Ratings based on 12 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from pittsfield ma

Great weekend in Newburyport, Ma.

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Pros: We very impressed with the Garrison Inn. The room was large and clean.
Cons: Everything was top notch! Keep up the excellent job.
Location: Newburyport, Ma was a quint New England town with cobblestone walkways. Multiple restaurants all with excellent ratings, beach nearby. Great area!
We had a wonderful time in Newburyport, MA. The Garrison Inn was a delightful surprise! Excellent staff, room clean, large and very comfortable. They served breakfast made to order! Yumm !! Newburyport was unquestionably Beautiful. We can't wait to return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Wonderful relaxed very clean hotel and we could bring our dog with us. Nice breakfast and walking distance to the harbor. I am loooking forward to another visit soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Montreal

excellent !

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Pros: the room was big enough to put a baby bed in it !
Location: in the center of newburyport, yet very quiet
We stayed one night there with our toddler. We enjoyed our stay : close to everything, very clean, large rooms, and very nice hotel staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful small cozy hotel

Posted Jul 14, 2014
My fiance and I went here for a last minute weekend trip, the staff was so welcoming and the hotel very clean and cozy. The ONLY disappointment was the bathroom in our room (mind you we booked last minute so we had one of the lower priced smaller rooms) it was very small and looked very dated. The knobs on the sink didn't work very well and were installed wrong. Other than that we loved our stay and are looking to return again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jeff from New Hampshire

Nice in-town hotel in a classic brick building

Posted Apr 29, 2014
Pros: Classic features, room appearance and cleanliness, the attachment to a tavern and restaurant downstairs.
Cons: Perhaps more hooks in the bathroom for hanging wet towels, as the only one had robes hanging on it. A little larger fridge if possible.
Location: Right in-town, easy to walk to shops, restaurants, the pier. Short driving distance to the beach and Plum Island beach and conservation area.
We arrived rather late at 9pm on a Friday to an unexpectedly spacious room that was in immaculate condition. The complimentary breakfast was well done and just enough to get us to lunch. The bed was extremely comfortable and the bathroom sparkling clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mary from Maine

Very comfortable hotel in a historic seaport

Posted Aug 2, 2013
Pros: The location is excellent, our room very large and comfortable. The breakfast was outstanding and all the staff most friendly and helpful.
Cons: The bathroom could use more space to lay things and hang towels.
Location: Central location in town but quiet, with everything nearby. We enjoyed the boardwalk along the Merrimac River and the interesting Maritime Museum.
My husband and I stopped in Newburyport for one night to visit the town. It turned out to be Yankee Homecoming Week, with all kinds of street vendors, concerts, arts and crafts etc., so the town was busy but very enjoyable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Unbelievable

Posted Mar 25, 2013
Pros: Complimentary Breakfast, walking distance to downtown, the ambiance and character of the rooms!
Cons: Nothing!
Location: Amazing!!!
This hotel was AMAZING! Such character and charm! Staff was very helpful and accommodating. The room was so charming and unique, the bed was extremely comfortable and the room was very spacious! There were a lot of extra pillows in the closet, bathrobe, extra seating, and lots of mirrors in both the bathroom and bedroom They offer a complimentary breakfast with so many choice of eggs made to order. Breakfast was delicious, and the cook was both entertaining and charming! The whole hotel had this old fashioned timeless feeling! It was also walking distance to all of downtown Newburyport , which was great, even In the winter! I will absolutely stay here again, and have already recommended it to a few friends! I highly recommend this hotel. You WON'T be disappointed!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ron from Hudson, MA, USA

good stay

Posted Dec 10, 2012
Pros: nice decor
Cons: nothing bad to say
Location: great location, walk to everything
Nice room for the money, quiet, good restaurant downstairs, within walking distance to everything. Will return for another stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Great hotel for business traveler or couple.

Posted Oct 5, 2012
Pros: Room decor was simple but elegant and was spacious. Nice place to hang out and enjoy glass of wine before dinner.
Location: Excellent location.
Very central and convenient location to central Newburyport downtown. My room eas very stylishly decorated and spacious. Staff was friendly and knowledgeable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Falmouth, MA

Excellent place to stay!

Posted Nov 13, 2011
We loved the Garrison Inn--great combination of old world and modern. Excellent service, immaculate rooms and we especially loved the complementary breakfast the next morning. Our experience at the Garrison Inn exceeded our expectations!