Ratings based on 19 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
5.0 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Gary from London

Lovely B&B

Posted May 11, 2014
Lovely B&B, run by friendly and very helpful staff. The hotel is only 15 minutes riverside walk to York town centre. The room was nicely decorated and clean. The bed was so comfortable, I wanted to take it home with me! My only complaint would be the shower as the water pressure is quite weak. I would definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Susan from Charlotte, NC

Nice B & B a pleasant walk from York

Posted Sep 22, 2013
We were warmly greeted by Paul. He was very helpful with all aspects of out stay, from lending a hand with our luggage to booking a taxi. He even turned our car around for us. Our room was pleasant and clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

All you need from a b&b

Posted Sep 17, 2013
Ashbourne house offered us a warm welcome. It was well situated in York, just a short walk or a bus ride from the centre. Our room was warm and comfortable, good to return to after a day out. The breakfast was very nice too!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent BB

Posted Jul 24, 2013
Pros: Friendly,helpful,clean and a really comfortable bed.
Cons: Bathroom was very clean and tidy but dated
Location: Easy walking distants to York. Bus route just outside hotel
Easy to find and easy walking distants from York centre. Owners/staff helpfull and friendly. Excellent breakfasts all in all delightful
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Mature couple from New Zealand

Quality B & B, excellent value

Posted Jun 24, 2013 on Hotels.com
We wanted a good English B&B experience when we booked from New Zealand and we found it. That rounded out our great 4day visit to the. walled city. Our hosts provided for our every need and we commend them for the high standards they maintain at Ashbourne House
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Sightseers from New Zealand

Friendly and helpful

Posted Jun 22, 2013 on Hotels.com
My wife and I were visiting York for the first time - brilliant. Our hosts were very welcoming and helpful. The room (a twin was all that was available) was comfortable and clean. Being on the top floor the head space was reduced by the roof line/rafters and the ensuite bathroom was a little constricted but manageable. Good choice of cooked or continental breakfast. Location suited us - 20 minute walk into York centre along the river, which was very pretty, and bus service - but may not suit everyone, particularly in wet weather. Still it is obviously a popular location as there are quite a number of B&B's surrounding. We would stay again and recommend to friends,
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Georgigirl from Chester

Great service

Posted May 6, 2013 on Hotels.com
Lovely hotel.Nothing was too much trouble for Paul and Julie and we wouldn't hesitate to stay here again .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Niagara Falls, Canada

Great location and nicely welcoming guest house

Posted Apr 7, 2013 on Hotels.com
Great location on #7 bus which runs from train station through downtown then right past the Ashbourne. Comfortable room in a large, very welcoming home in a good neighborhood. Terrific made-to-order big breakfast. Take the bus to the old city (about 7 min away), and then you will be able to walk around York all day with ease.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Allie from Melbourne VIC, Australia

Home away from home

Posted Oct 8, 2012
Pros: Cosy and comfortable with great hosts
Cons: I heard a door bang a few times in the morning but it wasn't loud enough to be a problem and my husband didn't hear it.
Location: 25 minutes walk from central York which is fine if you like a walk or catching a bus. Much quieter than being closer in though.
We had 3 luxurious nights at Ashbourne House. We had the upstairs front room overlooking Fulford Road and it was very cosy and quiet with a comfortable lounge suite as well. Paul and Julie couldn't have been more helpful and their attention to detail was much appreciated, such as big fluffy white lavender scented bath towels and great big fluffy doonas/duvets. The breakfast was also very good. We walked into central York which was about 25 minutes, although the No. 7 Bus goes there about every 10 minutes. Highly recommended and great value for money
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Friendly and comfortable

Posted Oct 3, 2012 on Hotels.com
My son and I stayed overnight as meeting friends in York, we were made to feel very welcome and the room and facilities were great. A pleasant 20 minute walk to the city centre and very reasonably priced. The breakfast and choice available was outstanding and the free wifi was an excellent bonus. The owners pay great attention to detail to make your stay a brilliant experience. Will certainly recommend to family and friends and wouldn't hesitate to go back myself :-)