Ratings based on 342 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing building with art nouveau decorations

Posted Jul 3, 2014
Pros: Large rooms full of character.
Cons: Water in shower was weak and not hot. Lighting was poor.
Location: Within walking distance of York city centre.
Good value, with clean comfy rooms. A bit tired.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 12, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for reviewing our Hotel. The Management and Staff are very pleased you enjoyed the visit and hope to see you in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Elsie Jacqui from Blackpool, Lancashire

Pleasant overnight stay.

Posted Jun 27, 2014
Pros: The location, it's quiet and comfortable.
Location: York is a brilliant city. We enjoyed the tour on the open topped bus and the visit to the dungeons was terrifying but fun.
We were greeted on arriving by a pleasant young man who took our details and directed us to our room. The room, twin bedded, was spotlessly clean and adequate for our needs. In fact, the beds were so comfortable I had the best nights sleep for ages. I just wish we could have stayed longer and next time I visit York I will stay at the Elmbank and I am happy to recommend it to friends and family. All in all our short visit to York and stay at this hotel was most enjoyable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 12, 2014
Dear Elsie, Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property. The Management and Staff really do appreciate your kind comments and recommendation. We hope you will come and visit us again in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Bargin hotel

Posted Jun 19, 2014
A pleasent, clean and very well priced hotel, close to the city centre, with helpfull staff. I have already recommended to friends.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 26, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for taking the time to review our Hotel. We also appreciate the recommendations. The Management and Staff hope you are able to return once more to York and the Elmbank Hotel.
2 out of 5
by Dennis from Cumbria

Shabby Hotel

Posted Jun 10, 2014
Hotel well placed for races and city visit but has definitely seen better days. It was a very busy weekend for this hotel because of the races and the great number of hen and stag night party members staying but this does not excuse the lack of staff available for check in (it took 15 minutes and was the same for check out) considering the very high premium we paid for staying over a race weekend. The room was of adequate size but the bathroom small and not been cleaned properly, the toilet pedastle was dirty and there was a layer of dust on the basin support. The sheets were clean but the towels dingy. The bed had been made for the second night but the wash basin had not been cleaned. Overall a very disappointing hotel and certainly not what we expect from Expedia. I welcome your response.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 15, 2014
Dear Dennis, Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. During May races the Hotel had Agency Staff to cover sickness and holiday leave by other Staff members. They were a little unfamiliar with their surroundings and not up to the speed of our normal reception team. We do apologise for delays. Our Management team will resolve cleaning issues when raised and may have been able to allocate a new room if the original was not up to the required standard. This service is on availability. We would like to apologise for any inconvenience caused during your stay and hope you will consider returning in the future.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 14, 2014
Dear Dennis, Thank you for your review and rating. Recently we have taken on new staff who are not completely sure of their surroundings. The Hotel also had some Agency staff to cover sickness and holidays. We have had to make a formal complaint to the company who provided them and would like to apologise sincerely for delays on check in and check out. Our Management staff are on hand to resolve issues as and when they arise, this service extends to housekeeping duties and can be done whilst guests are having a meal or drink at the bar so as not to inconvenience them. The Management and Staff would like to apologise and hope you will return to York in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mike from Bristol

Just outside the walls of York

Posted Jun 3, 2014
Pros: Pleasantly different from your standard "Premier Inn"
Cons: Efficiency and timeliness of tidying rooms
Location: York is a wonderful city - so much to do and enjoy
The hotel is conveniently located less than 10 minutes walk outside off the walls of your. It is pleasantly different from your standard "Premier Inn", in the Art Nouveau style. Although we would be happy to stay there again, we were disappointed one day when we got back to the hotel at 4pm to find that the room hadn't been tidied and the complimentary coffee/tea restocked.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 8, 2014
Dear Mike, Thank you for your review and rating. Staff are on hand to resolve any issues with regards to housekeeping and complimentary stocks. We will gladly clean your room and always have a supply of goods at the reception desk. The Management and Staff would like to apologise for any inconvenience caused during your stay and hope meet again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It's Livable...

Posted May 28, 2014
Pros: It has character, not a modern, generic space.
Cons: Wi fi needs to be upgraded and expanded to all areas, not just public areas like the lobby.
Location: The hotel is about a 20 minute walk from York which was convenient.
The Elmbank has some good points; interesting character, good breakfast, close enough to walk to York, a bar, menu after 6:30pm and some very helpful staff (not all). Unfortunately, it is old and therefore the rooms are small, the plumbing is sketchy (our toilet didn't always flush), the wi fi is not good and only in public areas, there is no air conditioning (which was my fault in assuming it did) and the phone in my parents room didn't work.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 2, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review and rating. The Elmbank Hotel is a Grade II Listed building which has loads of character. The Building itself is dated 1870's and the interior design around 1900. There are no two rooms of the same dimensions throughout the hotel however all rooms do meet with required standards. All rooms have new flat screen TV's, some have refurbished bathrooms and bedrooms. We are in the process of replacing carpets and some dated furniture however this is a slow process as York is very popular. Wi-Fi is a free service offered to all of our guests but at the moment it is only available on the ground floor of the main building. We have been studying our guest feedback and have begun installing a new system. Hopefully, by the end of this month, work will be completed to allow Wi-Fi access to all bedrooms throughout the Hotel. The Management and Staff hope you will return in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Weekend getaway

Posted May 27, 2014
Staff were helpfull, hotel a bit dated but good location. Room was bit small with a travel cot.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 2, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for making your reservation with the Elmbank Hotel and Lodge also for taking the time to leave a review and rating. The main building is Grade II listed, circa 1870's and still retains many of the original features. Bedroom accommodation is in the process of refurbishments however this is a slow process as York is very popular. We hope our guests will bear with us during this time. The management and Staff hope you will return to York and our Hotel in the future.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing

Posted May 26, 2014
Cons: Customer service and politeness.
Staff were not very welcoming and lacked professionalism. When leaving car details the staff was particularly short in manners. Shower took 25minutes to work. After informing staff of the fault there was a reluctant apology and no effort to refund or reimburse for the fault. As an additional note when an elderly couple checked in there was no offer to help them with their bags to their room despite there being no lift.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 2, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review and rating. During the summer months we have an intake of new staff members who aren't overly confident in their new surroundings. We hope our guests will bear with us during the training process. Help was offered by another Staff member to the Lady and Gent as we try to keep the reception manned as much as possible. The Elmbank Hotel is a Grade II Listed building therefore we are unable to install an elevator. The Management and Staff hope you have enjoyed the trip to York and return to visit in the future.
2 out of 5
by Tony from Vancouver, Canada

Next time roll out the welcome mat.

Posted May 24, 2014
Pros: Clean rooms, good location, reasonably priced
Cons: Front reception staff should be replaced.
Location: Close to medieval city.
In my well traveled opinion, York is the friendliest city in the UK. Unfortunately, the two young female reception staff at the Elmbank hotel do not fit the above description. They were frosty, aloof and dare I say lazy when it came to dealing with hotel guests. I'm just baffled why people of their unpleasant ilk choose to enter the tourist trade. That being said, the rooms are clean, and the hotel is just a straight ahead vigorous walk to the medieval city.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 2, 2014
Dear Tony, Thank you for your review and rating. During the summer months we often have a new intake of Staff who haven't found their feet yet. We hope guests will bear with us during training process. The Management and Staff a very pleased the hotel accommodation met with your needs during your stay and hope to see you in the future.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jaabir from London

Stop off for single night - pretty good

Posted May 21, 2014
I stayed at the Elmbank twice, both as stop offs on my way to Edinburgh and I found its location very convenient. Very close to the railway station and the railway museum and with parking just outside too. The room is quite spacious, comfortable and clean with a freeview TV. The wifi signal was very weak from my room so that was slightly annoying as I like to plan my sightseeing on my laptop. However you can get online it's just a bit slow and can cut off sometimes. Don't expect the warmest of welcomes from the staff though. This is part of a hotel chain so the staff do the minimum necessary. Check you in, check you out. Leave you to your own devices pretty much, which is fine. Just don't expect the extremely helpful and friendly service that you'd get from an independent guest house. I cannot review the food because I didn't try it as it's not included in the price (unlike my hotel in Edinburgh). Overall a good stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 23, 2014
Dear Jaabir, Thank you for your review and rating. Wi-Fi is being updated within the Hotel over the next coming week which should ease guest use. The Management and Staff would like to thank you for your repeat custom and hope you will return in the future.