Ratings based on 385 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newcastle upon Tyne

Central Location Weekend Stay

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: Pleasant staff, fresh, modern and clean hotel.
Cons: Nothing much to add from the brief stay.
Location: You are a 5 minute walk from the centre of town, so the location is spot on!
I was staying in a Double room with my other half for a Friday night as I was catching up with old friends the next day. The hotel was just a short trip in the taxi from the train station. The hotel is modern, clean and with rooms of decent size and standard. My only bug bear was being on the 1st floor up, you either got the noise of the road with the windows open or put up with being that bit too hot. I guess that is just more advice from my experience though (rather than a criticism of the hotel). We visited the bar in the evening for a quiet one but did not sample the breakfast. Overall it was a pleasant enough stay and it fitted the bill nicely for what we needed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Keighley

Close to the attractions of York

Posted Sep 4, 2014
Well looked after we ate evening meal in hotel it certainly didn't disappoint.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from south lanarkshire

Handy, friendly and helpful staff.

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Really helpful and friendly staff. Room immaculately clean and modern. Had to pay extra £10 for parking which I did not expect but suppose was ok as was off street. Didn't like the fact you had to pay a £30 freeze fee on your visa for anything you bought i.e drinks at bar or food etc. as prefer to pay cash. We did pay cash but still had to hold the fee which we don't get back for up to 10 days. Should be optional. But overall no grumbles. Lovely hotel in good location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Aberdeen

Hotel 53 Review

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Pros: Lovely room, nice reception area and bar area. Friendly staff.
Cons: N/a
Location: Close to Minster and other attractions.
Great hotel in an ideal location. Close to good selection of restaurants and cafés.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

good location just 5 mins from the centre.

Posted Aug 30, 2014
Pros: Staff were friendly and helpful.
Cons: Room was a bit hot so air conditioning would've been good
Location: All the attractions are within walking distance so the location is great.
had 4 days in York - too short so much to see. terror walk was good fun. Golden Fleece is excellent pub for food and drink. It also had an open mike night which was a hoot.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hampshire

Noisy room next to massive air conditioning units.

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Pros: Good location.
Cons: Rooms and customer service.
Location: Very handy to town centre
Would not stay here again. The night staff were good, but check in girl was rude. Noisy, hot rooms.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Shame about the mattress....

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Pros: Overall décor was good, staff were friendly and the position is OK-ish.
Cons: Air conditioning or some sort of air flow and softer mattresses and pillows. Very expensive too.
Location: Clifford's Tower, the museum and the city walls are a five minute walk away. The city centre and its attractions are a 10-15 minute walk.
This is, in my opinion, more of a business hotel which is fine, but I think it makes the rooms more functional. The position is OK - more in a residential area out of the centre a little, but only a 10 minute walk back in, but the area is a little scruffy (not that this is the hotel's fault) and there is a fair amount of street noise and some sort of live music from a nearby pub on a Saturday night. The rooms are small-ish but very warm; no air conditioning and the window secured so it only opened a fraction (I was on the third floor and I understand the safety concerns). However, the beds are really hard, as are the pillows and because of this and the stuffiness of the room, I really didn't sleep well at all. There is a shower cubicle rather than a bath and breakfast was not included for the £225 I paid for the night. Breakfast was an additional £9, so I'm afraid I went over the road to the Travelodge's restaurant and had a full English for £4. Not bad in itself but a huge expense for a poor night's sleep.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to city centre

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Clean hotel and reasonably priced given the location.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

City centred hotel. Good location.

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Pros: Clean bathroom. Big towels.
Cons: Moved choice on cooked section of breakfast buffet.
The room was very small. Just space for two twin beds. No wardrobe. Only 1 spare plug socket. Small TV. No minibar. Surprised by all of this for gigs price we paid. Don't think it offers value for money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Jill Dimbleby

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 16, 2014 on Hotels.com