Ratings based on 509 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom widnes

DO NOT STAY IN THIS HOTEL, CUSTOMER CARE TERRIBLE

Posted Apr 21, 2015
Pros: NOTHING
Cons: EVERYTHING, + get a new manager
Location: there are better places to stay in a better locations
the short stay in the hotel was one of the worst experience in any hotel i have ever stayed in the past, the customer care is terrible, snotty stuck up people behind the desk, got accused of smoking in the room when neither me or my girlfriend even smoke, was evicted from the hotel 1 day before we was due to leave, had all the money we paid for the hotel took off us and charged an extra £100... the rooms are shabby and scruffy, the look nothing like they look in the pictures the are run down and appalling.... my advice if you want to stay around that area is stay directly accross the road at the travel lodge, or up the road at the hilton, the standard are alot better plus the have bars and restaraunts, do not what ever you do stay at hotel 53 i have nothing but bad words to say about that place it was one complete joke
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 27, 2015 by Hotel Management, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, I appreciate your comments however I do feel that due to the additional charge for smoking in your room this is why you have reviewed our Hotel as you have. You were asked to leave the hotel due to the aggressive manor in which you approached the Hotel Manager. I would like to stress that our rooms have undergone refurbishment and every room is, as seen in photos on each booking site. I'm sure a number of previous guests will also agree that our rooms are as stated. We do not and never will miss sell our rooms. Regards Hotel management.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Not worth the hundred plus pounds for one night

Posted Apr 19, 2015
Pros: location was right near all the attractions (five min walk) and across the road from a cheap wetherspoons pub (ideal for brekkie and nightpcap)
Cons: For the high cost I think they should have included breakfast or at the very least free car park!
Picked this hotel because of location and although it was a pleasant stay I think I could have gotten a similar room over the road at the travel lodge for a cheaper price. Good points: location, clean room, quiet/high floor as requested, great shower, kettle with free mlk/tea/coffee and biscuits, free wifi (slow though), quick check in and room was ready early to put bags in Bad points: expensive, small room, car parking NOT included, breakfast not included, bed small and uncomfortable (for me), didn't like the fact they take £30 out your bank INCASE of room damages that can take 10 days to go back in your bank
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent stay

Posted Apr 13, 2015
An excellent short break, hotel is very welcoming with friendly and helpful staff. Excellent and clean rooms with a lovely breakfast. Hotel is within easy walking distance of York attractions.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to city...but recommend better hotel outside

Posted Apr 9, 2015
Pros: Location.
Cons: More reasonable rates.
Clean, adequate. Nothing really nice about it at all.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Warrington

Modern Hotel much better than a travel lodge etc

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Pros: The bed- VERY comfy and huge!
Cons: Earlier check in time and also a help your self cooked breakfast buffet not just continental.
Location: Lovely pubs all around. There's plenty to do in York!
We walked from the train station to this hotel it is a bit of a distance and we did get lost along the way so I would suggest a taxi but at least we got to see the beautiful city of york on our travels. We couldn't check in until 3pm which was a bit of a pain however they kindly let us leave our bags in a secure room until we could check in. The man on reception was very friendly and helpful. The room we had was lovely, the bed huge and very comfortable we just wanted to sleep the whole time however we did go out exploring york too.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

hotel

Posted Mar 11, 2015
Lovely hotel close to town centre. Hotel lovely and clean Staff excellent
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chester

Nice hotel close to centre

Posted Mar 3, 2015
Had a lovely couple of days in hotel 53 hotel was very clean, well presented, staff were kind and helpful, would definatly recomend this to friends.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Preston

Nice modern hotel.

Posted Mar 3, 2015
The hotel was well presented by the staff and rooms was what we expected from pictures and previous reviews. I would return back to this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sacramento, CA

Stay in York

Posted Feb 9, 2015
Hotel 53 was clean, modern, and a great value. It's in a great location. The staff was helpful, and we enjoyed our stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel

Posted Feb 9, 2015
Staff helpful. My husband reported an issue with our shower and reception called us while we were out to let us know it was repaired. Hotel close to all amenities, rooms smart