Ratings based on 31 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Louisefrom Swindon

Old Wainhouse

Posted Oct 31, 2014 on Hotels.com
Service was a bit hit and miss. Food not fantastic in the evening but lovely breakfast. Our rooms were clean and comfortable but the overall condition of the building was a bit tired and grubby.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Arne Josteinfrom Foerde, Norway

NIce place without soundproof walls

Posted Oct 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
We had booked double bed and got two single beds. Room and bathroom okay. Service at arrival was quite good. Dinner and breakfast okay. Service "disappeared" when we were about to pay for the dinner (at departure, as advised by the receptionist in the evening), as we couldn't find the chef who was the only person around before we were ready to leave. Just one minute before I had written a note to leave With my e-mail address, to which I asked them to send the invoice for Our dinner, the chef appeared and I was able to pay. The worst thing is that there are no sound-proof walls. IN Our room we could hear People talking an dlaughing in the bar downstairs, until the bar closed. Then one of the guests invited a couple of other guests to his room (number 1, while we were in number 2), and they talked and laughed - which we could hear relly well (even if the talking and laughing appeared to be fairly "modest" - no bad party noise). Quite late in the night the guest(s) left room number 1 and walked to their own room (number 3), from where we could hear the guest(s) washing and brushing teeth in the bathroom. And we could clearly hear the automatic fans in the bathrooms om both neighbor rooms. Needless to say, we didn't sleep until well after 1:30 that night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Andersfrom Kolding

Excellent service

Posted Oct 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
Good hotel - with excellent service
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Linda Stepneyfrom Whitchurch, Hampshire

Great location

Posted Sep 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
We loved our stay at The Old Wainhouse. It was ideal for us as we were visiting a dear friend in the neighbouring village of Jacobstow. During our stay we visited several nearby places including Boscastle, Crackington Haven and Bideford. Our room was great and the people very friendly. Breakfast was lovely and my husband especially enjoyed the Full English!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Surrey

Nice B&B close to lots of lovely beaches

Posted Sep 1, 2014
It was a lovely stay, the breakfast was delicious and definitely more than enough :) We were slightly worried about it being situated on the main road, however we slept very well and were pleasantly surprised at how quiet it was. We would definitely recommend the old wainhouse to others.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Theresafrom Somerset

A Friendly hotel

Posted Aug 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very welcoming. Cheerful friendly service
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

Superb

Posted Aug 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
Stayed at the Wainhouse for one night. Staff were attentive yet not overbearing. Dealt with one minor miscommunication instantly. Room was smart and clean. Comfortable bed and excellent en-suite. Breakfast was easily one of the best we have ever had.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom west Midlands

Good location for coastal walks

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Excellent friendly staff who made you feel well looked after. Food both in a morning and evening was excellent. It was also nice to drink with locals in the bar who made me feel very welcome. Will definitely go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Jack Johnsonfrom Norway

A hidden gem in Devon

Posted Aug 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
This was a real treat to stay here. The rooms were very nice and comfortable and the breakfast was great. I had the ribs for dinner and were very tasty. You are about 10 miles from Tintagel. The staff was very helpful in telling us places to visit.