Ratings based on 509 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Canada

Decent hotel close to the airport.

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: Appearance. Cleanliness of room. Staff. Amenities - pool, workout centre, free wi-fi.
Cons: Mentioned above.
Location: Very close to airport. Within 15 min. of beach. Malls nearby.
Impressed with friendliness, helpfulness of staff, check-in/out process. Room clean. Air conditioner noisy. Door knob on room closet almost torn off. Hall carpets on fourth floor need steam cleaning. Nice steak house very nearby.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Richmond VA

Convenient to the Norfolk, Va Beach areas.

Posted Jul 5, 2014
Pros: The free breakfast, and the location.
Cons: The pool water looked a little dirty.
Location: Located close to VA. Beach and Norfolk areas. Plenty of nice restaurants and beaches to enjoy.
My stay was a wonderful experience. There was absolutely no disturbance during the night with loudness from other guest. A very well run hotel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts

The hotel overall was dirty.

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Needed to be moved from original rooms due to ripped rugs and missing piece in one of the counter tops and cigarette smell. All mattress completely worn. Laundry room was a closet and pool was full of human hair and dirt as if filter was not working. Manager said place was owned by a family when asked about the conditions. Under construction but not a single sign apologizing got their appearance.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fredericksburg, VA

Nice place to lay your head.

Posted Jun 28, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff.
Location: If you are visiting Virginia Wesleyan is down the street. The ocean front for Virginia beach is about 30 minutes away as is Sandbridge .
The hotel is currently at the end of a renovation with some work that needs to be completed. The room was comfortable and nicely appointed for the level of hotel. The breakfast was good and the attendant was friendly and was attentive to make sure the food was fresh. Our room was on the ground level near the laundry which was surprisingly quiet. The housekeeping staff was very friendly and helpful when asked questions about the area. The only surprise was our room was handicap accessible which the front desk staff told us that it was what Expedia booked, make sure you contact the hotel if you have specific requests/needs for your stay and room location.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Friendly staff, terrible new look

Posted Jun 19, 2014
Pros: Staff, good breakfast.
Cons: Interior design.
Location: No good restaurants in walking distance.
Friendly staff, clean room. However, the new redesign on the floor we stayed on almost made me sick as I walked down the hallway. I seriously got dizzy and nauseated each time I was in the hallway. Excellent new comforter and pillows though. Shuttle wasn't running to the airport the night of arrival, but we were reimbursed for our cab promptly, and had no issues with airport shuttle on departure. The hotel is not listed on the list at the airport information kiosk with built in phone and made contacting the hotel difficult. Make sure you bring the hotel's local phone number, and perhaps arrange the shuttle in advance.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by linda from pa

great hotel

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Pros: grandson loved the waffles and the pool
Cons: not much -- some worn carpet in some rooms
very nice continental breakfast. pleasant staff. nice pool. quiet rooms
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Overall our stay was pleasant enough- but since we were gone all day and only slept there I cannot rate any of the amenities. I did see folks using the fitness room, and the hotel seemed busy. The indoor pool was only open during hours that we were gone. However, I did not hear any complaints. Breakfast was adequate, though not fancy. The morning front desk clerk was very nice and helped us arrange to stay an extra night at a reasonable rate. Other employees were available but did not interact. Hotel being at least partially remodeled, so that should take care of some of the other issues.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by P from VT

Perfect location and nice hotel!

Posted May 31, 2014
Pros: Clean, location, friendly staff
Cons: workout room was closed
Location: Norfolk Zoo, Beach
Stayed six nights to attend local college graduation-perfect location. Nice clean room and new décor!
3 out of 5
by Troy from Elizabeth City

Under construction!

Posted May 28, 2014
Pros: The bed and the person checking me in.
Cons: Being able to secure the entry door. The price of the room since the place is under rehab!!
Location: Not bad location but kind of hard to get to from 64, (have to make a U-turn when you get on North Hampton). Airport is not right next door, though.
It bothered me that the door was not very secure. No chain or dead bolt, so the electronic lock was all you had for a lock. And that was falling apart, you know, like they were going to come back and finish putting it back together but never did (loose screws). The bathroom looked like it needed some help. For $100.00 a night, just thought it would have been better than that! Having said that, the bed was very comfortable. The person checking me in was good people.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Massillon, oh

Clean

Posted May 26, 2014
The place was clean. had no issues, was pretty close to the beach. only issue I had, was the lady at the front desk was pretty rude when we checked in.