Ratings based on 55 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Gravesend

Posted Apr 8, 2015
A clean and comfortable hotel with a good breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Craigfrom Preston

Lovely relaxing break.

Posted Dec 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
Lovely relaxing break. Elaine was very friendly and the breakfast very good. Good transport links to city centre. Main road was a little noisy but only to be expected in a big city.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Very welcoming

Posted Nov 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel was clean, warm and comfy. The decor is a little dated but that is not as important as being clean and comfortable (my own opinion). Helen the owner was lovely and made you feel very welcome. The hotel was situated on a corner and at times got a little noisy but was in a good position with a little shop opposite. It is a very short walk to York Hospital and a little long walk to york city centre. My daughter and I would stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Margaretfrom WIRRAL

GREAT NIGHT AWAY

Posted Oct 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
ELAINE WAS FANTASTIC,THE ACCOMMODATION WAS AS EXPECTED.THE BREAKFASE WAS LOVELY
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A. Crispfrom B.C.

Posted Oct 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very cute cozy and clean place with lovely breakfast. Very nice hostess. Close to transit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Eduardofrom Indaiatuba

Muito bom

Posted Oct 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
Pessoal muito hospitaleiro
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Liverpool

Exactly how a hotel should be

Posted Sep 23, 2014
Pros: Everything
This is a great hotel. We were greeted by Elaine who took us to our room which was spotless, decorated beautifully & very comfortable. She told us where everything was & gave us a guest information pack. This included a map, time tables & information leaflets. She took the time to tell us how to get into York by bus & by foot. The information pack included a leaflet which had some useful discount vouchers in. We used the ones for the river cruise (highly recommend the evening river cruise, nice way to relax after a day walking around York) which saved us £4. Breakfast the following morning was lovely. A full English (cooked to order) with toast, selection of cereals & fruit juice & not just a cup of coffee, a large caffetiere of coffee (or pot of tea if you prefer) which made me very happy. Would definately return to this hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom macclesfield

wonderfull weekend

Posted Sep 1, 2014
we had a great time great service great breakfast and service
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Stonewall Manitoba Canada

Charming B& B

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Terrific York B& B, convenient to the Minster and shops. Reasonably priced, includes on site parking. Delicious breakfast , very friendly owners.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by christofrom London

Great location and friendly owners

Posted Jul 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
My mate and I had a very enjoyable three night stay here which is perfectly situated about 10 to 15 minutes walk into the city centre. Elaine was a very welcoming and friendly host. The breakfast was very tasty - especially the scrambled egg! We stayed in the twin room at the top of the house which was small but comfy and adequate for our needs. It was exceptionally hot when we visited and unfortunately, so was the room as heat penetrated through the roof as well as from below so be warned. However, this was caused by the unusual weather and NOT as a result of anything man-made. If you don't mind sharing a toilet and shower with other guests then Cumbria House is the perfect option. I would certainly stay here if I visited York again.