Ratings based on 110 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sussex

Very good guest house on main bus route into York.

Posted Oct 15, 2014
Pros: Everything except the shower room!
Cons: At just a door's width, the shower room is too small and you either burn yourself on the towel rail or knock off the loo roll when turning round!!
Location: Frequent bus service to all the main attractions in York.
Excellent breakfast as other reviewers have said. Very friendly and welcoming owners. Very clean and well kept room. Only negative - the shower room to the small double is very small.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Penrith Cumbria

Friendly, comfortable and amazing breakfast

Posted Oct 12, 2014
Pros: Warm family atmosphere
Cons: Nothing
Location: Close to town centre
Good night sleep, huge breakfast, excellent variety, friendly staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sunderland

As good as we remembered

Posted Oct 4, 2014
We had a great stay, clean and comfortable rooms and lovely hosts. We had stayed here in 2009 and everything was as good as we remembered. And of course I must mention the fabulous breakfasts. I would recommend Heworth guest house to anyone, and we dont intend to leave it 5 years to visit again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Shropshire

Comfortable, friendly, convenient - Superb!

Posted Sep 23, 2014
Pros: Welcoming hosts, comfortable room, all requirements met. Loved the wine glasses in the room and corkscrew - never seen that before!
Cons: Nothing - great guest house!
Location: Within walking distance of city centre (about 20 mins) and York has something for everyone.
What a fantastic find - very comfortable room, lovely bathroom with huge fluffy towels. Absolutely massive breakfast with quality bacon and sausages. Well presented guest house with really friendly and welcoming hosts. We were part of a larger group combining a visit to the university open day and a significant birthday weekend. All our needs were accommodated and we were made to feel welcome and valued as guests. Hope to come back in the not too distant future. Thank you :-)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Stoke on Trent

Lovely B&B

Posted Sep 22, 2014
Pros: Price Comfort Friendly
Location: 20 minute walk from town. Bus routes right outside. York city centre is beautiful. Plenty of museums.
Ideal B&B if you like a nice walk into the town centre (about 20 mins) which we do. The owners were very friendly and welcoming, the full English breakfast was cracking and kept us going all day. Price is much better than the city centre B&B's too.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Co. Durham

Nice place to stay. Comfortable.

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: Lovely and quiet, very clean, warm and cosy.Fab breakfast. Hosts very friendly. Street parking was no problem. good access into the city.
Cons: Whilst it was a lovely place we thought the price was a little high for a bed and breakfast. Otherwise nothing really
Location: The location is about a 15 minute walk into the centre of town. Good access to different parts of the wall which varied the walk into town.
Stayed for 3 nights in Aug. York as usual lived up to it's reputation, lovely. Went on the free White Rose guided tour around the city which was very good. The tour lasted for 3 hours and Alan our guide was very enthusiastic.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fleetwood

Comfortable and clean guesthouse

Posted Sep 5, 2014
Pros: Warm welcome, comfortable rooms and excellent food
Cons: Nothing
Location: Within easy reach of the city centre. There is plenty to see and do - a visit to York Minster is a must as is Bettys tea rooms.
Comfortable and clean guesthouse within easy reach if York city centre. The owners Chris and Sue were very friendly and welcoming and provided plenty of useful information about the area. Breakfasts were excellent with plenty of choices available. They were well cooked, fresh and using local ingredients. Can highly recommend a stay here and we will be returning soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great stay in York

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Our stay at the Heworth Guest House was brilliant. The hosts were welcoming and breakfast and our family room outstanding. My son left his watch behind and it was found and posted straight away. We will be back soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rotherham

Great B&B in York

Posted Aug 23, 2014
Pros: I liked everything about this B&B
Great location - very friendly and accommodating staff - excellent breakfast. Would not hesitate recommending this place to anyone! Hope I can visit again soon and stay longer than 2 nights!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice friendly B&B 10min walk from town

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Cons: The room could be slightly cleaner; there was a lot of dust everywhere, but that might be due to needing to keep windows open in the warm weather.
Great experience overall. Large breakfast. comfortable room. friendly staff. safe quiet neighbourhood. 10min walk straight down the road to town centre.