Ratings based on 173 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very good experience

Posted Mar 30, 2015
Overall this was an excellent stay. The facilities were well appointed, although there was some construction in progress. The food was excellent, and the opportunities to visit the wildlife in the park was exceptional, and the drivers were excited to give us a great experience. The park was small but full of wonderful wildlife. The service level in the facilities was average but not exceptional. I would return to this facility and would recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Mr L Rfrom Johannesburg

Excellent getaway for the weekend hotel

Posted Feb 11, 2015 
Lovely rooms, such a bonus that the game drives are included in the rate. Excellent "getaway" for the weekend hotel. Food is outstanding
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Jenniefrom Zürich

Good quality and not far from Johannesburg

Posted Feb 10, 2015 
This was our first safari ever and we really enjoyed it. Although we spent less than 24h at the lodge we got to experience quite a lot. The safari vehicles are large (lorry size) instead of the smaller jeeps but that worked as well. My husband truly enjoyed the walking safari in the morning with Jed who is extremely knowledgeable. Pilanesberg has a lot of visitors and at times there were quite a lot of vihecles on the road but we got to see quite a few animals anyway. The hotel has nice rooms, a good pool and the buffet in the evening had a nice variety of food.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by stephenfrom Horsham

Bakubung Game Lodge

Posted Jan 25, 2015 
Really great staff.Building work which should have ended in November is still ongoing,very noisy starting at 0730-not good if you've decided not to go on the morning game drive.Obviously,rangers can be variable and we had one who wasn't that good,only really knew about big 5,no smaller animals or flora. Food was great as was wine selection. Would probably stay again if we went with friends who were on a budget,this is a mid range sort of venue but that is not a criticism.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by danifrom lebanon

family vacation

Posted Jan 9, 2015 
a perfect vacation in the middle of the reserve
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Klausfrom São Paulo

Muito melhor do que esperava!

Posted Jan 3, 2015 
Superou minha expectativa inicial mas a comida no jantar deixa um pouco a desejar. ótimas instalacoes mas os funcionários poderiam ser mais atenciosos.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Good value family holiday ...

Posted Dec 29, 2014 
2 night family holiday. Overall good experience, but started poorly with inattentive front-desk staff that kept us waiting for over 45 min to get the room ready ( well after the checki-in time. Otherwise stay was pleasant with a good dining experience. Not bad value for DBB + game-drive with kids being completely free.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Pretoria

Christmas at Bakabung (although you wouldn't know

Posted Dec 29, 2014
Pros: The rooms are nice and well serviced The game drives are good
Cons: The evening meals very disappointing Expensive for what it was
Location: Set in the beautiful countryside of Pilansberg Very close and easy access to Sun City
The positives are nice comfy room, the pool is nice, the Game Drives good, breakfast plenty of choice and good quality. and the guides informative and friendly Not so good - we went over Christmas but nothing special was laid on, evening meals were a disappointment , the same food every night and the meat always overcooked.The last game drive was in the rain and we were looking forward to the coffee stop we did stop (not sure why as we then drove straight back to the lodge) but no coffee
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by pelletier

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 29, 2014 
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 28, 2014
Absolute perfect location for ultimate safari with an ambience of a home away from home