Ratings based on 211 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Boardwalk, Va Beach, Va.

Connie's Weekend Retreat

Posted Nov 24, 2014
Excellent, Hotel Staff was wonderful and accommodating to me and all my guests. I'm very Thankful from the help from Turtle Cay Reservation's Staff (Rose) and front desk, and anybody else their that I forgot. I was truly on a mission to make dreams come true. I accomplished all that and more. What a way to start off your Holiday.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by lynnfrom buffalo

nice place to stay

Posted Aug 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
This hotel is very close to the beach, our room was very comfortable. Our stay was great. The only thing I didn't like was the bottom of the kiddie pool was very rough & my daughter cut her toe on it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Rebeccafrom New Jersey

Relaxing stay

Posted Aug 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
I went down with my husband and kids for a family vacation. The hotel was in a great location. Right off Atlantic Ave where all the stores are. The hotel staff was great! They had activities throughout the day and at night for adults and kids. The 2 pools and hot tubs were a plus. The room was nice. My only complaint was there was only 1 elevator to the 3rd floor. Other then that we liked the hotel a lot.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NJ

Anniversary

Posted Aug 15, 2014
We Loved the hotel, the pool, the hot tubs, and everyone there was great! The only thing that got a little annoying was everyone trying to sell you timeshares..... every single day!
1 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Who knows? Confirmed but didn't honor reservation

Posted Aug 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
Turtle Cay Resort is probably a nice place to stay, based on our view from the outside. But we never got inside. We arrived a bit early, tried to check in, and were told that our room was no longer available. Never did get a clear explanation. They offered us a suite at a "sister property" across the road with an oceanside balcony! We checked it out and it was a dump--dingy, dark, dirty, dismal, and depressing. We rejected it and got more run-around. We persisted. Then, magically, we were offered an oceanview suite with balcony at another "sister property" that was brand new, and one night free, and free parking. We checked it out and it was very nice. Unhhhh, why wasn't that the first offer? A high-rise, which we didn't want, but it was waaaaay better than the former mental hospital we were first sent to. So, who knows how nice Turtle Cay is. We didn't get to stay there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Christinafrom Pembroke Ma

Beautiful pool and across from the beach

Posted May 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
We had a great relaxing time at Turtle Cay. We had a room with 2 beds which came with microwave, coffee maker and small fridge. The pools were beautiful, clean and warm! Definitely would return again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom Lancaster pa

Close to shopping & restaurants. Pool was nice

Posted May 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
This was my husbands and My 20th wedding anniversary so we wanted to choose a resort type hotel instead of just a plain normal hotel. This was our very first time visiting VIrginia Beach. The first night I went to crawl into bed (this was close to 1am) to discover that there were a few hairs on the sheets and the sheets were not tucked under the mattress. So we decided to strip the bed and take all the sheets out side and shake them over the railings. I then ended up sleeping on a towel on top of the sheets without any blankets that night. The next day left a note for the cleaning person to change my sheets... I should of said the blankets too as the next night I found another hair on the blanket under the comforter that I didn't check the night before and ended up not using the blankets for the remainder of our stay. We had very little sleep due to all the noises.... The AC unit was very loud when it ran and it was right next to the bedroom. There was also a lot of Road noise and Jet plane noise(which I understand that the resort has no control over- just stating this fact) We were excited to see a swing on the 2nd floor but quickly realized that the Trees were blocking any views of the pretty lake across the street. I would recommend they be trimmed so you can watch the sunset on the lake. The King Suite looked very nice and roomy, it was fairly clean (except for the disgusting bed/sheets) Pools were nice except had a lot of floating debris in them not long after they were open for the day. We have a pool at home and know that for as little people that were in there at the time they couldn't of gotten that dirty that fast. It would be nice if the resort offered a little area to get maybe a continental breakfast in the morning. Since there is no room service and/or restaurants in this resort. Most of the amenities that were offered were not even in turtle cay resort but in a separate hotel across the street that was a sister hotel. The last thing I was not happy with was (and this was ALL over virginia beach not just in this resort-although we discovered that this resort is a part of an owners time share program once we got down here) all the people trying to sell us a time share! We have been to OBX (and many other places) and NEVER have been bothered about a time share. This is really annoying to constantly have to deal with while down there for a relaxing vacation! This will probably make us not want to visit Virginia beach again. I was just disappointed in this whole experience in Virginia Beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Markfrom Texas

Posted May 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
Really nice place and friendly staff. Close to boardwalk and shopping. I BR unit was large and had a nice size patio. Washer & dryer make for a nice vacation too. Thanks!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Davidfrom Round Hill, VA

Posted May 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
Staff was very friendly, and everything was clean and nice. We stayed on the back side of the hotel that backed up to a very busy road with a lot of traffic noise. Thought checkout was later than 10am and were a little late leaving and the cleaning staff, called to see if we were checking out that day, and we confirmed that we were, and would be out in 40 minutes. They then knocked on our door 15 minutes later. Kind of spoiled the nice time we had. I am sure they had other rooms to clean, and our slight overstay should have been trivial, but I really felt like they were kicking us out. I would definitely stay there again though, but would request a room on the side or front of the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

sleeping issues

Posted May 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
Sleeping was an issue with the boardwalk type hallways, suitcases and luggage carriers moving around hotel at all hours, sound was very annoying Pool area was fantastic !!!