Ratings based on 41 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Exceptional New England Coastal Experience!

Posted Oct 16, 2014
Pros: We liked the location, facilities, breakfast and the friendly staff.
Cons: Nothing to suggest to improve.
Location: The property is 10 minutes to Gloucester and 20 minutes to Rockport. Both location offer many New England vacation experiences.
Bass Rocks Ocean Inn was an amazing vacation experience. The view from the hotel was first class and includes a prefect location to view the sun rise over the ocean. The main house was very inviting and the staff were focused on ensuring each guest had a wonderful experience. The breakfast was very generous and the view from the dining area over looked the sea and the rocky coastline. The fire pit and comfortable seating was the perfect location for guests to relax and get to know each other at the end of the day. My wife, daughter and I would highly recommend this property!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ms

Great location

Posted Oct 15, 2014
Great view and nice walk along beach. Good breakfast. Staff at desk helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Plainville, MA.

Beautiful

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Pros: The BEST thing about this hotel is the King Sz. Bed and so fluffy giant pillows. The outdoor pool is beautiful. The view is to die for!
Cons: Our 1 complaint is our view. Our rm. was on the first fl. with a view of the side lawn and neighbor. BIG disappointment. Could not leave slider open.
Location: My "bucket list" had The crow's nest bar on it. Loved going there and seeing the history of "The Perfect Storm. Shopping, restaurants, etc. all there!
Jim & I are celebrating our 20th anniversary this month and chose to visit Glouster Ma. as our get-away. Bass Rocks is in a great location; next to the ELKS and right on the Ocean. We had a Marvelous time!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Bracknell, England

Comfortable ocean-side hotel

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: Comfortable.
Location: Cape Ann peninsula is a pleasant location, with pretty Rockport nearby. Lighthouse at end of point can be visited despite signage
We spent 3 nights at Gloucester, meeting with old friends from Virginia, and we felt well-looked after by friendly staff.. It was more expensive than we would have liked, but as it was still peak season, that was perhaps to be expected.. Breakfast at that room-price could be more enterprising.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Peterborough, Ontario

Fabulous Facility!

Posted Aug 8, 2014
We really enjoyed our one night stay in Gloucester at Bass Rocks. Upon arrival we were warmly welcomed and encouraged to enjoy freshly baked cookies and a cup of coffee in their cozy and scenic seating area as we planned our visit. It was difficult to choose where to eat and there were many local restaurants nearby. Afterwards, there were DVD's to borrow, a wonderfully heated pool and a large hot tub to soak in, as well as a gas fire pit area to relax around. It was lovely to have an ocean view room on the main floor right near the pool, a great place to sit in the evening while we viewed the most splendid rainbow! Our king size bed was very comfortable, and it really wasn't a problem having a small washroom. With a checkout time of 12 noon we were able to fully enjoy the next morning, after a delicious breakfast with warm blueberry muffins, toast, cereal and fresh fruit. We had perfect weather for a long bike ride to view the rocky coast, lighthouse, artists village and ocean side mansions. The staff were exceptionally friendly and we did not feel rushed to leave. We were very sorry we had only reserved one night, and couldn't stay longer, as the inn was fully booked...no surprise there! We will be back again!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bathroom is so small you can't change your mind.

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Pros: The view.
Cons: New mattress, better towels.
Nice room, but they need new mattresses. Table is too high for the chairs. You feel like you are 6 again. Breakfast was only fair, though amp[le.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 2, 2014
Pros: The location, the staff, the cleanliness and the lobby was charming.
Cons: Need a restaurant or bar. Walls too thin between the rooms.
Location: Nice restaurants not too far from hotel. Walk or ride bikes along the ocean. Play golf.
Walls were too thin, Heard our neighbors late into the night and then they woke us up the next morning. The setting is so beautiful but something needs to be done about the thin walls.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indianapolis, IN

Beautiful view.

Posted Jul 31, 2014
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Can't think of a thing.
Location: Location was perfect. We were within a few minutes of many resturants. The area was nice for taking walks. The view was fantastic.
We couldn't have asked for a better view from our room and patio. The grounds of the hotel were beautiful. The people there were friendly and willing to do anything for you. Loved the attention that we received at breakfast and any time we went to the main house (lobby).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sacramento, CA

Terrific staff

Posted Jul 31, 2014
Pros: Breakfast had lots of variety. The views from our room and from the dining area were beautiful. I loved the benches provided overlooking the ocean.
Location: Be sure to travel down Rte 127 to Manchester-by-the-Sea! Park by the train station and walk up to Singing Beach, while walking by beautiful mansions.
When my sister found herself in poison ivy further down the beach, we came back to the room to ditch her clothes and scrub her down. The maid who was cleaning the next room provided us with plastic bags for the contaminated clothing, and checked in on my sister numerous times to see if she was okay. That extra personal touch really impressed us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oh

Great Beach View

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Cons: update rooms. Bathroom way to small.
Location: Visited Gloucster, Bass Rock and Messa. Great location to visit these cities.Amenities were great! Breakfast, afternoon cookies, bikes, water taxie an
Amenities were great! Breakfast, afternoon cookies, bikes, water taxie and beach view. Room was small and dated.