Ratings based on 506 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Kilham

Thought I was getting Hilton quality???!!!

Posted Nov 22, 2014
Good points location, able to book in early, quiet once in the room. BAD points, 1.The bed was called King size but was 2x 3/4's beds pushed together with a gap in the middle. One week later my back has just recovered. 2. The shower was a dribble, no pressure had to lean over the taps for any effect. 3. No FREE Wifi in the rooms, only free in the bar, had to PAY in the rooms. 4. TV reception grainy limited and poor reception, for clear sky reception have to PAY extra. 5. No free parking charged at £18 for the valet to park your car in the public pay and display car parks. For the pleasure of express check I would have paid double charge for the parking. 6. All lifts out of order, not a problem for me but all lifts out of order. NOT WORTH THE MONEY, we wont be celebrating my wife's birthday there next year.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom missoula montana

York in October?

Posted Nov 3, 2014
Who knew that fall in York would be so popular? The hotel is centrally located and if you know that it is by the museum and tower you will always find a sign post to point the way home! The current manager knows his stuff, he was excellent and his staff was kind, patient and curious. The hotel is more in keeping with a Hilton in the USA.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom York, England

Birthday in York

Posted Oct 26, 2014
Pros: A good reputation without being too snooty.
Location: In the center of the city everything could be easily accessed.
We had a great time. The hotel just added the perfect setting for a weekend shopping and pampering.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Alexandria, Virginia

Well located hotel.

Posted Oct 5, 2014
Pros: Its location and the hotel facilities, including the room
Location: York is an old city and there are quite a few historic sites, including York Minster, the old town, Cliffords Tower, and other sites.
This hotel was well located to the historic section of York and it was easy to walk from the hotel to most of historic York and York Minster. The hotel facilities were very good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Pennsylvania

PLEASANT STAY IN YORK...

Posted Sep 30, 2014
Pros: It has ample space in front of the building, with access via ramp or steps. So bringing luggage into and out of the hotel was relatively easy.
Cons: Ventilation in the room is limited. The general design of the room was not up to our experience at other Hilton hotels.
Location: It is located several blocks away from York Minister and the "Old City" shops. However the hotel is conveniently located if one likes to walk!
We arrived in late afternoon and were generally pleased with our experience at the Hilton. That said, the size of the room accomodation was small, with space for opening luggage limited since we were a family of three. Not having access to free Wifi in your room however was not agreeable to our son, as we use this convenience for updating information during our extended trip.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location needs a refurb!

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Location is great, ideal if you want somewhere to stay that's clean and comfortable but don't expect luxury. Staff were very helpful and friendly in particular in the late night bar- couldn't do enough for you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent Location

Posted Sep 25, 2014
The hotel is within easy walking distance to all of the sights of York. Our room was spotless and very quiet. I would use this hotel again if visiting York.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom houghton

Fantastic room, lovely night.

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Pros: Hotel has been there a long time but it didn't feel dated or tired. Bar/breakfast room had a nice atmosphere about it.
Cons: Mini fridge, should be moved to a different location in room.
Location: Great location. Virtually in the centre, but just far enough away not to be woken by the pub & clubbers.
Great room, fantastic view of Clifford's tower with a balcony. Very comfortable. Every member of staff we encountered were very professional and friendly. Would definitely book again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom lancs

Classy hotel perfect location

Posted Aug 30, 2014
Stayed a few times at the hilton and have been very happy on each occasion,, comfortable spacious room and a lovely breakfast with great views of the tower.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by 5ironfrom Wakefield

Weekend with the Grandkids

Posted Aug 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
The Hilton is a very nice Hotel all the staff were helpfull nothing was to much trouble. The food in the restaurant was excellent well cooked and well presented if some wath on the expensive side the same goes for the bar but could not fault the service in any way. We would stay in the Hotel again but would eat out.