Ratings based on 21 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Gill from Newcastle

Overnight Break

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Pros: Lots of horses and bird life to look at with nice walks in and around the property. Very rural
Cons: It is hard to find and not signposted at all (up a unpaved road which is a dead end)
Location: The moors and York very handy as is Scarborough
Very friendly hosts and breakfast good, feels like a home rather than a business
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Anthony from Lancashire

Lovely hidden gem

Posted Jun 21, 2014
Made most welcome on my arrival,lovely room, with a view across open countryside.I even had a peacock sat on the fence next to my car.Great full English breakfast to set me up for the day
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Wonderful countryside perch in an idyllic setting.

Posted May 27, 2014
Pros: Just about everything. The 4-person room was spacious and very well kept. The breakfast was absolutely delicious.
Cons: There could have had a few more chairs to make a more comfortable seating area for the guests in the room. The two single beds were slightly creaky...
Location: Great location not far from major sites like York, Beverley, Castle Howard, etc...
This is a great B&B in a beautiful, isolated setting in the Yorkshire countryside. Very friendly owners who were helpful but not overly intrusive, which was nice. The house is part of a well-kept farmstead that gave a real flavour of the country to our group of four friends.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

High Belthorpe

Posted May 25, 2014
Very difficult to find. Latitude and longitude would help for sat nav users. Detailed directions from main road would also help. Otherwise excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Viki from London, UK

Lovely B&B

Posted Apr 21, 2014
Location: York is not too far by car (approx. 25-30 mins) if you want to go there. otherwise walking or driving around this area is lovely.
This cozy B&B is situated next to a horse farm, far away from the hustle and bustle of big cities. This might be a disadvantage if you want to stay near to the buzz but if you are looking for a relaxing, back to nature type of holiday then this the place to go. The owners are lovely people, with great stories.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Emma from Wakefield

Nice bnb on a farm with very welcoming hosts.

Posted Apr 14, 2014
I stayed here en route to Scarborough on a bike ride from Wakefield. You need a sat nav or a map marked with road names to find it as the roads don't have street names on them (I found this out when my phone battery died and my written directions did not have a map and I got lost!) I stayed in the ground floor family room which for just me was very spacious and had a very nicely decorated shower room with a big shower cubicle and separate loo. There was tea and coffee making facilities and free wifi. The TV was a 12 inch portable one but you got a good reception. Breakfast was brilliant, the previous night I was asked if I'd like porridge as I was cycling a further 30 miles in the morning and also had a full English which was delicious. The porridge oats were sourced locally from a farm up the road. The views from the dining room were stunning. The dining room is furnished with old dark wood furniture and decorated in a warm red colour.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Paul from Durham City

Wonderful B&B In Heart Of Yorkshire

Posted Jan 24, 2014
Pros: Everything from the welcome, the views out the windows while having breakfast in a wonderful dining room to that aforementioned breakfast being great!
Cons: Only two things if I really had to think of something would perhaps be a DVD player as there is a freeview box maybe update TV but not major concern.
Location: Location is great for commuting/work/short breaks, only thing to be wary of is it is back country roads to get to it, so take it slow.
I was looking for a local hotel/B&B while doing some training in the area, originally im from Durham. I came across Belthorpe, checked previous reviews and booked in. From moment of arriving it was a superb welcome from the owners, including the dogs as well! I was showed the room which was very well laid out, plenty of space for things, the en suite aspect was to a high standard beyond what I had expected. Bed wise the double I had was extremely comfy with a thick tog quilt that certainly kept me warm and snug. All bathroom facilities including shower, towels and the like were great quality and looked recently renovated. The welcome and breakfast each morning were a pleasure, selection of cereals and choice of full english breakfast which was delicious. True countryside style with home made breads, jams and spreads, fresh orange, milk, tea or coffee, coupled with bacon, sausages, eggs, tomatoes and mushrooms all cooked fresh as I ate cereal, quite a lovely smell wafting through. Only other thing I'd like to say is although it is quite a way from nearest towns of Pocklington, about 5 miles, or Malton, approx 15, if you prepared to drive through the wonderful surroundings in any direction you will not be disappointed with Belthorpe. I'm also wanting to rebook sometime in next few months to visit York, this is bout 30 mins away so please note, and I know where im staying already.... Here....
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Adam from nottingham

Posted Nov 25, 2013
To advertise as York is shocking it's a good 35 minute drive from the city, lovely rural setting in masses of rolling countryside! Happy hosts with lovely dogs to boot, a real countryside experience if that's what you are looking for
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by ERB

Gorgeous bed and breakfast, gorgeous dogs

Posted Nov 4, 2013
This is the most fantastic place to stay if you're in the York area, with views all across the countryside and a delicious breakfast with local bread, homemade jams and a top-notch Full English. Francis and Meg were incredibly welcoming and the motley pack of hounds was just gorgeous. Don't forget to give Dobbie a good tummy rub and she'll be your friend for life. We have spent the past few days mourning the fact that we can't stay here permanently!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by yasmin from leeds

Beautiful country hotel

Posted Nov 2, 2013
Pros: Everything! The location and how friendly the owners (and their dogs!) were!
Cons: maybe the pot holes!!
Location: location is beautiful, surrounded by fields. Nearest town/village about 15 minutes away, very quaint, lots of lovely little shops and cafes.
AMAZING stay, cannot speak highly enough of it. Me (23) and my mum (50) took my grandma for her 80th birthday so we are range of ages and we all loved it. Manager is lovely, breakfast the best i've ever had, in the middle of the countryside but not too far to Picklington (?) the nearest town, but that was perfect for us! I would not describe this as a "luxury" BnB but that is not what we were looking for. It is homely, friendly and adorable with SPECTACULAR views. Exceptionally dog friendly, so if you don't like dogs maybe not the place for you but we love them! I stay in a lot of hotels and am very fussy, I love my luxury but am a country girl at heart and cannot wait to get back here! AMAZING value for money, was not expecting the level of service we received, definitely worth more! Will definitely return in the future! Thankyou for a lovely weekend x