Ratings based on 820 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stay only 1 night

Posted Sep 21, 2014
Pros: The view from the restaurant and the partial view would have been ok BUT Shilo get with the program!
Cons: Call in undercover Boss show you need help!
Location: Lots to do and nice places to eat
The room was very dirty which we would not have noticed BUT after not even getting a bed made or clean dishes and clean towels placed on the bed, not put away we noticed!! The ceiling fan coated in dust was the first thing my husband noticed. The fan blew on top of the bed as it was really hot in there no air conditioning and extremely poor air flow. At 179 a night sorry but we expect more. Perhaps I am use to more in everyday life BUT we do not want others to have to settle for this gross neglect! Enough said CEO of Shilo stay a night at a queen loft view see what you think. Just glad we were not there any longer!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tempe, AZ

Posted Sep 19, 2014
The room was tiny and the walls are paper thin. Bed was uncomfortable. Doesn't look like the pictures at all. It is super convenient for shopping and has great access to the beach. Overall it was overpriced for the room we had. The pool is open 24 hours so that is a plus.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from oregon

Needs a little work

Posted Sep 16, 2014
The staff was helpful and friendly. The exterior needs a little work, paint and rust removal. The room was not as clean as would be reasonably expected and was pointed out to the housekeeping assistant manager. He said they had cut back on housekeeping staff. The bed showed it's age, I guess their remodeling this winter. The restaurant, pool, spa tub, sauna, and steam room were all nice, no complaints. I will stay again because of the location and view. I hope the remodel takes care of the small issues.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from S

No air, cramped quarters

Posted Sep 15, 2014
The room was overly hot, we had to ask for a fan and extension cord, and still it wasn't bareable. For the cost of a nightly stay with no view and no privacy, I am very disappointed.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, Washington

Beautiful Days on the Beach!

Posted Sep 14, 2014
Pros: Location, Location, Location
Cons: Have the continental breakfast. We stayed here before and really thought that it was great!
Location: So much to do, walk the beach, fly kites, play frisbee and just check out the town.
Overall it's a great place to stay however at this time they don't have a continental breakfast which was marked off when we searched for a hotel. Disappointed about that but they gave us a free drink coupon so that was cool.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Or

Good time

Posted Sep 12, 2014
We had a great experience staying here and would most definetly do it again. Love that it was right on the beach. We went and walked for hours out on the beach collecting shells. Also enjoyed that the arcade and shops were down the street. The restaurant located in the hotel was very nice and had great food. I would not recommend ordering room service. It takes a while and the guy forgot the silverware. Took him a while to get back with the silverware. Our food by then was on the cool end. :/ other then that everything was great.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

No air-conditioning!

Posted Sep 11, 2014
Pros: Location.
Cons: Did I mention air-conditioning?
Location: The ocean and lots of small shops.
Still no air-conditioning. A room with a obstructed view of the parking! The room was OK but small. The furniture and TV very old and dated.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland Or.

Rod and Custom Show

Posted Sep 9, 2014
Pros: ocean front
Cons: it is a fine place to stay.
Location: ocean front close to all of Seaside.
Nice weather and nice ocean view room nice dinning room and close for shopping.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location-but no A/C in the room!

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: Great location right on the beach!
Cons: Please put some sort of air conditioning in the rooms!
Location: Right by the beach and all the shops in town. Walking distance to most everything.
First time visit to Seaside and we had an excellent time! The Shilo Inn is a great location right on the beach and walking distance to pretty much everything. The staff was very friendly and hotel and our room were clean. Our only complaint was no air conditioning and we were provided only a small fan in our room. We asked for an additional fan and was told there were no extras. We stayed on a very warm Labor Day weekend and it was quite muggy so that was the only downside of our trip. We would stay there again - and bring our own fans along.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

You get what you pay for

Posted Sep 7, 2014
If you want oceanfront and don't want to pay the $$$, stay at the Shilo Inn. It was less than $100 a night but the rooms were tiny and outdated by 20-30 years. Furniture, TV, bed was all very old smelling and felt somewhat dirty, although it wasn't, it just felt that way. It was fine to sleep and then get up and go out but I wouldn't do more here. The only thing I did enjoy taking advantage of was the steam room and sauna.