Ratings based on 443 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom nottingham

Beautiful hotel, close to town centre.

Posted Dec 6, 2014
Pros: Period features in the hall and bar. Staircase was fabulous.
Cons: Walls were very thin between our room and next door. Could hear everything next door were saying. Would have been nicer if the bed had a valance sheet
Location: Ten minutes from York centre. Loads of pubs and restraints nearby. Two minutes away from the race course. Ten minutes from train museum.
The hotel it's self was very striking. The staff were very nice, although we did not have a great deal of interaction with them. It was in a great position, just ten minute walk into York and to the train museum.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice old hotel, good value

Posted Nov 30, 2014
Spent three nights there recently, stayed in the main building. Room could do with some updating but excellent value for money. Would definitely stay there again. 15-20 minute walk to shambles etc. Lovely fireplace to sit in front of, lots of character to the place, topped off with some friendly and helpful staff.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Nottingham

good and not so good

Posted Nov 30, 2014
Pros: Old style look
Cons: Requires bit more T.L.C
Cheap hotel, good downstairs area. Spacious room, creaky floorboards expected for old property Staff friendly. Let down badly by no hot water all the time we stayed Luck would have it one night. Seen reviews previously of same problem.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom CHESTER

hotel

Posted Nov 26, 2014
Pros: The service was good. The food excellent.The location was ideal................
Cons: to be given the option of staying in the hotel
Location: location great not far from town centre and other attractions
would have liked to stay in hotel rather than the lodge across the road as there was no options given,The lodge seems a bit bleak towards the hotel............
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Cumbria

A good hotel

Posted Nov 19, 2014
Pros: Interesting Victorian building, furnished in keeping with age.
Cons: Double glazing on the windows would make a huge difference. to the bedrooms.
Location: Excellent location for city centre, and the Railway Museum which we were visiting.
Our room was at the front of the hotel, and traffic noise was invasive. Food excellent, and service good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Newcastle!!!!!!

Great hotel, for the price!

Posted Nov 18, 2014
Pros: - Decent price, had everything that we needed.
Cons: Shower. Windows. Both in room 239(?) £20 for a further 2 hours is a bit pricey!
Location: - Close proximity to the station. - Relatively close to city centre.
- Shower in room 239(?) had to be turned on to cold first in order for it to work (followed by hot). - Biggest downside was the windows, could really do with double glazing! - Or at least windows that seal properly. (room 239?)
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Does the job

Posted Nov 18, 2014
Pros: Clean
Cons: Needs re-decorating
Location: Close to the centre of York
Had trouble parking near the hotel as limited car parking taken. Hotel itself clean (smell of bleach was evidence of this) but tired. Staff ok
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Australia

Nice hotel in a beautiful old building

Posted Oct 31, 2014
Had a great one night stay at this hotel. The room was clean with a modern ensuite. The staff were nice as we arrived early they looked after our bags so we could go out and explore, then it was a quick in check in when we returned. Breakfast was served in a beautiful room and was yummy with plenty of choices.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom UK

Serious TLC required

Posted Oct 29, 2014
Pros: price was reasonable.
Cons: decor etc. More parking required,
Location: close enough to walk to town and on main bus route.
Public areas are nice enough and full of character but our room, carpets, walls and corridors etc need a great deal of updating/decorating. Not enough parking,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

great

Posted Oct 2, 2014
10 mins walk fron the train station but everything is great