Ratings based on 22 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 25, 2014 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by B from Nottinghamshire

Just perfect

Posted Sep 26, 2014 on Hotels
We chose the inn primarily because of the location. We wished to explore both moors and coast. The inn was perfect, not just the location but it offered everything else we could ask for. Excellent, friendly service with good food, lovely decor, comfortable rooms and setting. We came away thoroughly refreshed and keen to return…we have already recommended to family and friends.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Marske

Most welcoming and comfortable establishment

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: Old world charm
Cons: Cannot suggest anything
Location: Did not have time to explore, but its close to Helmsley which is well worth a visit
Excellent establishment, quintessentially English and serves the best cooked breakfast in Yorkshire.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by M60JAL from Dorset

Posted Aug 10, 2014 on Hotels
Excellent location and view; lack of mobile phone signal a blessing if the break is for relaxation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great food, relaxing location

Posted Apr 24, 2014
Pros: Pet friendly, great food and relaxing location
Cons: Lighting in room away from main house.
Location: If you want a quiet location and to get away from it all this is it - not even a mobile signal. Good walking base.
I stayed in one of the converted out buildings as I had my dog with me. Rooms had all the necessary facilities including outside garden furniture which I used as weather was good some evenings. Minor criticism is that the room was a bit dark. Food was excellent, both breakfast and dinner. Staff we're very friendly and attentive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice country hotel

Posted Sep 13, 2013 on Hotels
Enjoyable stay in lovely countryside surroundings. Hotel is good and restaurant is worth a try if not wanting to venture further afield for dinner. Service and general friendliness, although mostly satisfactory, could be improved. Breakfast was great with fantastic views over the hills. Would probably stay again if in the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Aug 5, 2013 on Hotels
Nice Hotel, but the room was far too hot, had to leave the window and curtains open to try and get cooled down. Apart from that its a nice place and staff were great.Will go again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

a nice hotel in a delightful place

Posted Jul 10, 2013
Pros: the views and the position
Cons: room rather hot, but in unusually hot weather
Location: perfect
Wonderful views, very pleasant staff, no problem with a one-night stay in high season
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Michael from New York City

Comfortable Hotel in a Perfect Setting

Posted May 28, 2013 on Hotels
Driving into the tiny, picture-postcard village of Hawnby was like being in a movie and the Inn itself was wonderful. We had dinner in the dining room that night (there's also a pub) and it was delicious. Our room was small but very comfortable. The best part was how peaceful and beautiful the area is. I had wanted to stay in Helmsley but couldn't find a room and now I'm glad we stayed here. We will always remember this place!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Jakub from Leeds, UK

awesome retreat

Posted May 13, 2013 on Hotels
a brilliant getaway hideout with fantastic amenities, delicious food and extra attention to detail