Ratings based on 204 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Anniversary

Posted Aug 15, 2014
We Loved the hotel, the pool, the hot tubs, and everyone there was great! The only thing that got a little annoying was everyone trying to sell you timeshares..... every single day!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Christina from Pembroke Ma

Beautiful pool and across from the beach

Posted May 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
We had a great relaxing time at Turtle Cay. We had a room with 2 beds which came with microwave, coffee maker and small fridge. The pools were beautiful, clean and warm! Definitely would return again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Lancaster pa

Close to shopping & restaurants. Pool was nice

Posted May 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
This was my husbands and My 20th wedding anniversary so we wanted to choose a resort type hotel instead of just a plain normal hotel. This was our very first time visiting VIrginia Beach. The first night I went to crawl into bed (this was close to 1am) to discover that there were a few hairs on the sheets and the sheets were not tucked under the mattress. So we decided to strip the bed and take all the sheets out side and shake them over the railings. I then ended up sleeping on a towel on top of the sheets without any blankets that night. The next day left a note for the cleaning person to change my sheets... I should of said the blankets too as the next night I found another hair on the blanket under the comforter that I didn't check the night before and ended up not using the blankets for the remainder of our stay. We had very little sleep due to all the noises.... The AC unit was very loud when it ran and it was right next to the bedroom. There was also a lot of Road noise and Jet plane noise(which I understand that the resort has no control over- just stating this fact) We were excited to see a swing on the 2nd floor but quickly realized that the Trees were blocking any views of the pretty lake across the street. I would recommend they be trimmed so you can watch the sunset on the lake. The King Suite looked very nice and roomy, it was fairly clean (except for the disgusting bed/sheets) Pools were nice except had a lot of floating debris in them not long after they were open for the day. We have a pool at home and know that for as little people that were in there at the time they couldn't of gotten that dirty that fast. It would be nice if the resort offered a little area to get maybe a continental breakfast in the morning. Since there is no room service and/or restaurants in this resort. Most of the amenities that were offered were not even in turtle cay resort but in a separate hotel across the street that was a sister hotel. The last thing I was not happy with was (and this was ALL over virginia beach not just in this resort-although we discovered that this resort is a part of an owners time share program once we got down here) all the people trying to sell us a time share! We have been to OBX (and many other places) and NEVER have been bothered about a time share. This is really annoying to constantly have to deal with while down there for a relaxing vacation! This will probably make us not want to visit Virginia beach again. I was just disappointed in this whole experience in Virginia Beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Mark from Texas

Posted May 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
Really nice place and friendly staff. Close to boardwalk and shopping. I BR unit was large and had a nice size patio. Washer & dryer make for a nice vacation too. Thanks!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by David from Round Hill, VA

Posted May 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
Staff was very friendly, and everything was clean and nice. We stayed on the back side of the hotel that backed up to a very busy road with a lot of traffic noise. Thought checkout was later than 10am and were a little late leaving and the cleaning staff, called to see if we were checking out that day, and we confirmed that we were, and would be out in 40 minutes. They then knocked on our door 15 minutes later. Kind of spoiled the nice time we had. I am sure they had other rooms to clean, and our slight overstay should have been trivial, but I really felt like they were kicking us out. I would definitely stay there again though, but would request a room on the side or front of the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

sleeping issues

Posted May 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
Sleeping was an issue with the boardwalk type hallways, suitcases and luggage carriers moving around hotel at all hours, sound was very annoying Pool area was fantastic !!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by erika from ohio

CLEAN, RELAXING, FRIENDLY STAFF!!!

Posted May 17, 2014
My family and I have never been to Virginia beach. So we were skeptical about the hotel. Let me just say we were so impressed!!!!! The hotel was like an apartment!!! Had everything we needed! The staff was amazing! The maintenance was constantly keepin up the place and pool!!! We will def be back!!!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A little piece of paradise in Virginia Beach

Posted May 14, 2014
My family and I decided to head to VA Beach for a mini-vacation for Mothers Day weekend combined with the Monster Truck show on the beach for the children. We decided to stay at Turtle Cay Resort because the pictures were so appealing and the place looked beautiful combined with a prime location that was close to the boardwalk and the monster truck attractions. When we arrived the woman CiCi at the front desk was very pleasant and helpful. Once we found our parking spot, conveniently located under our room, we made our way to our 1 bedroom king suite. It was gorgeous!! The place was absolutely beautiful, smelled nice and clean, and was modernly decorated. Our room, along with most of the other rooms, had a nice sized private balcony that over looked the courtyard/pool area/tropical oasis that was in the center. When we awoke in the morning we ate breakfast at their resort restaurant Mahi Mahs which is located directly across the street under the Ramada. We came back and headed down to the pools. There are 2 pools and 2 spas and all 4 were very enjoyable. We laid out on the comfortable lounge chairs and got time to relax while the kids played in the pools and waterfalls all day! It was great! The next day was Mothers Day and originally we were supposed to check out by 10 but Kris at the front desk was so accommodating that he allowed us to stay later at no extra charge so we could enjoy the rest of our day in the their tropical oasis! We will definitely be back:)
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Katrina from New York

Loved it!

Posted Apr 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
My girlfriend and I went for her birthday weekend. It was awesome! My only complaint is that we arrived at 7 am and they said we couldnt check in until 4 pm. However a room became available and we were checked in around 11am. Other than that every thing was excellent. Room was a dream. Service great! Environment was great!