Ratings based on 397 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice and clean hotel

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Pros: New and clean
Location: within city walls and easy walk to every part of York
Everything was nice and clean and the staff were very attentive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to amenities

Posted Oct 4, 2014
A nice stay breakfast a bit over priced when wether spoon over road at half the price but a very nice hotel would recommend
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from York

Hotel stay in emergency

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Pros: It was warm.
Cons: Cleaning facilities they use. Price.
Location: The location is near to the city, there are lots of things to do in York, including visiting the Minster and the Treasurers House, the Jorvic museum.
For the price I paid to stay at this hotel, it was very disappointing. We were not told all necessary information which led to me having to go and ask them. The Hotel was furnished in black making it dark and oppressive, everything in our room was coated in a fine layer of dust and the towels smelled damp/unclean. For the ridiculous price I was charged for one night this did not even include breakfast. I would definitely not recommend this Hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Co. Durham

Good city centre hotel.

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Pros: Small and friendly.
Cons: For the price - nothing.
Location: Great location for city centre and Barbican Theatre.
Only stayed 1 night but met with friendly and efficient staff at check-in. Room size adequate and clean with very good en-suite facilities. Will stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sheffield

Overnight stay

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Pros: Clean, modern and fairly quiet.
Cons: The room was hot and we could not find any temp gauge.
Location: Not far from the centre and York Minster. Very convenient.
The hotel staff were very helpful but were not sure if the railway station had a left baggage department. We took the chance and it did at £5 per item. The room was modern, clean and adequate. We would stay again although it is the opposite end of the centre from the railway and we would taxi next time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newcastle upon Tyne

Central Location Weekend Stay

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: Pleasant staff, fresh, modern and clean hotel.
Cons: Nothing much to add from the brief stay.
Location: You are a 5 minute walk from the centre of town, so the location is spot on!
I was staying in a Double room with my other half for a Friday night as I was catching up with old friends the next day. The hotel was just a short trip in the taxi from the train station. The hotel is modern, clean and with rooms of decent size and standard. My only bug bear was being on the 1st floor up, you either got the noise of the road with the windows open or put up with being that bit too hot. I guess that is just more advice from my experience though (rather than a criticism of the hotel). We visited the bar in the evening for a quiet one but did not sample the breakfast. Overall it was a pleasant enough stay and it fitted the bill nicely for what we needed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Keighley

Close to the attractions of York

Posted Sep 4, 2014
Well looked after we ate evening meal in hotel it certainly didn't disappoint.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from south lanarkshire

Handy, friendly and helpful staff.

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Really helpful and friendly staff. Room immaculately clean and modern. Had to pay extra £10 for parking which I did not expect but suppose was ok as was off street. Didn't like the fact you had to pay a £30 freeze fee on your visa for anything you bought i.e drinks at bar or food etc. as prefer to pay cash. We did pay cash but still had to hold the fee which we don't get back for up to 10 days. Should be optional. But overall no grumbles. Lovely hotel in good location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Aberdeen

Hotel 53 Review

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Pros: Lovely room, nice reception area and bar area. Friendly staff.
Cons: N/a
Location: Close to Minster and other attractions.
Great hotel in an ideal location. Close to good selection of restaurants and cafés.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

good location just 5 mins from the centre.

Posted Aug 30, 2014
Pros: Staff were friendly and helpful.
Cons: Room was a bit hot so air conditioning would've been good
Location: All the attractions are within walking distance so the location is great.
had 4 days in York - too short so much to see. terror walk was good fun. Golden Fleece is excellent pub for food and drink. It also had an open mike night which was a hoot.