Ratings based on 478 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Saddleworth

Central location & excellent customer service

Posted Jan 26, 2015
Great location. Very helpful staff. Good sized rooms. Excellent buffet breakfast. Cannot fault anything.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom north west

not what we were expecting seemed really pricey,

Posted Jan 26, 2015
Pros: the overall design sell the hotels and it looks really modern and sassy
Cons: the price per night per room.it was the same price as the radison but the contents were disappointing, if they lowered the price it would be good,
Location: location was great and there was a lot to do, good position of the hotel,
It was a little disappointing as i thought it would of been amazing but it was like a travel lodge but really pricey, the outside of the building on the pictures didn't do it justice and live up to my expectations.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Southport

Great hotel next to the city centre

Posted Jan 6, 2015
Pros: Room, Comfort, Pleasantness of staff, Extra parking time etc.
Cons: Waiting time at reception, but thats fairly minimal
Booked a family room at the hotel and it was fantastic! The double bed was massive and the bathroom had a power shower which were both nice features. We even got 4 extra hours car parking the next day to explore more city attractions without any extra charge! (despite the fact we were told we had to leave the car park at 11am) Would definitely recommend to a friend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Manchester

Close to the centre

Posted Dec 25, 2014
Hotel close to the centre of York. Parking £10 per night. Fairly modern rooms. Wi-Fi available and a bar (little pricey)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom staffordshire

Good hotel, great location

Posted Dec 23, 2014
10 of us stayed here for 1 night last weekend. The hotel is in a good location, parking across the road was fine. Hotel was clean all of our rooms were nice and there was a good choice for breakfast so overall we were all pleased.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom mansfield

Nice hotel close to city centre

Posted Dec 19, 2014
Lovely stay. Staff nice, easy to find everywhere.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Warrington, UK

Lovely Hotel but Very Noisy

Posted Dec 11, 2014
Pros: The rooms and lovely. Nicely furnished with great big beds. The bathrooms are nice as well with big fluffy towels and complimentary toiletries.
Cons: The only thing that would improve this hotel is thicker walls on the hotel rooms. Not that the hotel can do much about that now :)
Location: The hotel is in a great location. Only a 5-10 minute walk to the centre of York.
Me, my husband and my 2 year old daughter stayed at this hotel on a Christmas Shopping trip to York. The hotel itself is lovely. The rooms are a decent size with very big beds. There was a sofa bed provided for my daughter but she wanted to sleep with us and the bed could comfortably fit us all in it. The bathroom was lovely with nice fluffy towels and complimentary toiletries. My only complaint, and unfortunately it is a major one, is that the hotel is very noisy of a night time. In fact it was that noisy it kept me and my husband awake until 2.30am. The walls are so thin you can hear everything from the surrounding rooms and corridors. We stayed on a Thursday night so I wouldn't like to hear how noisy it is of a weekend. Because of this I wouldn't recommend this hotel to friends or family. If it wasn't for this we would quite happily return but because of this we wont be returning.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to attractions

Posted Dec 11, 2014
Pros: Very comfortable bed.
Location: Very close to Castle Museum and Clifford's Tower as well as main shopping street.
We have stayed at Hotel 53 a number of times before and would recommend it to others.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom England

Good location

Posted Dec 5, 2014
This was a last minute booking to visit York Christmas market. The location was excellent, just a short walk to the centre. The hotel is quite individual and tastefully decorated, the room and facility's were good, noisy room from other guests/thin walls at times
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ripped off

Posted Dec 3, 2014
Never got there with using the Expedia app and the disgusting hotel 53 management I was ripped off ill never use Expedia again to book a short or long break again