms, the colors, the carpet, the décor...everything was just ugly and nasty. The breakfast was all carbs...right out of the freezer, thawed and warmed...pancakes, waffles, and French toast bread. We went out to eat at some neighboring restaurants. I could say more but I won't. I titled this review "maybe it will get better" because we found out they were supposed to be tearing down this hotel and rebuilding it so perhaps it will be better in the future. Two nice things...the bathrooms had been remodeled and the hotel was right on the beach.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Our Stay

Posted Sep 7, 2014
Pros: Free parking and a nice beach
Cons: The continental breakfast
Location: Quite a distance from most boardwalk attractions & activities.
Booked 2 rooms: One was clean & the other was not upon our arrival. After complaining, the room was cleaned but not well. The bath & shower still needed work. The hotel is not on the boardwalk but right on the beach. Free parking was a plus and the Continental breakfast was just OK. The whole hotel needs refurbishing
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Nice hotel, right on beach

Posted Sep 5, 2014
Pros: closeness to beach; good price
Cons: Parking. Free hotel parking was quite a walk away; not good for disabled or elderly
Helpful staff at front desk, very courteous and accomdating
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from KY

Hotel close to the beach

Posted Sep 5, 2014
Pros: Being close to the beach.
Cons: Cleaning of the carpets and pick up of trash by the reception.
Location: Not too far from the stores and restaurants.
We could go and walk on the beach as it was right there!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Needs update

Posted Sep 3, 2014
I understand that hotels ocean front take a beating, but the room smelled musty and so did the pillows. Mildew on carpet by bathroom. Mildew in the tub. If the smell could be lifted, small things could forgiven, but even the kids said the room smelled bad. Hard to sleep.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 2, 2014
For the price I pay this hotel is overrated, the room it was not perfectly clean and the hotel needs better maintance!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Moundsville, WV

Close to the beach

Posted Aug 31, 2014
It was a nice stay, and everyone was friendly. They are going to be closing this location down and opening the newly renovated Cavalier next year.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Harrisonburg, VA 22801

What a disappointment!

Posted Aug 29, 2014
Pros: Absolutely nothing! Although the girl that cleaned our unit, did a super job.
Cons: Clean carpets, empty trash cans, no smoking enforced, better breakfast, actually a manager that saw that things were done.
Location: Rose's Restaurant on VA Avenue had good food at reasonable prices.
Upon arrival we were given a room which had a broken chair and a refrigerator that had leaked all over the carpet. We were moved to a different room where we had a phone that did not work for our 7 day stay (reported repeatedly to the front desk), no sink stopper, the jacuzzi did not work, and needed light bulbs replaced. Overall, the carpets were dirty. There were very few times that towels were available at the pool. This was supposedly a non-smoking building, but there were cigarette butts everywhere and people openly smoking. The trash cans were overflowing all over the building even at the front entrance to the building. The free breakfast was not appetizing and was the same thing every day. It would be helpful if there was a small table on the balcony as there was nowhere to sit anything we were eating or drinking. Will I recommend this hotel? Absolutely NOT!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

close to beach,

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Pros: close to beach
Cons: need updating, better breakfast bar
Location: close to beach,not much around close to beach homes
no service, very slow elevators ,free breakfast is a joke, fruit, store brought waffles and french toast, coffee was horrible.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Chesterfield, VA

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Pros: The ocean view was beautiful.
Cons: Amount of parking spaces.
The hotel room was very clean and comfortable. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful.