Ratings based on 744 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

4 day weekend

Posted Apr 11, 2014
Pros: centrally located, right on beach, safe and fun
Location: walked to diner, short drive to coffee shops, resturants and clubs
great location, friendly staff, indoor and outdoor dining, outdoor live music each day, great beach accessories
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Quite part of beach, small and dated rooms

Posted Apr 11, 2014
Friendly staff, nice beach. Rooms were very small and dated. I expected more from a doubletree.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel

Posted Apr 4, 2014
Staff at this hotel are very friendly and show they care. Everyone acknowledged and tried to help. Excellent restaurant, great beach and beach chairs. We will be back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Brenda from Portage, Ohio

Room with a view of the beach.

Posted Apr 2, 2014
Pros: It was so convenient with the pool, ocean and hotel restaurant all right there. You can walk to restaurants and shopping.
Location: The location was great. We were between Clearwater Beach and St. Petersburg and many many things to do.
We stayed at the Double Tree from Thursday to Tuesday on the second floor with an ocean view, it was wonderful. The weather was perfect. We slept with the patio door open, hearing the ocean all night was so relaxing. We would definitely stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by CountryGirl from NB, Canada

Nice beach

Posted Mar 29, 2014
First of all we only stayed one night as we were driving through. The hotel is very nice and staff as well. Very nice pool and bar. Beach was amazing. The only complaint, i asked for a wine glass and was given one with lipstick on it. That grossed me out. I decided to drinknit with a plastic cup! Other than that, bed and pillows were very comfortable!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by kristina from Orlando, FL

Nice hotel, right on the beach

Posted Mar 23, 2014
We enjoyed our stay. The beach was beautiful. Pool was nice, a little small, but clean. Staff was very friendly.
2 out of 5
by wg from Mobile, AL

What happened to the Doubletree brand?

Posted Mar 17, 2014
I stayed here for one night since it was somewhat lass expensive than the hotels in town and it sits right on the beach. This place looks like vacation resort 1993 vintage. The staff was pretty helpful and the room was fairly clean. Overall the property needs updating. Badly. One bright spot: they know how to make a decent Cuban sandwich.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing arrival/reception

Posted Mar 16, 2014
Pros: We loved the beachfront views, tiki bar and the dining areas.
Cons: A hot tub and an exercise room should be implemented
Location: So-so, could use a few more local restaurants,, within walking distance would be nice
We returned to this hotel for a second stay only to find the staff was less than pleasant on arrival. The woman at the reception desk was borderline rude. After traveling for 2 days by car, our room was not ready at 3pm. Are you kidding me???? We were denied honors because of booking through Expedia (who knew?) and then she tried to put us in a room on the second floor with the balcony overlooking the thatched roof of the tiki bar. I felt this was ridiculous for the amount of money the room was costing. A very nice/helpful man changed our room and floor, for which I was thankful. However, this initial contact has totally soured us (as well as friends/family) from ever staying there again. The beach is packed with hotel options and we will certainly be giving another business our business next spring.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Chris from Oswego, NY

Nice balcony room overlooking beach and pool area

Posted Feb 21, 2014
Pros: It was very clean and friendly. Located in a good place along the beach area. Very good breakfast buffet.
Cons: We were generally happy with what we had.
Location: Liked location, beaches, pool. Lots of good places to eat.
Stayed at motel for three nights. Room was clean and roomy. Enjoyed the free cookies each day/night we were there. The pool was nice, but enjoyed the beach area and being able to walk as far as we wanted in either direction.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by wife

Spend a week end on the beach

Posted Feb 3, 2014
Relaxing. Pool was enjoyable. Mango restaurant was relaxing. Food wAs good.