Ratings based on 8 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by ibrahim from baghdad

on sun city Lake

Posted Feb 5, 2014
Pros: the lake
hotel area very nice , but i did have problem that they couldnt find my booking via expedia for unknown reasons , then i did pay again by my credit card on check in. now i have to submit refund form to get back my payment after they found expedia payment on their account . ibrahim hadi , baghdad iraq
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Too pricey for bad quality room

Posted Jun 20, 2013
Pros: Buffet breakfast was good
Cons: Room had no windows
Ridiculous prices for tiny rooms with no windows! Bath needed some attention! Rather stay at one of the outside hotels and day pass at Sun City!
2 out of 5
by colin from uk

way over priced

Posted Nov 22, 2012
Pros: comfortable beds
Cons: size of room for the money paid,,,
we ended what was a delightful holiday in south africa, with a night at this hotel, was a sad end to a wonderful holiday,, we checked in at 3pm,, after a long six hour drive ,, found the room very small and basic,, not worthy of a 3 star rating and very overpriced , the resort was very quite, as soon as we went down to use the hotel pool we were told its closing, so had a drink at the open bar,, the beer was warm and flat, later in the evening we took a taxi up to the palace hotel for an evening drink, on arrival we were refused entry being told residents only, all food outlets were closed at 10.30,, we asked at the cabanas for room service and were told not available staff were unhelpful and very disinterested we finally found a very helpful waiter in the sun city hotel who told us if we order a drink there in the bar he would see if he could get us room service,,, all they offered was a sandwich or burger,,, very very disappointing for a 4 star hotel,, overall south africa is a beautiful country and the people very warm and friendly and by far our 1st choice as a travel destination very sad that sun city does not live up to the rest of the country,,,
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Bakr

Great for couples, but not fit for families

Posted Jun 22, 2012
Hotel is clean but the rooms are small not fit for family
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Generally good, but a few odd quirks

Posted Apr 16, 2012
Generally a very good complex, but be aware that there is no a la carte option in the restuarant - only a buffet option - and the cost of airport transfers to Johannesburg is extortionate.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Cabanas - February 2012

Posted Feb 19, 2012
Pros: Extremely family friendly
Cons: Buffet dinners at the restaurant at the Cabanas
We had a great time at the Cabanas. They were very child-friendly and the facilities for families/children were very good. My only criticism is that although the breakfasts were superb, dinners were a buffet (no ala carte), and these aren't always value for money for children (although they are for adults). Having said that, there was a lot of choice in terms of restaurants and fast-food outlets at the nearby entertainment centre.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kate from London, UK

Cabanas at Sun City

Posted Feb 14, 2012
Pros: Child friendly, so much to do in the area
Cons: lack of decent lunch menu
Location: great, central Sun City
Perfect for families as child friendly, the thing that let it down was the lack of decent food at lunch time, they only served burger and chips/hotdog and chips etc so we had to go to another hotel to have lunch every day. Also no food is available on a Sunday night at the hotel - restaurant/buffet closed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Cyprus

Sun City after 10 years

Posted Mar 10, 2010
It was our first visit to Sun City after 10 years and we realized that with passage of time the place has lost a lot of its unique attractiveness, which it had in the 80-ties and 90-ties. Some facilities, like the water park (Valley of Waves) are no longer in the prestine condition they were in the past and some areas such as the Palace of the Lost City are out of bounds for people staying in other Sun City hotels. Otherwise, the natural beauty of the area is unchanged and the staff are very friendly. It's worth noting that the entire Sun City area felt quite secure.