Ratings based on 26 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from south wales

could be better

Posted Oct 16, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: service in rooms could be better eg. change towels
Location: good location.plenty to do
hotel is in good location.breakfast was ok.we were there for 4 nights,but the towels were never changed and the bed was never properly made.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Macclesfield

Pleasant hotel, with easy access to town centre

Posted Oct 7, 2014
Pros: Its quiet friendly and easy to book
Cons: It is what it is ....small and comfy.
Location: Hotel is close to sea front, pier and centre of town which in turn hosts many good restaurants and public houses.
Booked on last minute.Have stayed there before. Clean hotel with good staff. Lacks a good bar area and in its place is an honesty bar which lacks atmosphere. Still there is a good pub across the road where you can have your late night drink if so desired. Town centre no more than 5 minutes walk away and sea front and pier just across the road. The breakfast is cooked well, hot but average. You can have as much tea and coffee as you like. For the price we could have stayed in a larger hotel with better facilities but for the odd night or two it suffices. Parking presents a problem during the season although you can park outside on the road at night and I believe there are 2/3 places at back of hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Shropshire

Posted Jul 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
Excellent food, cleanliness of a high standard. Several steps up to the entrance. In the family room on the top floor, which was hard work with a toddler, otherwise it was great!
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Annette from USA

Conditions To Consider when Booking

Posted Jul 10, 2013 on Hotels.com
Older Victorian Hotel with 4 to 5 floors, no elevator/lift-need to consider when walking up the stairs with luggage, upper floor two rooms quite noisy due to birds on rooftop, and both upper floor two rooms have slanted ceilings-need to consider when walking around room. Both shower door broken and window blinds not working but were fixed next day. Otherwise, cleanliness was ok. Quality of service was poor overall. Breakfast was good as well as the Italian Restaurant located downstairs of Hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Aurimas from Ipswich

Posted Jun 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
Friendly service, nice rooms, very good location
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Delgado from Milton Keynes

Disappointed

Posted Jun 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very disappointed. From the write up expected offstreet parking, but parking was in the street, very limited, and time restricted. However, hotelier was very helpful with getting me into tight spaces. Paid extra for room with sea view, but sea visible only obliquely from one corner of room. Otherwise nothing wrong with room, except that bathroom dripped with water from shower-room above. Breakfast OK, but nothing special.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very good location

Posted Jun 16, 2013
A very good Guest house trying but not quite succeeding at being a boutique hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Ali

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 10, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Rob from Cheshire

Great place for a couple

Posted Nov 4, 2012
Pros: Quiet - a good nights sleep guaranteed.
Exactly what it said on the tin! The room furniture was really quaint. Old walnut, but in lovely condition. Refreshing change from all the Ikea modernist stuff used elsewhere. Really comfortable bed, resposive heating and above all else, lovely and quiet! Wonderful powerfull shower to wake you up in the morning.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Pleasant short break

Posted Sep 2, 2012 on Hotels.com
Very friendly well mannered staff.Breakfast was very good with a good choice our 7 year old granddaughter really enjoyed her scrammbled eggs and bacon plus add ons each morning.The room we had was at the top of the house and a bit of a struggle for my wife who has mobility problems but I was at fault by not specifying the need for a lower floor room when making my booking.But that said the room/rooms were well decorated clean and both had televisions,the owners had obviously spent money on upgrading the quality of the hotel.the location is really good for the Pier,Orm rail car terminal and good eateries, and shops.Would we stay there again---yes without a doubt,it offers good value for money.