Ratings based on 137 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, comfortable room

Posted May 31, 2015
Great hosts and breakfast. We stayed there for 3 nights
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Bedford

A very welcoming, comfortable guest house

Posted Apr 15, 2015
Pros: The owners were very welcoming and did everything possible to make guests welcome.
Location: The guest house is in a pleasant residential area. Most amenities are in the centre of York, but there are a couple of pubs nearby for drinks and meal
We spent a short break at the Heworth House Guest House. Our room was very comfortable and well equiped, with very comfortable beds. Breakfast was plentiful and delicious. Although we didn't use the guest sitting room, it was a comfortable addition, and the provision of fresh milk for teas and coffees was a thoughful touch. The guest house is about a 10-15 minute walk into York and is well placed to access the ring road to reach the coast. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would return to the Heworth House if the occasion arose.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom bolton , england

Lovely homely guest house.

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Me and my partner stayed in.March and the owners were lovely, kind and the rooms were very.Nice and.roomy. The breakfast was gorgeous especially the sausages
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Newcastle

Very nice B & B close to the centre of York.

Posted Mar 10, 2015
Pros: Owners Sue & Chris were great, very helpful with information about York etc. Breakfasts were fabulous! Set us up for the day.
Cons: Can't think of any improvement.
Location: B & B located approx. one mile from city centre.
Great place to stay when visiting York. Benefit of free parking nearby and bus stop close to the B & B with frequent service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 3, 2015 
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Joshuafrom Winchester

Simply Outstanding

Posted Dec 18, 2014 
Firstly the owners of the guest house are so accommodating. Also as I had to be out of the guest house early she specially cooked breakfast earlier for me to accommodate my needs. The room was very clean, bathroom was excellent with a powerful shower! The owner also navigated me to a very nice pub in the evening of my stay and gave me a key to return when I wished. If you heading to York you certainly cannot go wrong with staying in this B&B-absolutely perfect nights stay!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom London

Good venue for visiting York.

Posted Dec 15, 2014
Pros: Close to York city centre. Can walk in or take bus from outside premises which also goes to station.
Cons: The floor tiles in the bathroom in the ground floor family room could be better.
Location: Very close to York centre.
Very friendly hosts. Large well cooked English breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Cheshire

Home From Home Guest House

Posted Dec 2, 2014
Pros: The breakfast was amazing! The location is great.
Cons: Water pressure was poor so shower experience was disappointing but not an issue. Some of the things could have been removed from bedroom to make space
Location: York has lots to offer:Ghost Tours/Hunts, Yorvik, Great places to eat and drink, markets, shops, York Dungeon
Really enjoyed our stay at Heworth Guest House. Really warm welcome and we all felt quite at home. The breakfast was amazing and the location was nice and quiet. Short walk into York, where there is plenty to do.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by I-TINGfrom Taiwan

recommended !!!!

Posted Nov 2, 2014 
Very useful travel information the host provided. Chris and Sue are really friendly and help me and my family so much !!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom sussex

Very good guest house on main bus route into York.

Posted Oct 15, 2014
Pros: Everything except the shower room!
Cons: At just a door's width, the shower room is too small and you either burn yourself on the towel rail or knock off the loo roll when turning round!!
Location: Frequent bus service to all the main attractions in York.
Excellent breakfast as other reviewers have said. Very friendly and welcoming owners. Very clean and well kept room. Only negative - the shower room to the small double is very small.