Ratings based on 72 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chester, UK

Bakubung

Posted Aug 23, 2014
This is a really lovely lodge but unfortunately there is major building work going on at the moment near the pool by the family rooms. We were moved to a quiet block but had to pay for another room for the children because we could not all fit in to the new room. The manager gave us an excellent price after some haggling. Would highly recommend just don't stay in a family room until work complete and make sure you get a room away from proposed new Spa area when you book.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

2hr from Johannesburg

Posted May 20, 2014
Pros: Location, staff, food, bar. Tour is amazing and honestly if you are in JB for the weekend and want to see something other than a hotel room, go
Cons: N/a
We went to Bakubong Lodge from JB for the weekend. Initially we went into Sun City (next door - 5km) for a look but way to plastic for our liking. Booked online at the Sun City Gates and went to the Lodge. Lodge is inside a game reserve / national park. Price included breakfast, dinner and a safari tour. Beds comfortable, room was great, views into the bush. Staff super friendly. Food was great. Tour - we saw 4 of the big 5, and had an amazing time
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Excellent Choice for Pilanesberg

Posted Apr 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
Booking through Hotels.com was convenient and the best price we found for the resort after checking many websites. The standard room impressed us both as the furnishings, draperies and fabrics were of quality. The bathroom could be opened up to the bedroom by louvered doors if you wish. There is a separate shower and tub and the room was 'spotlessly' clean. The building we were in is 2 stories with rooms on the ground floor offering a terrace and the rooms above a balcony. We found the breakfast and dinner buffet that was included, to be very good, fresh ingredients, simple food but very tasty given the volume produced and location of the resort. We were pleased as the restaurant exceeded our expectations - no complaints. Bottom line we were happy we chose Bakubung, very much enjoyed our 3 night visit and would definitely return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Maxfrom Preston, UK

Posted Apr 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
Excellent service. Very patient staff. Nothing was too much trouble. Kids (age 6&9) particularly enjoyed the "junior rangers safari" where they went out on a game drive with a guide from Bakubung with a special emphasis on education about conservation in the park. The only (trivial) negative was the on/off wifi in the hotel. Overall superb experience for 2-3 days with children.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Excellent Hotel at a Great Price

Posted Apr 16, 2014
Did an over night stay to do an evening and morning game drive. Hotel location is perfect, right inside the Bakubung Gate to the park. Our room rate included one game drive, buffet dinner, and buffet breakfast. Those extras made a high room rate into one that was a steal. Rooms are luxurious and the staff is extremely responsive and helpful. The game guides were exceptional getting us to four of the big five. This is a very family friendly resort. Only downside to the rooms is that the buildings have thatched roofs. That means you can hear what is going on in the room next door. Overall this is an exceptional hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Game reserve break

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Very comfortable room, lodge is very well run, staff very friendly and helpful. Food is very good and varied. Game drives interesting, and although on this occasion we didn,t see lion or leopard, I have seen them in the past. Rangers were good, . I would recommend Bakubong lodge.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by NAfrom NZ

great location, committed staff

Posted Apr 8, 2014
Pros: location, excellent game drives - knowledgeable, enthusiastic rangers
Cons: Pay attention to your customers complaints - ignoring them in the hopes they won't return or notice is not good enough.
Location: excellent easily accessible game park. If you like tacky then sun city is on your door step (environmental desecration/preservation side by side!)
great stay in ideal location frequent visitor and overall excellent experience let down by the fact that i have repeatedly ( on 3 occasions now) complained about the poor and very variable WiFi service - dont plan on doing any work, you'll be sorely disappointed. I have also complained that the fast dial phones dial you through to non existent extensions and the numbers on the phones and in the information folders are all wrong. In spite of my complaints none of these issues have been addressed. Im considering some of the excellent alternative hotels in the area/park for my next visit
5 out of 5
Recommended
by diegofrom london

Posted Mar 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
perfect for exploring pilanesberg. We were unlucky with the weather and a bit dissapointed that all game drives were cancelled when we could go into the park with our own vehicle.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by shantanufrom jaipur, india

Inside Pilanesburg Park near Sun City

Posted Mar 17, 2014
Amazing food variety, great location for self drive of park or game drive. Beautiful lookout of valley. We went march 14th, weather 18-22 degree Celsius. Rooms spacious. Food one of the best. Bar also plenty stocked. Legacy group has done well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Barryfrom Düsseldorf

Perfect for luxus mini safari

Posted Mar 12, 2014
The lodge is actually a medium sized hotel but very well appointed (4 star at least). Rooms are beautiful and set in a large horse shoe pattern around a large pond / watering hole. The food is excellent and both breakfast and dinner are buffet affairs. For a traveller used to European prices the drinks are very competitively priced. Game drives are a hit and miss affair - the quality highly dependent upon both your driver and the luck of which animals you get to see. My only gripe that prevented me from awarding 5 stars was related to my room. There was an intermittent fault with the lights (fuse?) and they were unable to repair it. Having a shower, navigating an unfamiliar space not much fun I'm the prr fawn hours. Also when packing I had a long search to find my hearing aid which I did eventually under a cabinet. It had been trodden on and pushed out of the way, presumably by a maintenance guy when trying to repair the lights in the evening dusk. Disappointing. Last comment...this is ideal for a dafaro experience whilst still enjoying a pampered existence. There are more authentic lodges available if you want something more rugged.