Ratings based on 24 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice room in a quintessential town.

Posted Feb 25, 2015
Pros: Proximity to town.
Cons: Parking
Location: Perfect!
Lovely. Too quick of a stay.Can walk to town, churches, shops and restaurants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Trenton, NS

A romantic getaway

Posted Feb 13, 2015
Pros: Food, service, room... Everything
Location: Perfect location within easy walking distance of anything in the downtown area.
It was our first time at the Garrison Inn, so we did not know what to expect. May I say that we were roundly impressed by every aspect of the service and the facility. The room was spacious and beautifully appointed, the breakfast was superb (thank you Stu), and the staff were helpful, courteous and professional. We love this little seaside town; on our next visit, we will plan to stay at the Garrison.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 11, 2015
Pros: Everything
Charming hotel, tea and chocolates on arrival in lobby with fire, fresh cooked breakfast in lovely breakfast room
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in center of town

Posted Feb 2, 2015
The hotel was beautiful and comfortable. Room was spacious and clean and the hotel staff was friendly and professional! An added perk is that there is a restaurant within the hotel that had excellent food and comfy atmosphere! I would definitely return!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom CT

Posted Jan 28, 2015
Pros: Location ... Newburyport has many place to explore,shop and dine. This Hotel is located in the perfect area.
Cons: They have a very nice assortment of tea cups and teas. An assortment of Garrison Inn mugs for their wonderful coffee would be a nice addition.
The breakfast that is served is delightful. All cooked to order and a huge variety of choices.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NH

Beautiful unique inn!

Posted Jan 21, 2015
The Garrison is a comfortable inn which reminds me of Europe. When you enter the lobby, you notice the quaint decorative touches. The rooms are distinctive, so you don't feel like you're in a boring chain hotel. The rooms are also equipped with wine and water glasses, ice bucket, and corkscrew- convenient touches one wouldn't expect. The staff is cheerful and helpful. I love this inn!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 13, 2015
Pros: Location and price
The staff is extremely helpful and attentive. Great restaurant on site with live entertainment.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Wonderful room, great location, small/old bathroom

Posted Jan 12, 2015
Pros: Room was large Location convenient Free breakfast was very good
Cons: Bathroom was dated and cramped Bathroom fan was loud and annoying
My wife and I had a nice Friday night stay in January 2015 at the Garrison Hotel. We paid $120 plus tax for a nice corner room. The hotel's location is very convenient, can walk everywhere in town in just a few minutes. Parking behind the hotel was very easy and convenient. The room was big, pretty, clean, and the king bed was very comfy. It felt like the bedroom had been renovated and everything in it was new. One annoying thing about the room was the heating system, which runs with a loud fan and turns on every hour or two during the night while you're sleeping. It woke me up once. The other complaint about the room was the bathroom looked like it had not been renovated, was very small, and all the fixtures (i.e. tub/shower, sink) were pretty old. The other annoying thing about the bathroom is the very loud fan turns turns on automatically when you turn on the bathroom light and runs the entire time you're in the bathroom -- it's loud. The free made-to-order breakfast was very good and easy. The "gym & fitness center" listed on Expedia is not in the hotel, though. It's at the YMCA, which is a short walk from the hotel. Not a big deal, but a hassle if it's cold out and you didn't bring any sweatpants to walk to the YMCA.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quaint hotel in great location

Posted Jan 4, 2015
Pros: Quaint establishment with lots of history. The evening tea service was a nice touch. Complementary breakfast was made to order and outstanding.
Location: It was centrally located in downtown Newburyport.
Booked this hotel last minute through Expedia and am so glad I did. It exceeded my expectations in every way.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 29, 2014
Pros: One of kind inn experience. Great location. Helpful staff. Very comfortable room and amenities. Highly recommend.
My wife and I stayed with our one-year old and were very comfortable.