Ratings based on 352 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Shame about the mattress....

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Pros: Overall décor was good, staff were friendly and the position is OK-ish.
Cons: Air conditioning or some sort of air flow and softer mattresses and pillows. Very expensive too.
Location: Clifford's Tower, the museum and the city walls are a five minute walk away. The city centre and its attractions are a 10-15 minute walk.
This is, in my opinion, more of a business hotel which is fine, but I think it makes the rooms more functional. The position is OK - more in a residential area out of the centre a little, but only a 10 minute walk back in, but the area is a little scruffy (not that this is the hotel's fault) and there is a fair amount of street noise and some sort of live music from a nearby pub on a Saturday night. The rooms are small-ish but very warm; no air conditioning and the window secured so it only opened a fraction (I was on the third floor and I understand the safety concerns). However, the beds are really hard, as are the pillows and because of this and the stuffiness of the room, I really didn't sleep well at all. There is a shower cubicle rather than a bath and breakfast was not included for the £225 I paid for the night. Breakfast was an additional £9, so I'm afraid I went over the road to the Travelodge's restaurant and had a full English for £4. Not bad in itself but a huge expense for a poor night's sleep.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to city centre

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Clean hotel and reasonably priced given the location.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

City centred hotel. Good location.

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Pros: Clean bathroom. Big towels.
Cons: Moved choice on cooked section of breakfast buffet.
The room was very small. Just space for two twin beds. No wardrobe. Only 1 spare plug socket. Small TV. No minibar. Surprised by all of this for gigs price we paid. Don't think it offers value for money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from canada

Central modern value

Posted Jun 13, 2014
We to or two rooms it was such good value. Close to the core motorist area yet modern and convenient .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great staff and clean hotel

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Pros: Definitely the staff - they were just fantastic - friendly and helpful
Cons: Double glazing on the windows? But the location is not the fault of the hotel.
Location: The hotel was only 10 minutes walk away from the city centre so the location was really convenient.
Staff were wonderful - printed off maps for us to find our way around the city; unfortunately, our room overlooked a busy street and, as we stayed over a weekend, it was busy and noisy outside at night - however, the hotel was fantastic - the restaurant food was lovely, but the staff went out of their way to ensure our stay was wonderful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Eryn from Sydney, AUS

Clean, nice, central hotel

Posted Jun 8, 2014
Very nice hotel about a 5-10 minute walk from the centre of York. Good spot on the weekend, as it isn't too close to any loud pubs or clubs. Staff we accomodating and the room was nice and clean. Great value for what you pay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stayed May 2014

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Ok location. Facilities poor. Shower pressure very poor. Breakfast poor had to wait for different parts of cooked breakfast both mornings. Staff friendly. Paid £268 for 2 nights. Expected more for the price. Disappointing.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel close to the York

Posted May 28, 2014
Pros: Near the Barbican
Cons: More cooked food on the hotplate for breakfast just sausages bacon, beans, mushrooms and eggs.
Location: City Centre and Barbican
Hotel close to York City and Barbican. A long stay car park is near by its £1.00 cheaper than the hotel's limited car park which costs £10 for the night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by John from Glasgow

Nice hotel within walking distance of major sites.

Posted May 24, 2014
Pros: Pleasant staff and nice ambiance. Very nice reception/bar area. The (almost) wet floor power shower was excellent, one of the best I have experienced.
Location: Very good location within walking distance of most major attractions like the Minster and slightly further afield, the Railway Museum.
Pleasant 4 night stay in this hotel. Very quiet at night. No disturbances whatsoever.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by carolyn

Good hotel for city breaks

Posted May 11, 2014
Had no issues was suitable for me and my son on short break. Had all the things we needed and were on hand if required anything further.