Ratings based on 205 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Canberra, Australia

Perfect to stay outside the walls

Posted Apr 22, 2015
Cons: The bed/mattress
Location: The Fox and Roman pub across the street was fantastic for dinner
The Holiday Inn York was in a fantastic location, only cost £6 from the York railway station in a taxi. The hotel staff were very friendly and the facilities were all clean. Breakfast was absolutely beautiful with a fantastic spread. The only let down was the bed, it was hard as a rock and we found it extremely difficult to sleep on.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom West Midlands

Ok but over priced

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Cons: Include WiFi in cost and reduce the cost of breakfast £15.00 a head is overpriced.
Location: York, Jorvik Centre, University of York, York Minster, National Trust Treasurer's House
This Hotel is overpriced for its location and facilities. WiFi was not included and breakfast was over priced at £15.00 per person. We had a three course French meal at a restaurant in York for £15.95 @ Rustique well recommended
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Nice hotel and very convenient.

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Pros: Pleasant environment.
Cons: Good to purchase the sightseeing tour bus in the hotel with a discount but it would be good if we were asked about student and senior discount as well
Location: Very convenient with easy access to the race course and good public transport to the city center where all the amenities are.
Friendly and clean - with discount made it a worthwhile stay. So close to the race course and ease of travel to city centre are the added bonus to visit the medieval city of York!
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom malvern

Good location.

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Pros: Location is good.
The room was a good size but the bathroom is tiny. The bathroom seemed worn out with rust and water ingress in the usual places. The Internet is £12+ and sloooow. To be fair, at check out they refunded the cost. The service in the restaurant was ok but food over cooked. I usually stay in premier inn. I think that the cost of holiday inn is too high for the quality of room and services. Premier inn is better value for money
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom east midlands

Very dated needs revamp

Posted Mar 22, 2015
Hotel is badly needing refurbished even running repairs are dreadful won't be staying at this vastly overpriced hotel again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

enjoyable stay

Posted Mar 15, 2015
Pros: although quite a large hotel it was quiet.
Quick check in, staff very polite and friendly. Breakfast was good hot and plentiful. Rooms warm clean and beds comfortable. It took about 45 mins to walk into the city centre. I would definitely stop at this hotel again, we stopped for 2 nights at a reasonable price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom wirral

We return year after year

Posted Mar 10, 2015
This hotel is perfect for us as a couple. Quiet rooms. Bright decor. Comfy beds. Always a quick check in and check out. Breakfast is ideal. Good choice of hot and cold food. Lovely walk into York but easy to catch bus if needed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom North East England

Enjoyable York break

Posted Mar 2, 2015
Pros: Friendly staff. Nice quiet location away from the hubbub of central York.
Cons: Bathroom very small, but can't expect this to be changed!
Location: Backs on to the racecourse so very handy for any events at that venue. Pleasant walk in to York, with so much to do when you get there.
Our visit was just a 1 night stay while we spent time in York. The staff were friendly and helpful, Hotel and room clean, although the bathroom is somewhat small. Not a major problem though as we didn't intend spending much time in there! Breakfast was full english with a very good selection, plus croissants, fresh fruit, danish pastries..and more! We walked in to York, a very easy route but you do need to allow 30-40 mins. Despite then walking around York all day, we opted to walk back in the evening, but there are plenty of buses which stop very close to the Hotel entrance. Car parking is free and plentiful, a real bonus as the more central hotels all seem to charge extra. We didn't have an evening meal at the Hotel, but we did checkout the menu which looked quite reasonable and the restaurant and bar areas are very nice.There are 2 pubs very close by both of which have good reviews, and we are planning on paying them on our next visit. Yes, we were so impressed both by York and the Hotel, that we have already booked a longer stay later in the year.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

York visit

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Cons: coursity bus to centre of town
Room tired with stuffy disenfectant smell which left a taste on your tounge
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom N

Nice Hotel

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Hotel as expected. Nice room. Very clean but mould round window seal.