Ratings based on 601 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, good location

Posted Feb 1, 2015
Pros: Very friendly, welcoming and helpful staff
Cons: Mattress was too hard, softer mattress would have been nice. There was no fridge in the room so the addition of a fridge would have been great
Location: Close to the shopping centre and many other attractions
Pleasant stay - nice hotel room, friendly staff, good location and good breakfast facilities
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom cardiff

Good location near to city

Posted Jan 29, 2015
Friendly staff. Can leave bags after check out. Free wireless for members.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom surrey.

Wifi not included

Posted Jan 27, 2015
Pros: Friendly staff.
Cons: Wifi access.
Location: Excellent location for castle museum, Jorvik and city centre.
A clean and pleasant hotel manned by friendly staff. Why don't they include Wifi in the room price?
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Warrington

Very close to centre and all amenities

Posted Jan 3, 2015
Very clean rooms friendly staff and great food had a lovely 2 day break at the end of December 2014
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom oostzaan

fantastisch uitzicht op de tower.

Posted Dec 30, 2014
Pros: de ligging
Location: historisch centrum op loopafstand 150m.
lekker dicht bij centrum op loopafstand van alle bezienswaardigheden
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location.

Posted Dec 20, 2014
Pros: We would gladly stay there again. We were given a warm welcome.
Cons: As we were only there for one evening we couldn't think of a negative thing to say.
Location: Central to all that York has to offer.
Called in at 11am to leave bags until 3pm check-in but was told that a room was ready for us to use straight away.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom kent

Great location and a pleasant stay.

Posted Nov 30, 2014
Pros: Location, staff, ambience and excellent breakfast.
Cons: Bigger bar area. Better room layout.
Location: Shopping, also near markets. Easy walk to most main attractions and guided ghost walks.
The hotel location is right next to the main shopping area but quietly tucked around the corner. No noise from our bedroom (triple room at the back) staff were amazing, breakfast to die for with a great choice. Clean and nice looking. The bar area although inviting could have been bigger. Our room was nice, although red covers not on the bed like their website picture just white duvets so made the room look boring and not wow! Very comfortable but not really enough room for three people and we were given one of the larger rooms. Would stay again because of staff, location and excellent food.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Kilham

Thought I was getting Hilton quality???!!!

Posted Nov 22, 2014
Good points location, able to book in early, quiet once in the room. BAD points, 1.The bed was called King size but was 2x 3/4's beds pushed together with a gap in the middle. One week later my back has just recovered. 2. The shower was a dribble, no pressure had to lean over the taps for any effect. 3. No FREE Wifi in the rooms, only free in the bar, had to PAY in the rooms. 4. TV reception grainy limited and poor reception, for clear sky reception have to PAY extra. 5. No free parking charged at £18 for the valet to park your car in the public pay and display car parks. For the pleasure of express check I would have paid double charge for the parking. 6. All lifts out of order, not a problem for me but all lifts out of order. NOT WORTH THE MONEY, we wont be celebrating my wife's birthday there next year.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Ideal base for exploring York

Posted Nov 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
An excellent hotel with great service, and in a perfect location. We have already planned the next visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Y Sfrom London

Good location - but over priced

Posted Nov 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
Location was great and the hotel was adequate. But at £199 a night (no breakfast and another £18 for parking!) you will be very very disappointed as it's just a basic tourist class room. I was also given a room facing the courtyard. The bathroom was located directly opposite the bed, odd layout, means you keep waking each other up when going to the toilet. My room was also at the beginning of the corridor, so there was a lot of people traffic. Hotel is very convenient, but definitely not value for money. Did I mention I was greeted with hairs in the bath.....