Ratings based on 580 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom kent

Great location and a pleasant stay.

Posted Nov 30, 2014
Pros: Location, staff, ambience and excellent breakfast.
Cons: Bigger bar area. Better room layout.
Location: Shopping, also near markets. Easy walk to most main attractions and guided ghost walks.
The hotel location is right next to the main shopping area but quietly tucked around the corner. No noise from our bedroom (triple room at the back) staff were amazing, breakfast to die for with a great choice. Clean and nice looking. The bar area although inviting could have been bigger. Our room was nice, although red covers not on the bed like their website picture just white duvets so made the room look boring and not wow! Very comfortable but not really enough room for three people and we were given one of the larger rooms. Would stay again because of staff, location and excellent food.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Kilham

Thought I was getting Hilton quality???!!!

Posted Nov 22, 2014
Good points location, able to book in early, quiet once in the room. BAD points, 1.The bed was called King size but was 2x 3/4's beds pushed together with a gap in the middle. One week later my back has just recovered. 2. The shower was a dribble, no pressure had to lean over the taps for any effect. 3. No FREE Wifi in the rooms, only free in the bar, had to PAY in the rooms. 4. TV reception grainy limited and poor reception, for clear sky reception have to PAY extra. 5. No free parking charged at £18 for the valet to park your car in the public pay and display car parks. For the pleasure of express check I would have paid double charge for the parking. 6. All lifts out of order, not a problem for me but all lifts out of order. NOT WORTH THE MONEY, we wont be celebrating my wife's birthday there next year.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom missoula montana

York in October?

Posted Nov 3, 2014
Who knew that fall in York would be so popular? The hotel is centrally located and if you know that it is by the museum and tower you will always find a sign post to point the way home! The current manager knows his stuff, he was excellent and his staff was kind, patient and curious. The hotel is more in keeping with a Hilton in the USA.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom York, England

Birthday in York

Posted Oct 26, 2014
Pros: A good reputation without being too snooty.
Location: In the center of the city everything could be easily accessed.
We had a great time. The hotel just added the perfect setting for a weekend shopping and pampering.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Alexandria, Virginia

Well located hotel.

Posted Oct 5, 2014
Pros: Its location and the hotel facilities, including the room
Location: York is an old city and there are quite a few historic sites, including York Minster, the old town, Cliffords Tower, and other sites.
This hotel was well located to the historic section of York and it was easy to walk from the hotel to most of historic York and York Minster. The hotel facilities were very good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Pennsylvania

PLEASANT STAY IN YORK...

Posted Sep 30, 2014
Pros: It has ample space in front of the building, with access via ramp or steps. So bringing luggage into and out of the hotel was relatively easy.
Cons: Ventilation in the room is limited. The general design of the room was not up to our experience at other Hilton hotels.
Location: It is located several blocks away from York Minister and the "Old City" shops. However the hotel is conveniently located if one likes to walk!
We arrived in late afternoon and were generally pleased with our experience at the Hilton. That said, the size of the room accomodation was small, with space for opening luggage limited since we were a family of three. Not having access to free Wifi in your room however was not agreeable to our son, as we use this convenience for updating information during our extended trip.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location needs a refurb!

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Location is great, ideal if you want somewhere to stay that's clean and comfortable but don't expect luxury. Staff were very helpful and friendly in particular in the late night bar- couldn't do enough for you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent Location

Posted Sep 25, 2014
The hotel is within easy walking distance to all of the sights of York. Our room was spotless and very quiet. I would use this hotel again if visiting York.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by K @ Gfrom Scottish Borders

All round excellent Hotel !!

Posted Sep 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
Having stayed at this hotel on numerous occasions we find it excellent for service , location and everything else that we could require in a hotel , the breakfasts alone , we think , are worth the visits .
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Alexfrom London

Overpriced and a little disappointing

Posted Sep 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great location. I've stayed here previously and the room was much nicer despite spending more this time. Could hear people snoring in the room next door (they could be very loud...) and the room itself was very cold. Arrived at 7:30pm and the window was open and the heating didn't work when trying to warm the room up. Was an exceptionally unremarkable room and small for the price. Linen didn't feel particularly nice. Cleaners were efficient and knocked on the door at 8am to ask if they could clean (our mistake for not using the do not disturb sign.) breakfast is buffet and not too bad. Overall for the price I was not impressed. Paying a further £18 for parking each day also was rather annoying, and as it was valet we had to wait 20-30mins to get our car back on check out. Staff were pleasant but hoping I don't have another reason to stay here again