Ratings based on 469 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

satisfactory

Posted Apr 16, 2015
Staff is very nice but despite renovations, the hotel has an unpleasant smell inside. Phone in room didn't work correctly, and I received wake up calls at 5:30 am each day despite not requesting them and complaining after 1st night. Dim lights in room.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location, needs major update

Posted Mar 20, 2015
This independent hotel recently became part of the Wyndham group - I hope they have a bunch of money to invest, because this place needs it! The desk staff was nice, but super-casual about his job. The lobby decor is weird, the room had a deadbolt lock that allowed the door to be opened slightly - you could see in. Great location right across the street from the Scope arena in Norfolk, so should be totally booked, but wasn't - now I know why.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Maine

Give Wyndham a chance!

Posted Mar 17, 2015
Pros: Staff, restaurant, room condition, and proximity to downtown Norfolk venues.
Cons: Signage, interior lighting, ADA access from parking lot. Again, Wyndham is new to this hotel and I'm sure they'll correct and "Wyndham-ize" it.
Location: A short walk to everything: restaurants, shopping, transit.
Wyndham has only had this hotel under its banner for about one month. Previously, it was not part of any chain. This likely explains any negatives we had, e.g., no large lit signage (arriving at night, we drove right by it!), dark-ish lobbies, e.g., main lobby, elevator lobby, due to intended dark lighting and dark wallpaper. The parking lot requires walking up approximately a 30-step staircase. Anyone mobility-impaired would have to walk around to the front of the building to access the long, curving ramp to reach the lobby level.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not worth the price

Posted Feb 22, 2015
The staff tried their best to make a bad situation better. From the sink being clogged and the lack of hot water to the jet engine that acted as the heating unit and the elevators literally shaking the room, the facility was not in good shape. The only redeeming quality was the staff was quit friendly and made their best efforts to be hospitable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 10, 2015
Seems to have improved since the name changed from the Norfolk plaza hotel. Toiletries are of better quality as well.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom charlottesville

Beautiful but awful room

Posted Feb 5, 2015
Pros: It was extremely clean and the decor was fun and very nice.
Cons: The black and white decor is cool, but could use a punch of color to warm it up.
Location: We went to the commodore theatre in Portsmouth and it was wonderful. We came for surgery at Bon Secours Hospital in Norfolk
We were told that we were the lucky guest of the day. This meant we were upgraded to a King Suite. How cool is that? At 11:00 p.m. We complained about the noises buzz and humm that made it impossible to sleep. Housekeeping admitted our room sat on top of a transformer and it was always noisy. I come to Norfolk to see my doctor and need to sleep! They gave us a new room. The hotel wasn't full! Why did they "upgrade" us to a terrible room? I thought I was treating us to a special night and paid more than I needed to. . . and instead, we were sooooo disappointed. Virginia Schweninger
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by jimfrom Dade City fl

Beware

Posted Jan 17, 2015 on Hotels.com
Not worth the money... I got to my room that had no room number on it, with a door that was broken, just to be surprised by a broken heater..not one for writing bad reviews, but this place was just about as nasty as the attitude's of the employees..
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 15, 2015 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 13, 2015 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 8, 2015
Very old hotel with a "face lift". Rooms were dark and dingy. No information in the room on how anything works. A/C - heat was a very old unit and smelled when it came on. Staff was nice. Don't expect anything special when staying here except for a sleep number bed which is a mystery on how to use until you call the front desk and they explain.