Ratings based on 39 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Alexandra from UK

Short safari break

Posted May 6, 2014
Great hotel in fantastic location. Safari drives were great, tour guides knowledgable and we got to see lots. Only problem was the state of the roads due to recent floods - it made for a very bumpy ride! Bush braii was fantastic. Could not fault the restaurant, it was clean and the food was delicious. The on site spa was amazing and well worth the cost.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Geeks from Leicestershire, UK

Game Viewing

Posted Mar 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
A wonderful setting in the Pilanberg, ideal for game viewing and providing a relaxing base with an excellent bar and restaurant plus pools. Sun City is also very close by and well worth a visit. We took the opportunity to spend a day there chilling out at the Valley of the Waves water park. The attentive staff at Kwa Maritane made us feel like valued guests and we would be happy to return on a future trip from the UK.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Ankit

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 14, 2014
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by virginia from UK

Resort hotel in game reserve.

Posted Dec 30, 2013
Pros: Easy drive from Johannesburg (Approx 2 hours). Resort style consistency of standards. Experienced Game Drive rangers. Value for money
Cons: Larger pool areas with more sun loungers with an adults only designated quiet pool. A la carte option for dinner.
Location: N| A
When I arrived I was pleasantly surprised to see a good 4 star standard indicated by the reception area. This, being a resort style hotel,means that certain standards are met which is generally to relatively high standard. We arrived too early too check in to our room but were helpfully informed of the options available to us while we waited. We chose to have lunch, which was taken on an outside terrace overlooking the game reserve. While eating we were able to watch a variety of wild animals wondering around at a safe distance. Our room became available sooner than we expected and found it to be spacious, comfortable and clean. The bathroom was well stocked with good linen and pleasant toiletries. As we were only staying for one night we chose to do a late afternoon Game Drive which was very well organised an expertly guided. We returned for a buffet dinner. The downside for me is that I hadn't realised just how family friendly Kwa Maritane is. I prefer peace and quiet, which, given the time of year (Christmas week) was not a possibility. The two pools were busy with families noisily enjoying the water. The other issue (again, it's a personal one) is that I'm not really a fan of Buffets. I hate using sticky serving utensils that have hacked their way through containers of food and passed through countless hands before mine! And both breakfast and dinner are Buffets.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Conraft from Australia

Good Location

Posted Nov 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
Enjoyed the stay - Food was below par - all meals very average to below. Staff welcoming and friendly- Hotel looking a bit tired. Maintenance of resort below standard.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by DM from Victoria, BC

Nice Hotel

Posted Nov 21, 2013
Pros: The rooms were wonderful, and the watering hole was a pleasure to watch. The lounge was also a great place to kick back and have a drink and a snack.
Cons: Communication!
We enjoyed our stay at the Kwa Maritane. The only issues we had with our stay were minor, one being that we contacted the hotel prior to our trip and requested rooms to be close together with the friends we were travelling with, and upon check in found we were several rooms apart. We were also given rooms at the furthest extent of the property from the reception and restaurants, which is actually quite a haul especially when you are dragging your luggage. Although, I must add that our rooms were very nice, clean, and large, and had all the comforts. Finally the service in the restaurant was ok. It often took a long time to get drinks refreshed, or to get items that were requested. The meals were buffet style unless you wanted to order lunch items in the lounge, which were not always consistantly the same. If you enjoyed an item and ordered it twice, it may be a little different the second time. When we went to sign our bills for our food and drinks we often had to correct them before signing. Overall the experience was a good one, and I would recommend this hotel to other travellers. Just pay attention to your bills, and relax and enjoy the beautiful setting. The animals at the watering hole were spectacular, and almost close enough to reach out and touch, or so it felt. The Safari's were ok, but after our first safari, we opted not to take the included safari's but to self drive the rest of the time.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by barbara from victoria, BC

Pleasant but not worth a second stay

Posted Nov 21, 2013
Pros: The main buildings and pool are very nice. The surrounding grounds are gorgeous. The dinning room view is also gorgeous. The animal hide is great.
Cons: Well, difficult but restaurants and lounges closer to the hotel rooms. Hotel rooms with views. Staff that really want to help.
Location: Planesburg National park is fantastic and Sun City is something to see. Loved the beach at sun city
The food in dinning room was well-prepared and tasty. The dinning room staff were unfriendly and unhelpful. The hotel room, while beautifully appointed was just too far from the main resort.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 29, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mike from Dubai

Great location

Posted Oct 27, 2013
Pros: Friendly staff
The hotel is situated next to the Pilanesberg National Park so you have easy and quick access enabling you to immediately start your search to view the local wildlife. There are very good facilities on site and if you get bored you can always visit Sun City, just a ten minute drive away.