Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Noisy room

Posted Jun 30, 2015
Location: Stayed here because we wanted to see T.E. Lawrence's birthplace in the nearby town and also to play golf.
The hotel staff is very well-informed and efficient. The room we had in the "added-on" section of the hotel was disappointing. A little bit worn, and the bed moderately comfortable, but the worst part was the noise! The walls are very thin and there was constant disturbance. One of the people we were with had a room in the original part of the hotel and they did not experience that problem.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old fashioned but not quaint

Posted Jun 13, 2015
Pros: Nothing
Very small bedroomroom, inadequate shower with spray situated in the corner making it difficult to shower. Water either too hot/cold or almost no flow Constant drip of overflowing cistern in the toilet which still dripped after it was 'fixed'. Couple that with a constant droning noise from the wall adjoining the next room and it was a very unrelaxing experience. I called the night phone after 9pm to try and get is sorted, but there was no answer, twice. I would not stay there again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from Worcestersire

Friendly Hotel in the centre of the town

Posted May 15, 2015
Pros: Friendiness and warmth of the staff
Location: Centre of town and within walking distance of the narrow gauge railways
Friendly greeting at reception when we checked in, we were offered discount vouchers for the local attractions that we intended to visit. Restaurant and bar staff courteous and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Fraser from Coulsdon, Surrey

Mid week break in March

Posted Apr 4, 2015 on Hotels
Enjoyed a three day stay at the Royal Sportsman. Very good breakfast, room was fine and the bar served the excellent Purple Moose beer. Told reception that I was going on the steam trains and they gave me a 20% discount voucher. I would certainly recommend this hotel to others.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester, UK

Friendly staff and really good food.

Posted Mar 16, 2015
The rooms are okay but it's the staff and food that make this a good place to stay. Convenient location, okay parking too (but limited).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Jean from Los Angeles

Unexpectedly lovely meal

Posted Feb 24, 2015 on Hotels
Great food! Wonderful staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Review

Posted Dec 1, 2014 on Hotels
The staff were very friendly
4 out of 5
Recommended
by RE from PA

Nice place.

Posted Oct 15, 2014 on Hotels
Not much happening in town.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by D&W from Melbourne, Australia

Uncomforatable bed

Posted Oct 10, 2014 on Hotels
The hotel was good but the bed was very uncomfortable. It was a double but was squeaky, hard and when one of us moved the other almost fell out the other side (we are just average sized people). The hotel is located at one end of the street and the train is a comfortable 10 minute walk away. We ate in the restaurant the first night and the food was good but the atmosphere was lacking (this may be because there was only one other couple in there). The second night we ate in the bar and really enjoyed it. Breakfast both mornings was good with a selection of cereals, fruit, pastries and freshly cooked hot eggs etc.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Essex

A pleasant hotel to stay in, over-all

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Pros: Food and staff
Cons: The bathroom's ventilation system
Location: Very central and especially close to Portmeirion which was one of the sights we wanted to see.
Our basic double room was clean and well-furnished but a stronger ventilation system is needed in the bathroom. There was too much condensation, everything was dripping wet after a shower. Mold was beginning to form on the ceiling. The food we had at the bar was delicious. Staff were very pleasant and, fortunately, we always had a parking bay available in the hotel's private garage. We enjoyed our stay at the hotel except for the damp conditions in the bathroom.