Ratings based on 49 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Liverpool

Exactly how a hotel should be

Posted Sep 23, 2014
Pros: Everything
This is a great hotel. We were greeted by Elaine who took us to our room which was spotless, decorated beautifully & very comfortable. She told us where everything was & gave us a guest information pack. This included a map, time tables & information leaflets. She took the time to tell us how to get into York by bus & by foot. The information pack included a leaflet which had some useful discount vouchers in. We used the ones for the river cruise (highly recommend the evening river cruise, nice way to relax after a day walking around York) which saved us £4. Breakfast the following morning was lovely. A full English (cooked to order) with toast, selection of cereals & fruit juice & not just a cup of coffee, a large caffetiere of coffee (or pot of tea if you prefer) which made me very happy. Would definately return to this hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom macclesfield

wonderfull weekend

Posted Sep 1, 2014
we had a great time great service great breakfast and service
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Stonewall Manitoba Canada

Charming B& B

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Terrific York B& B, convenient to the Minster and shops. Reasonably priced, includes on site parking. Delicious breakfast , very friendly owners.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by christofrom London

Great location and friendly owners

Posted Jul 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
My mate and I had a very enjoyable three night stay here which is perfectly situated about 10 to 15 minutes walk into the city centre. Elaine was a very welcoming and friendly host. The breakfast was very tasty - especially the scrambled egg! We stayed in the twin room at the top of the house which was small but comfy and adequate for our needs. It was exceptionally hot when we visited and unfortunately, so was the room as heat penetrated through the roof as well as from below so be warned. However, this was caused by the unusual weather and NOT as a result of anything man-made. If you don't mind sharing a toilet and shower with other guests then Cumbria House is the perfect option. I would certainly stay here if I visited York again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Alessandrofrom Glasgow

Great value for money

Posted Jul 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
Elaine was a wonderful host that went out of her way to make sure your needs were met, great location and well cooked breakfast. Would stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom California

Clean and comfortable with accommodating host

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Location: We enjoyed York with lots of history and ate at several good restaurants. We also took the local bus to Castle Howard which was the highlight.
We stayed in the family room with a shared shower and bath which were all very clean. It was very quiet, being at the top of stairs with a garret window. It got quite warm one evening with a fan but no AC. The breakfast was huge, cooked to order and very well done, offering plenty for the vegetarian in our family. Our host was very nice and helpful. We used a taxi to and from the train station which was inexpensive to get our suitcases there but walked into York everyday. It was a little far but I knew that when I booked and it was worth it to get the family room and the great breakfast. We were very satisfied with our experience.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by gkcfrom Scotland

Nice owners

Posted Jul 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
The couple that owned were very friendly and warm in terms of hospitality. Rooms were small neatly appointed and clean. Breakfast was horrible, if one calls it breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom east bay, CA

Great location for wandering around York.

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Pros: Location, food was good. Elaine was welcoming and very helpful.
Cons: Bed was too hard.
Location: Access to York and all the activities there. Good food. Walkable.
Enjoyed walking around York, lots to do and see. Many restaurants and pubs nearby. Inn was walking distance to the city center.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by PamCfrom Hornsea, E. Yorks

Fantastic value, friendly, helpful, lovely

Posted Jun 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
Our stay was exellent, the breakfast was so good we will definitely be staying there again. our only complaint was Hotels.com forgot to pass on our booking! Luckily for us the owner was able to swap rooms around to accommodate us, especially as I had made a special request due to my husband being blind. Pam Curtis
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Rosemaryfrom Wangaratta

Welcoming stay in York

Posted Jun 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
We spent two days in and around York and were more than happy with our accommodation at Cumbria House. The service and information provided was excellent, along with the breakfast. Our room on the top floor was clean and comfy.