Ratings based on 482 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing stay. Not worth the room rate.

Posted May 11, 2015
Pros: Bed is ok
Cons: Service and the bathroom
Location: location is ok, near restaurants but no view
Receptionist are not friendly nor helpful either. Bathroom was not good. Water spout in the shower was not attached properly to the wall and you have to push it up against the wall to switch it to the overhead shower. The restaurant did not have items written on the menu.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beds, had two doubles

Posted Apr 30, 2015
One bed very firm, uncomfortable. Sleep mumber does not work. After two nights i tried other bed. Much better
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom VA

Only good thing, across the street from Scope.

Posted Apr 27, 2015
Pros: The waitress in Black Tuna was the only bright side. A real go getter with a positive attitude.
Cons: Increase your standards in all areas i.e. staff, cleanliness, appearance.
Location: Scope is directly across the street, many wonderful restaurants nearby, and Macarthur Mall is close.
Registration desk employee was not real friendly and he did not have a professional appearance. Walls in room patched and not repainted. Carpeting coming up from the floor. Mirrors washed with dirty water. Good thing sheets were clean and no bed bugs. Hallways smelled. Only one employee in the Black Tuna Bar and Grill. She was the waitress, bartender, and bus boy.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

satisfactory

Posted Apr 16, 2015
Staff is very nice but despite renovations, the hotel has an unpleasant smell inside. Phone in room didn't work correctly, and I received wake up calls at 5:30 am each day despite not requesting them and complaining after 1st night. Dim lights in room.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location, needs major update

Posted Mar 20, 2015
This independent hotel recently became part of the Wyndham group - I hope they have a bunch of money to invest, because this place needs it! The desk staff was nice, but super-casual about his job. The lobby decor is weird, the room had a deadbolt lock that allowed the door to be opened slightly - you could see in. Great location right across the street from the Scope arena in Norfolk, so should be totally booked, but wasn't - now I know why.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Maine

Give Wyndham a chance!

Posted Mar 17, 2015
Pros: Staff, restaurant, room condition, and proximity to downtown Norfolk venues.
Cons: Signage, interior lighting, ADA access from parking lot. Again, Wyndham is new to this hotel and I'm sure they'll correct and "Wyndham-ize" it.
Location: A short walk to everything: restaurants, shopping, transit.
Wyndham has only had this hotel under its banner for about one month. Previously, it was not part of any chain. This likely explains any negatives we had, e.g., no large lit signage (arriving at night, we drove right by it!), dark-ish lobbies, e.g., main lobby, elevator lobby, due to intended dark lighting and dark wallpaper. The parking lot requires walking up approximately a 30-step staircase. Anyone mobility-impaired would have to walk around to the front of the building to access the long, curving ramp to reach the lobby level.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Julia

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 24, 2015 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not worth the price

Posted Feb 22, 2015
The staff tried their best to make a bad situation better. From the sink being clogged and the lack of hot water to the jet engine that acted as the heating unit and the elevators literally shaking the room, the facility was not in good shape. The only redeeming quality was the staff was quit friendly and made their best efforts to be hospitable.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Edwardfrom MA

Ice cold lobby

Posted Feb 19, 2015 on Hotels.com
No heat in the lobby, restaurant or hallways in the middle of winter!!! 3 problems with the room which were not fixed: 1.) drawers on dresser always open because dresser was tilted forwards 2.) sink drain plugged 3.) shower curtain collected in the middle, no way to keep water going out the edge My parents room had no heat but they were moved to a new room which had heat
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by bradleefrom chesapeake

great weekend when we werent in the hotel

Posted Feb 18, 2015 on Hotels.com
The sleep number didn't work, and the ceiling was decaying. Parking is 10.00 a day not just for the duration of your stay. The location is great in Norfolk tho.