Ratings based on 268 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Virginia

NIGHTMARE AT BEST

Posted Nov 28, 2014
Pros: ON EXPEDIA after searching for a motel who accepts dogs.
Cons: The owner needs retrained by Travel Lodge Corporate offices.
Location: The beach is near by.
This motel should be avoided at all cost, Travel Lodge Corporate is receiving a letter from us today regarding the owner of this motel.This is how are stay ended, My son was in his room, the owner knocks on the door, an 18 yr old college freshmen staying in the room beside us. He starts yelling at my son regarding his dog being in room. He explained my mom paid for the dog fee. He was flipping out, yelling, stating, "I CALL POLICE". I went to the front desk with receipt he starts yelling at me, the clerk charged the wrong amount. We were charged $25.00 at check-in after alerting the clerk, we were traveling with a dog. The owner is freaking out screaming, pacing back and forth. He even pretends to get on his phone, asking for a cruiser. I am calm, begging this man to calm down. I tried handing him another 28.00 because he claimed the pet fee has tax. He started screaming, running back and forth in lobby, I don't care I want everyone arrested. This is exactly how this played out. I have never in a 45 years of my life, seen a person in a business behave this way. He began stating its 11:30 am and check out is 11. You need to pay another day. We were running a little late and 11:05 am we, asked the cleaning lady, if it was okay to finish getting ready to depart a half hour late, she said no problem. He as screaming that is not her right to tell you NOTHING. At the end we got in on car and left. This motel was a disappointment after being treated so disrespectfully. BEWAR
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom M

Clean, comfortable, convenient

Posted Nov 21, 2014
Small motel with friendly staff, clean, quiet, comfortable & convenient in North VA Beach.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom NJ

"Value" Choice

Posted Sep 23, 2014
Pros: Price & Location
Cons: Rooms are just plain tired.
Location: 5-star Seafood Restaurand within walking distance. Beach walking distance.
Great location, very friendly staff, tired facility. Extremely close to beach and 5-start seafood restaurant. Just a well-used property, so if you are the least bit picky, look elsewhere. Hot water for shower took 5 minutes. Old dark carpet. Dated everything. It's clean, and priced right, and 3 minutes from the bay-bridge.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Matt P.from Vienna, VA

Only reason to stay here is location

Posted Sep 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
This Travelodge should be a much nicer experience than it currently is...it is located as close as you can stay in a hotel to Chic's Beach, a cool area surrounded by excellent mom and pop restaurants, and sandy beachfront. Physically the inside of the hotel is extremely run down. There are rust stains, old water stains, old/cracked/broken bits in the A/C and the bath tub. On a positive note, the bedding itself and towels were very clean. It feels like the owner of the hotel knows that the location is great, and is milking money out of the hotel without putting any maintenance to the facility. If the price were about $20 per night, that would seem more reasonable. In the room Travelodge puts a little sign that reads "Bear Essentials," which is probably a good summary (homonym and all) of this room.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

So close to the beach

Posted Sep 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel is dated, breakfast is sparse , but the location is wonderful. It is a great value just because of the proximity to beach. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. It is in a quiet residential area with just enough restaurants near by.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Bruce

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Nancyfrom Shore Drive, Va. Beach

Older motel but nice

Posted Aug 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
An older hotel which is nice. Very friendly and helpful personnel. When had a problem with the water came right away. Able to help with suggestions for restaurants. Price was reasonable and hope they stay reasonable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Margiefrom Audubon,pa

Getaway

Posted Aug 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
Stayed here for a quick getaway great location, great price, close to the beach, to the fishing pier and restaurants definitely would stay here again. people are very friendly service was great
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to beach, SO friendly

Posted Aug 21, 2014
All of the staff were so nice and helpful! Check-in and out were smooth and simple. Everything was clean and working, we had extra pillows brought to the room with no hassle and used the coffee maker in the lobby to get hot water for tea, ect. We were pleasantly surprised by how close the hotel was to the beach, we also walked to the grocery store with no problem (under a mile). Already planning more trips here.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Virginia Beach

Crack House hotel!!!! Disgusting!!!! Stay away!!!!

Posted Aug 19, 2014
I booked a room for 2 nights. As soon as I pulled in the parking lot I was regretting that decision. I had already paid though and drove 12 hours to get there so I checked in anyway. The room was filthy. There was mold growing on the ceiling. It smelled like feces. The manager was walking around the building drunk. They refused to give a refund. I could not stay there so I had to just forfeit my money and go to another hotel for the 2 nights. This is the most disgusting hotel I have ever seen!!!!