Ratings based on 122 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Hertfrodshire

Lovely hotel, friendly staff, great location

Posted May 3, 2015
Pros: Lovely old building full of character. Quite setting but close to town centre. Staff couldn't be more helpful.
Location: Ten minute walk to town centre with an abundance of bars, restaurants and shops. Harrogate is a delightful town. Valley Gardens is worth a visit and
Hotel and room were of a high standard. Spacious, clean room. Helpful, friendly staff. Great location - Ten minute walk to town centre. Nice lounge and dining room. Lovely choice of food for breakfast. Lovely evening meals available in restaurant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Carlisle, Cumbria

Excellent Hotel

Posted Apr 12, 2015
Pros: The food, cleanliness and appearence of the room and the staff.
Location: The hotel is located near to the town and very close to the Conference Centre. There are some bars and restaurants on the way into town.
It was unfortunate that I didn't get any sleep the first night due to a women snoring very loudly and consistently. It was appaling however when mentioned to the staff the next day they were more than happy to move us however I was told that the guest were leaving so we stayed in the room and had a great nights sleep the following night. This would not put me off returning to the hotel but I would definitely not sleep in a room again that had a connecting door. The breakfast was exceptional, I don't think that we have had a better Full English. The location is good just a short walk to town or there is a bus stop right outside. The staff are very attentive and polite.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Australia

Comfortable hotel WONDERFUL meals

Posted Apr 11, 2015
Pros: The hotel was walking distance to the town centre, the room was comfortable and quiet, the food was fantastic, the staff very friendly and helpful.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Walks around Harrogate, the Pump House museum. Easy drive to Nidderdale Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty and Yorkshire Dales.
I picked the Ascot House Hotel from the reviews on Expedia, while at a rest stop on the M1 on the way up to the North East. I was in transit and mainly interested in free parking and breakfast. The hotel is a beautiful stately late victorian house - very picturesque for an Australian tourist. The single room was small, but well organised and very comfortable. There is a somewhat cramped carpark at the hotel, but the friendly check-in staff pointed out the quiet lane alongside the hotel, which was much easier for parking an unfamiliar rental car. Also at check-in I was asked if I wanted a reservation for dinner, which I said yes to. Great choice! There's a choice of a 2 or 3 course, fixed price meal. I had the slow cooked belly pork, which was amazing! Flavourful and melt in the mouth tender, with a crispy seared crust. It came with mashed potatoes, applesauce and steamed veggies. With the best will in the world I couldn't possibly finish it all. For breakfast the next morning I had the traditional Yorkshire cooked breakfast, also deliciously cooked and plentiful - I wasn't hungry again until 3 in the afternoon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Homely and comfortable

Posted Apr 10, 2015
All staff we saw were very friendly. The rooms we had were all comfortable and clean, lovely breakfast
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 19, 2015
Two nights' stay in Harrogate, shopping and visiting th e local attractions.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Karenfrom Berwick upon Tweed

What a find! (Corny but true)

Posted Feb 16, 2015 on Hotels.com
Excellent. A girl friend a I booked a twin room for 3 nights to enjoy a few days in Harrogate. The room was a more basic one at the back of the hotel but had everything we needed and was perfectly clean. The bathroom had been recently revamped and the décor also. Breakfast / restaurant room is simply and very tastefully done and the bar is comfortable, relaxing and well stocked and. The staff are excellent and appeared to genuinely care that guests enjoyed their stay. It had a real family feel to it while operating very professionally. Will be back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by stevefrom sitting down

Outstanding!

Posted Feb 4, 2015 on Hotels.com
What an absolutely brilliant hotel - quality all the way through the rooms and public spaces - we checked in after midnight after a long day and I left my wallet on the reception desk - the very honest chap who checked us in brought it straight up. The room was great and the breakfast was outstanding - food and service. Will definitely stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 3, 2015 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Norfolk

Nice hotel, centrally located

Posted Feb 1, 2015
Pros: Good value, friendly staff, comfortable beds. Its a beautiful building with interesting history.
Cons: All good, no complaints
Location: Great location, easy walking distance into town and all the attractions. Staff really helpful in pointing us in the right direction.
We were welcomed early and although check in was at 2pm were able to park the car in the hotel car park enabling us to start exploring Harrogate straight away. The hotel room was a good size with comfortable beds, perfect temperature and everything we needed for a comfortable stay. We went to a concert at The Royal Hall and this was only a 10 minute walk away. Breakfast was delicious and staff couldn't be more helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Donal

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 19, 2015 on Hotels.com